android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon iAudio 9/9+

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-22-2011, 08:20 AM
don_busi don_busi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default IAudio9 "pretends" to be charging all the time and cannot be turned off.

My Cowon IAudio9 16GB shows some odd.

When I charge it, after some time it shows the "battery full" sign (big, red in the center of the screen). (So far, so good.)

When I unplug it from the power-source, this sign doesn't disappear as it used to.

When I press the "Menu"-Button (on the right side) then I get to the main screen letting me play anything just as usual. (Also good.)

The only odd thing is, that in the top-right corner the battery-display doesn't show the status of the battery, but it show's that it is charching (little battery with a falsh-sign)...even dough it's not plugged into any power-source. And I'm not able to turn the player off... when I try, always the big red "fully charged"-sign shows.

Can anyone help me get my IAudio9 to work properly again?!

Any help is highly appreciated!

Cheers,
Don
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:12 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Maybe try re-applying the firmware?
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:19 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Before Marvin's suggestion I would simply try to reset it, with a paper clip in the reset hole.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:38 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Before Marvin's suggestion I would simply try to reset it, with a paper clip in the reset hole.
So the two little rectangular-shaped cutouts on the back of the player, one of them covers a reset hole? I wondered about that, but never tried to open one of them.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:46 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No, the reset hole is next to the USB port, beneath the latch/cover thing.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-22-2011, 09:50 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Now I see it....never noticed it there before. That little cover is annoying....I've toyed with the idea of removing it like you did.

Now that I know there is indeed a reset button, I would certainly suggest the OP heed your advice to try that before the firmware update.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-25-2011, 04:15 PM
don_busi don_busi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2
Default

Hi guys,

thanx for your replies.

I already tried the "reset button", but this button only "hard-boots" the device it doesn't reset anything (as far as I read from posts at Cowon Global).

I also upgraded the firmware to "iAUDIO 9 Firmware V1.14"without any problem, but unfortunately that didn't help either.

Then I reformated the device (connect to pc, format drive) and restarted... no change.

I'm still stuck with a iAudio9 that cannot be turned off (except with the reset button) and that pretends to be charging all the time (but it isn't).

Any other ideas? Help is highly appreciated.

Cheers,
Don
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 PM.