android
  #1  
Old 12-19-2011, 04:03 PM
Blackdog's Avatar
Blackdog Blackdog is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 318
Default Confused about on-board memory...

Stats say ROM on board is 1.88GB total
And SD Card is 5 GB total
RAM is 377MB total

Why is ROMB broken out separately from SC Card?
And, SD Card is really internal memory. Why is it labeled in such a confusing fashion (because there is a REAL sd card located elsewhere, why confuse the issue?)

So if you add ROM and SD cadr = 6.88 GB. Where the heck is the other 1.1 GB of internal memory?

Just trying to read into the mind of Samsung/designers. 8 GB is not a lot to start with but this seems like a very confusing way to parcel out memory.

Any thoughts to help clarify this?

Thanks
bd
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 12-19-2011, 09:49 PM
Daniel644 Daniel644 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 475
Default

well first off 8GB is really closer to 7.4-5 that is just a standard issue the arises with the definition of a real gigabyte versus a "marketing" gigabyte 1024 MB vs. 1000 MB.
But its not 5 its 5.5 you need to reexamine those numbers again they take the 1.xx GB and reserve that space for apps since most apps must be on the device and cannot run from an external card so I imagine they said ok this should be enough space to store apps for the average person without eating to much of the overall capacity of the player, I personally would love if there was a way to dynamically adjust how much space is allotted to each.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-09-2012, 05:05 AM
2kitties 2kitties is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 200
Default i'm confused too

how many apps can i have? i want to put kindle on it but i read it takes up 1 bg. isn't that taking up all of the 1.somthing you get for apps? what if i want more than 1.somthing apps on the player?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-09-2012, 07:39 AM
Goucham's Avatar
Goucham Goucham is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Jamaica, W.I.
Posts: 167
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2kitties View Post
how many apps can i have? i want to put kindle on it but i read it takes up 1 bg. isn't that taking up all of the 1.somthing you get for apps? what if i want more than 1.somthing apps on the player?
The Kindle app doesn't take anywhere near 1GB of space. Last time I checked, the app itself was just shy of 3MB.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-09-2012, 10:24 AM
tcat's Avatar
tcat tcat is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 302
Default

I have over 125 apps using about 500mb (including Kindle, Navfree, AB, and 2 or 3 other 25mb+ games), of 1.9gb available for apps. It would be real tough to use up the app space. Currently on my 5.0:

RAM: 2.7 mb of 3.8 mb
System: 505 mb of 1.88 gb
Int SD: 1.5 gb of 5.01 gb
Ext SD 9.2 gb of 14.9 gb
Personal data: 9.3 mb of 133 mb (whatever that is...)

"Int SD" and "Ext SD" can be use for bulk data (video, MP3, Pictures, Maps, etc.). "System" is where apps go and operating system resides (can't mess with it w/o root), although you can move many to SD if you actually do use up the huge space.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-09-2012, 06:23 PM
2kitties 2kitties is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 200
Default

thank you
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:03 PM.