android
  #1  
Old 10-10-2011, 10:47 AM
aimran aimran is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,719
Default Dual-Core LTE Windows Phones Are Coming

In a chat with AllThingsD, Andy Lees, head of the Windows Phone division said that Windows Phones with dual-core and LTE are coming. According to Andy Lees, the reason why there isn't any phone with LTE or dual-core is because of decreased battery performance when using dual-core or LTE, and Microsoft wants to wait until both are further optimized.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-10-2011, 01:18 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,032
Default

If they had a better web browser I'd be happy as a pig in poop.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-10-2011, 04:58 PM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

It's funny that he says that, because today's dual-core phones use less battery than their chassis-1 spec, and about the same as their current chassis-2 spec. So the battery consumption of dual-core is straight BS.

However, I agree on LTE. Qualcomm's new chipsets (S4) will utilize a more battery efficient LTE radio, and it will take up significantly less space. I see Krait (S4) as being the first dual-core chip used in WP7. Krait is also offered in a quad-core configuration, so perhaps we'll finally see MS catch up a little.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-10-2011, 05:17 PM
aimran aimran is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,719
Default

True. Also, there isn't any carrier that offers anything close to the maximum throughput of LTE yet plus like you mention before some carriers don't have legitimate 4G like T-Mobile.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-10-2011, 06:28 PM
Confispect's Avatar
Confispect Confispect is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hell
Posts: 1,291
Default

Interesting.
__________________
Some people are just more stupid then others, no no no what I'm talking about is the people always being affected by whats going on around them.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-11-2011, 10:48 PM
terminalx terminalx is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 14
Default

@medion - it's not bs for windows phone as dual core does not offer much more of a benefit for battery life as a single core does at this time. Plus the OS is smooth with what it's running now
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-12-2011, 07:04 AM
medion's Avatar
medion medion is offline
Anythingbutiphone Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Shreveport, La
Posts: 1,929
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by terminalx View Post
@medion - it's not bs for windows phone as dual core does not offer much more of a benefit for battery life as a single core does at this time. Plus the OS is smooth with what it's running now
This is incorrect. Dual-core does not have a huge drain over single-core, and in some cases draws less power than single-core. Saratoga posted a pretty good explanation of the how and why in a previous thread. To summarize, if a dual-core version of a single-core chip is made on the same process, then when maxed out, both chips will draw the same voltage, but the dual-core will draw a higher wattage, resulting in more power consumption. However, for relatively simple tasks, a single-core might max out, whereas a dual-core will overflow some tasks to the second core, keeping the clock speed down, which results in lower voltage draw, and thus, significantly less power consumption.

On average, does it work out in favor of single core, or dual core? Tough to say, but if we compare the rated standby times of the Droid 2 and the Droid 3, we can find a decent answer. The Droid 2 uses a single-core Cortex A8, while the Droid 3 uses a dual-core Cortex A9. A9 itself is a higher power-drawing CPU than A8, so already you'd think that would be in favor of the A8. Yet, both phones have the same rated standby and talk time. The Droid 3 does have a larger battery to make up foor the A9/A8 difference, but it's 140ma difference, not significant. So, overall, dual-core does NOT hurt battery life. MS is just behind on their processor certification, as they have been for awhile, and they need a convenient excuse. The Krait CPU they plan to use offers no power benefits in dual/quad-core configuration than any other CPU we've ever seen before. Even their hybrid SMP/aSMP mode has been seen before.

Also, while the interface is smoother, that's due to UI hardware acceleration, something the iPhone also uses, but Android does not use because of the fragmented hardware. The interface is essentially an "app" that makes use of the GPU like any other app, but doesn't have much overhead. Android phones can now download a similar UI, and it's just as smooth (Launcher 7 for you Android users who want to try it, it's free in the market).

Switch to a game, and your experience will be limited by your hardware. For example, games like Angry Birds will be just as smooth on a Nexus One as they are on any current Windows Phone simply because they use the same exact hardware. However, try a game like Dungeon Defenders (Unreal Engine), and the Nexus One will choke. It's not even recommended for that phone. How about the Windows Phone version? Not out yet, because Epic has gone on record as stating that they will only port Unreal Engine to hardware that can run it, and as of now, Windows Phone doesn't have the hardware to support it.

I've said this many times and I will say it again, do not assume that because the UI is smooth, everything else will be. Any simple UI with hardware acceleration will be smooth.
__________________
[SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray][U][B]Phone:[/B][/U] Samsung Galaxy S II (GT-I9100) 16GB w/32GB MicroSDHC
[U][B]DAP:[/B][/U] Sansa Clip+ 8GB [/COLOR][/SIZE][SIZE=2][COLOR=DimGray]w/32GB MicroSDHC[/COLOR][/SIZE]
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.