android
  #1  
Old 08-23-2011, 08:02 PM
eagle628 eagle628 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default Update 4.8 taskbar player issue

I just installed the latest software update for Zune (the desktop program), 4.8 I think it was? Anyway, since then, whenever I minimize the program, the taskbar mini player appears as normal, but when I hover over it, the pop-up window displayes the artist, album title and cover art, but not the name of the song playing or the song list.

Is anyone else having this problem, and more to the point, does anyone know how to fix it?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-23-2011, 08:37 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

I don't have this problem. My toolbar player looks fine. Can you screen cap what you're getting so I can see specifically? You can host the image on imgur.com and link to it for free.

But, without being able to see anything specifically, have you tried closing and re-opening Zune, logging off/back on, restarting the system, and uninstalling/reinstalling the software?
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 08-24-2011, 11:24 AM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

First I would disable the Zune taskbar player then re-enable it.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 08-24-2011, 08:23 PM
eagle628 eagle628 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Mmkay, I've done everything suggested short of uninstalling/reinstalling Zune (which I'm extremely reluctant to do, since I imagine I'd have to redownload all my apps, which would suck up a fairly large portion of my limited data usage per month), and the problem remains.
An example of the problem is http://imgur.com/3eujG
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 08-24-2011, 09:44 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Alright, if you don't want to redownload apps, go to C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Zune\Applications and there you'll see a whole bunch of .zcp files. Those are all of the apps in your collection. You can move them someplace else and copy them back, if you want. ALSO, to copy them back over, you don't need to put them in the right folder, you can just drag them into the software like you do with music or other media you add to your collection. Though, if you have a limit on how much data you can transfer over your internet connection, reinstalling it may use a decent amount of data as well...

Much luck,
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 08-28-2011, 10:18 AM
eagle628 eagle628 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by steinburger1109 View Post
Alright, if you don't want to redownload apps, go to C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Microsoft\Zune\Applications and there you'll see a whole bunch of .zcp files. Those are all of the apps in your collection. You can move them someplace else and copy them back, if you want. ALSO, to copy them back over, you don't need to put them in the right folder, you can just drag them into the software like you do with music or other media you add to your collection. Though, if you have a limit on how much data you can transfer over your internet connection, reinstalling it may use a decent amount of data as well...

Much luck,
Thanks. I'll probably wait to do that till my data usage resets for the month in a week or so, but I'll be sure to let you know how it went.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 08-28-2011, 05:12 PM
fuzzypits's Avatar
fuzzypits fuzzypits is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Quispamsis, Newbrunswick
Posts: 207
Default

I'm having the same issue.
__________________
I'm Infinite
[Setup]Sansa Fuze Rockboxed with an 8gb MicroSD, Zune HD 32GB, FiiO E3, Altec Backbeat Classics[/Setup]
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-07-2011, 12:13 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

Me too! Didn't check it when I posted before.
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-07-2011, 06:22 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

I just noticed it too I'm going back to 4.7 I'm sorry I didn't realize that I hadn't updated when I first posted MICROSOFFFFFFT!
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-12-2011, 12:05 PM
JSP62's Avatar
JSP62 JSP62 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Boston, MA, USA
Posts: 232
Default

Unless you have the Zune HD, there is no reason to upgrade the software. I know M$ all too well and their ridiculous debacles on software updates and releases. If it ain't broke, don't try to fix it!

Anyways, I'll stop my rant.

Good luck to those with issues.
__________________
HOW TO ASK A QUESTION THE RIGHT WAY
POSTING AND YOU
------------------------------------------
With knowledge, comes great power.
With power, comes great responsibility.
With responsibility, comes great wisdom.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-12-2011, 05:11 PM
steinburger1109's Avatar
steinburger1109 steinburger1109 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Naperville, Illinois
Posts: 2,456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JSP62 View Post
Unless you have the Zune HD
Actually, I can't see a reason to do it unless you have a WP7... I was stupid and updated and I'm too lazy to try to downgrade without losing all my settings and whatnot.
__________________
- Justin
Glossary for Newbies Everybody
Babble. On.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-13-2011, 03:56 PM
Machiventa's Avatar
Machiventa Machiventa is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 886
Default

^ if you have a Zune Pass you would be forced to update to 4.8 if you wanted to continue using it. Otherwise I'd downgrade to 4.0 where I was able to highly customize it... damn you MS!
__________________
DILLA BANGED MY WIFE
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 AM.