android
  #141  
Old 12-19-2011, 06:02 AM
Smiff Smiff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steff8000 View Post
Not gonna watch Saving Private Ryan on it But I thought it would be fun to test it out.
but you might watch Saving Ryan's Privates on it, amiright?

i'm getting my builds mixed up, 31340 doesn't seem to have USB support, 31347 does but is it any better than 31323?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #142  
Old 12-19-2011, 08:42 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Just plugged in my original Zip for a charge and content add.....still with r31320, once again it was recognized on the first try. Adding 1.19GB went well....most of the time averaging over 5MB/sec. With the OF, I remember it always being almost exactly 4MB/sec.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #143  
Old 12-19-2011, 05:22 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Thanks people for testing USB ..

I hope we can fix the last problems shortly.

It seems that in the middle of all the changes I made there were some strong/solid revisions for USB so it'd be nice to identify them so I can see what exactly broke them in the following changes.

Saratoga identified such a revision (31242) and I made a change (31372) according to this.

A few plugs/unplugs work flawlessly but I'm not going to do that 100 times ... So I hope you guys will test the latest revs and report your experience.

A 0-bug-ever USB mode is finally approaching. And after that I'll probably have to break USB again so the ipod nano2g and the Sansa AMSv2 use the same code (because they both have different code for a very very similar chipset).
Reply With Quote

  #144  
Old 12-19-2011, 06:07 PM
TexasRockbox TexasRockbox is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: USA (guess the state ;-) )
Posts: 218
Default

Thank you very much for your hard work.

There has been a flurry of activity on Rockbox lately.
Reply With Quote

  #145  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:12 PM
Smiff Smiff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Default

yes! USB seems to work in 31372. could be just in time for xmas!?
i think i love you funman...
even more amazing, player doesn't hang when unplugging!

transferred files using Nautilus and Rhythmbox ok.


edit: ah got a crash :/
when connecting

Quote:
Data Abort at 00800590
FSR 0x8
(domain 0,fault address 0xFA000
after rebooting
i see only "RockBox SD card slot" (i have no SD card in the player)

no main memory. seems to have changed the config..
and after some more reboots (some hangs and force shutdowns) it's working again, no config reset needed.
edit: i misread the setting "hide internal drive" sorry, this might be my fault, but the crash was real.

btw two PCs, one Mint11 64bit, one Ubuntu 10.10 32bit

I think this is usable just not entirely stable. thanks it's awesome not having to reboot into OF to transfer music..

Last edited by Smiff; 12-19-2011 at 07:36 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #146  
Old 12-19-2011, 07:38 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
... I made a change (31372) according to this.

A few plugs/unplugs work flawlessly but I'm not going to do that 100 times ... So I hope you guys will test the latest revs and report your experience. ...
Great job, Thanks!!! so far every time I've connected it's worked 100%, no more OF to mess with \o/ I'll test various machines tomorrow ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #147  
Old 12-20-2011, 06:35 AM
Smiff Smiff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Default

yeah this (USB) def works. hoping for a Df build with this. and do you really have to break it? :/ s*d the ipod!
Reply With Quote

  #148  
Old 12-20-2011, 06:53 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Thanks for the early Christmas present, Funman.

New patched build: r31375M-111220-sansaclipzip (FS#9305, FS#11304, FS#11767, FS#12075, FS#12338, FS#12454, channel swap) - dfkt
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #149  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:07 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Brief follow up: tested XP & vista numerous times works great! Although on 1st attempt to win 7 received a fail but 2nd attempt was successful
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #150  
Old 12-20-2011, 01:30 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Official v4.0 bootloader: clipzip01.01.18-rockbox_bootloader-v4.0
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #151  
Old 12-20-2011, 01:37 PM
Smiff Smiff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Default

definitely some weirdness.. first time its connected on a clean install of RB, only the SD card appears, or a crash (player, and one time my PC). after that it seems to work ok!

on the Ubuntu 10.10 32bit PC, i had it hang the USB system completely ("lsusb" returns nothing, had to reset PC, logs nothing)
not sure if this is something the ClipZip+RB is doing, but not had problems before!

what does the 4.0 bootloader change please?

Last edited by Smiff; 12-20-2011 at 03:53 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #152  
Old 12-20-2011, 04:22 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smiff View Post
what does the 4.0 bootloader change please?
It enables USB in the bootloader: press center while plugging USB cable and it should enter USB.
Reply With Quote

  #153  
Old 12-20-2011, 08:19 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,356
Default

Not finding a need to do anything other than plug it in here to get it to connect in Rockbox USB. It's behaving the same as my V1 Sansas. Plug it in, it connects in Rockbox, unplug it and it stays in Rockbox, no database refresh. It just doesn't get better than that.
Reply With Quote

  #154  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:16 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don't have to press center either, just plug it in and it connects, unplug and just as skip said it stays in rb without any db refresh ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #155  
Old 12-20-2011, 09:24 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Yeah it only applies to the bootloader.

Here is what it does at boot:

if select is pressed, enter usb mode
if no disk partitions, enter usb mode
if partitions broken, enter usb mode

1) mount partition
2) run .rockbox/rockbox.sansa
3) ???
4) profit

So if you don't do anything, it finds partitions, mount them, run rockbox.sansa from the storage, and enter usb mode inside rockox.

So now if you format your device, you can still reinstall rockbox without using OF
Reply With Quote

  #156  
Old 12-21-2011, 12:21 PM
Smiff Smiff is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 27
Default

that seems like a good idea.

any ideas on my USB crashes please? anyone else using linux?
Reply With Quote

  #157  
Old 12-21-2011, 12:52 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Re-install the 4.0 bootloader, run a checkdisk or fsck, and/or format the player and SD card with the SD formatter, put a fresh Rockbox firmware on it.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #158  
Old 12-21-2011, 01:19 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
Not finding a need to do anything other than plug it in here to get it to connect in Rockbox USB. It's behaving the same as my V1 Sansas. Plug it in, it connects in Rockbox, unplug it and it stays in Rockbox, no database refresh. It just doesn't get better than that.
Same here, new bootloader, and current build, just plug it in and it connects......sayonara, OF!

__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520

Last edited by Marvin the Martian; 12-21-2011 at 01:31 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #159  
Old 12-21-2011, 08:19 PM
CLipster's Avatar
CLipster CLipster is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 120
Default

Is that all we should see?

I can delete all the other stuff?
Reply With Quote

  #160  
Old 12-22-2011, 01:21 AM
cbomb cbomb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 38
Default

I'm a happy Rockbox with USB Linux user. It works flawlessly. After three days of testing I can say I didn't have any problem at all. Thanks funman and all the people working on this great project!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 PM.