android
  #1  
Old 05-06-2011, 04:59 AM
xDownSetx xDownSetx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Corona, CA. USA
Posts: 7
Default "*PANIC* disk_init failed!" [Solved]

Just threw rockbox on my Clip+ and the rockbox utility said the install completed successfully and I saw no signs of errors. When I boot the clip it says "*PANIC* disk_init failed!"

I'm not too worried as the original firmware boots fine when I hold down the left button. Is there anything obvious I should look for to get things working right?

.rockbox is in the root of the clip. I've tried other rockbox builds as well.

Last edited by xDownSetx; 05-06-2011 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-06-2011, 04:41 PM
xDownSetx xDownSetx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Corona, CA. USA
Posts: 7
Default

Solved over on the rockbox forums by the Devs.

http://forums.rockbox.org/index.php/topic,27926.0.html
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-10-2011, 06:54 PM
lynnux lynnux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Arrgh, I'm having the same problem with a new Clip+. The 'solution' in the link above requires something I don't know how to do, using the command line in Windows. Any simple solutions?

I've installed, run, updated rockbox on my D2 and my first Clip+ with no problem, don't know why this is happening now. Buggy bootloader? New Clip+ has something different?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 06-10-2011, 07:20 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,646
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lynnux View Post
Arrgh, I'm having the same problem with a new Clip+. The 'solution' in the link above requires something I don't know how to do, using the command line in Windows. Any simple solutions?
You should probably just stick to the original firmware.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 06-10-2011, 07:23 PM
G4Oblivion G4Oblivion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lynnux View Post
Arrgh, I'm having the same problem with a new Clip+. The 'solution' in the link above requires something I don't know how to do, using the command line in Windows. Any simple solutions?

I've installed, run, updated rockbox on my D2 and my first Clip+ with no problem, don't know why this is happening now. Buggy bootloader? New Clip+ has something different?
If you want, I can build the bootloader for you. Using the svn bootloader is not recommend, though, due to possible stability issues and not enough testing.

I've been using the svn bootloader for a month without issues.

[EDIT]
I forgot to ask, what firmware did the player come with? IIRC, you can check this somewhere under the settings option. Settings > System > Info or something like that.

Last edited by G4Oblivion; 06-10-2011 at 07:31 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 06-10-2011, 07:56 PM
lynnux lynnux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

It came with 01.02.15 firmware. I also tried installing rockbox with an older firmware, same outcome.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 06-10-2011, 08:24 PM
G4Oblivion G4Oblivion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44
Default

01.02.15 is supposed to be supported. My player came with it (Clip+ variant 1)
The bootloader was created using OF 01.02.15 provided on the SanDisk forums and the rockbox bootloader saratoga provided on the rockbox forums.
Download: clppa.bin

Copy the file (clppa.bin) to the root of the device
Safely eject the device, unplug USB and wait for the firmware update to finish.

Last edited by G4Oblivion; 06-10-2011 at 08:44 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 06-10-2011, 09:38 PM
lynnux lynnux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

Thank you!!! That did it. Why it didn't work before I don't know, I'd swear I was following the instructions.

My first Clip+ is almost gone, the USB port is failing. After using rockbox on it for so long, the original firmware seems clunky, and I like some of the sound features in rockbox.

Thanks to all who support this (including you saratoga )
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 06-10-2011, 09:50 PM
G4Oblivion G4Oblivion is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 44
Default

Glad it solved the problem. I think the official bootloader should be updated before more people experience the issue and start spamming the forums and Flyspray =/

Guess they need to confirm if there have been any hardware changes, though.

EDIT:
When I say 'more' I mean when more people start experiencing the problem. I did not mean that you were spamming.
You were correct by searching the forums and posting in a thread about the problem and not creating a new one.
I did not mean for it to sound offending. Sorry about that.

Last edited by G4Oblivion; 06-10-2011 at 10:53 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 06-10-2011, 11:53 PM
lynnux lynnux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 13
Default

No problem, I knew what you meant.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 PM.