android
  #1  
Old 12-29-2011, 06:57 PM
Reddlemagne's Avatar
Reddlemagne Reddlemagne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Post Odd bug with Poweramp, and quikpic

Hello everyone, Just got the 5.0 player for Christmas, and loving the extra size and battery life of the player. However, I have stumbled upon a couple of odd bugs with some of the apps. Unfortunately, I haven't been close to a wifi source, having come home for the holidays, out in the sticks, and I was curious to see if anyone else had similar bugs.

Because of the lack of wifi, I've had to sideload apps, in order to get them on at all. I plan on testing to see if grabbing them from the market fixes it upon my return. With Poweramp (Trial version, as I can't grab my purchase key from the market), the volume get's excessively loud, with odd "quiet" points when I hit certain volume levels. I'm not sure if this can negatively affect the hardware, so I'm currently a bit wary in using it. Oh, and this happens no matter what I do to the equalizer (Flat, modded, other presets).

Another bug is with the Quikpic app, which frankly beats the pants off of the default gallery app, for offline webcomic reading. Some images (At least the very high end pic graphics) refuse to load. I tested both of these on my modded Samsung Fascinate phone (Both sideloaded, phone runs MIUI ROM), and they both work without any problems. I'm attempting to find a Fascinate with a standard rom to see if this could possibly be a bug with the touchwiz UI that Samsung uses.

Anyhoo, has anyone else had issues with these two apps?
__________________
"Keep calm, and carry on."

Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-29-2011, 08:49 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,048
Default

PowerAMP Forum
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:10 PM
scowl scowl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reddlemagne View Post
With Poweramp (Trial version, as I can't grab my purchase key from the market), the volume get's excessively loud, with odd "quiet" points when I hit certain volume levels.
That's the "limiter" button in the EQ screen. Its job is to decrease the volume if something is too loud. Turn it off and you hear these excessively loud points clip and distort.

The solution is to turn volume down in the EQ so it won't clip and crank up the regular media volume.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-30-2011, 02:28 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,048
Default

Hmmm,...Limiter 'eh? I'ma gonna try it later and see if it helps, thanks scowl!!!
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-31-2011, 09:00 PM
scowl scowl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 350
Default

The limiter drives me nuts. It's not subtle at all. Loud sounds that would clip cause the volume level to go up and down like crazy in some songs. It would be much better to have a meter that shows the level is too high.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 12-31-2011, 11:34 PM
Reddlemagne's Avatar
Reddlemagne Reddlemagne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default

Switched to the generic "flat" setting, and it's still excessively loud. Noting a fair amount of apps on my device are buggy. Perhaps i should do a factory reset?
__________________
"Keep calm, and carry on."

Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-01-2012, 04:08 PM
Reddlemagne's Avatar
Reddlemagne Reddlemagne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default

Yeah, that didn't work. Found something that does help, though it does nothing to improve the sound. There's an option for "Direct Volume Control" in the menus. It even says that "While this may work with most devices, switch this off if your device does not support this feature", or something like that. I'm starting to wonder if it's the entire ROM that's buggy, cause I'm seeing alot of bugs with apps used on it, versus my modified Smartphone using MIUI. Methinks I'll try flashing a different ROM onto it. Anyone know of any?

EDIT: I managed to grab some wifi. Direct Market access does NOT help in the least.
__________________
"Keep calm, and carry on."


Last edited by Reddlemagne; 01-01-2012 at 04:16 PM. Reason: addition
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-01-2012, 04:21 PM
mattg3 mattg3 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 128
Default

Dump the whole app and try ttpod.With some dedicated time to their included equalizer you can get amazing results.Tried em all and this free music app has best sound.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-01-2012, 05:00 PM
Reddlemagne's Avatar
Reddlemagne Reddlemagne is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 31
Default

Gave it a shot. Volume bug still exists. I just reported this in the bugs sticky, because this is getting old. Feel free to close this thread, as mentioned, I posted the bugs to the sticky.
__________________
"Keep calm, and carry on."

Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:50 PM
scowl scowl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 350
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reddlemagne View Post
Switched to the generic "flat" setting, and it's still excessively loud.
What do you mean "excessively loud"? Maybe that's the level of the recording.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-01-2012, 06:55 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,048
Default

Limiter didn't work on the SGP 5.0,...bummer,...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
apps, poweramp, problems, quikpic

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 PM.