android
  #1  
Old 09-19-2012, 08:43 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default Fuze v1 vs v2 when buying

Hi all,

I'm looking into buying a new Sansa Fuze, but I want to get a v1 as Rockbox has not yet discovered how to get line-out signal from the v2's dock.

Is there any way to know, when buying a Fuze, whether it is v1 or v2?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-19-2012, 08:47 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

There is no way of knowing and line out on the fuze is the same as headphone out.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:04 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

No it's not.

Line out from the dock locks the volume controls to a predefined level (because the speakers control the volume). The headphone jack does not. Further, if I want to plug the Fuze into my car deck (which I do) then I would rather have one cable coming from it (from the dock only) rather than two (ie. from the dock for charging and the headphone jack for listening).

It's not the same.

This isn't just about convenience. It's about getting the most out of my device. Is there really no way to know?

Okay, what it comes down to is this: I have a (now broken) Fuze v2. My wife has a Fuze v1. My car has a tape deck which turns out to be crappy (no surprise, really) so I ditched my cassette adapter and bought an iTrip FM transmitter for Fuze which works really well. The problem is that it works for my wife's Rockboxed v1, but not my v2 when I use Rockbox. I like Rockbox. I want to use it. So, when looking into replacing my broken Fuze (whose scroll wheel doesn't work), I want to buy a v1 so that I can use Rockbox in my car with the iTrip FM transmitter (which uses the dock only).

Someone, please tell me how I can purposefully buy a v1.

Last edited by chyron8472; 09-19-2012 at 09:11 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:04 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Tests have show that it's exactly the same sound quality other than having the potentiometer work or not, believe what you want. That said, there is no way of telling what you'll get (v1 or v2).
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:07 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Sound quality has nothing to do with it, though.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:16 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
Sound quality has nothing to do with it, though.
Maybe SQ has nothing to do with it for you but for others SQ is the reason to get one player or headphones over another. The differences between a headphone jack and a line out jack are normally trivial with today's gear, sometimes non-existent and other times it can even be worse SQ. Although why not investigating the difference yourself, the software is free RMAA. Here is an example but there are others and IIRC I even saw the fuze results before as well, which are said the v2 is better but I doubt most can hear any difference.

X5L Line Out RMAA
Headphone out RMAA
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:22 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
Someone, please tell me how I can purposefully buy a v1.
Unfortunately, there's no way to know which one you are getting, until you get it and turn it on and see the firmware version that is on the player.
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:22 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Maybe SQ has nothing to do with it for you but for others SQ is the reason to get one player or headphones over another. The differences between a headphone jack and a line out jack are normally trivial with today's gear, sometimes non-existent and other times it can even be worse SQ. Although why not investigating the difference yourself, the software is free RMAA. Here is an example but there are others and IIRC I even saw the fuze results before as well, which are said the v2 is better but I doubt most can hear any difference.
Again, if you'll read my previous post, I have an iTrip FM transmitter designed to use the Fuze dock only. The FM transmitter charges the Fuze and transmits the audio signal with one single cable running between the Fuze's dock and the cigarette lighter.

I don't have to use the tape deck. I don't have to have 2 cables running around which would clutter my car up more than just the one.

I want to use Rockbox because Rockbox has superior settings. For one thing, ti has car mode which pauses the Fuze when the car turns off.

This has nothing to do with sound quality. At all.

Last edited by chyron8472; 09-19-2012 at 09:28 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:30 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I understood that from the get go and you seem to have missed what Marvin clearly stated again .... Seems you're more interested in having a pissing match than reading what I told you twice and now verified by another member.

Edit: why not order the player and if you don't get what you want send it back
Edit2: now I look back and see that you've edited 3 posts and deleted one ...
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Last edited by WalkGood; 09-19-2012 at 09:35 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:36 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
I understood that from the get go and you seem to have missed what Marvin clearly stated again .... Seems you're more interested in having a pissing match than reading what I told you twice and now verified by another member.
Because 1) you didn't listen to me as audio quality was obviously not at issue for why I wanted to only use the dock so there was no reason to address it in the first place, and 2) I didn't want to accept the response of the the first person and only person to reply as law, so I was interested in waiting for more opinions.

Quote:
Edit: why not order the player and if you don't get what you want send it back
It seems that I will have to.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:48 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
Because 1) you didn't listen to me as audio quality was obviously not at issue for why I wanted to only use the dock so there was no reason to address it in the first place
Don’t say I didn’t listen, you didn’t mention the dock until post 3, which you deleted, reposted and then edited it again as I was replying.

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
2) I didn't want to accept the response of the the first person and only person to reply as law, so I was interested in waiting for more opinions.
That’s your prerogative, no need to argue about the other and just wait for even more responses … BTW you could have easily checked my profile as I did yours and seen that I've been around since 2006 or Marvin from 2008 and normally we wouldn't post BS ...

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
It seems that I will have to.
While you’ll read a lot of BS on the net, for example "you can tell by the SKU number," which was quickly proven to be false.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-19-2012, 09:58 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,608
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
Someone, please tell me how I can purposefully buy a v1.
I guess find someone with a V1 who will sell you one.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:04 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Don’t say I didn’t listen, you didn’t mention the dock until post 3, which you deleted, reposted and then edited it again as I was replying.
I had edited my post, but then I put a lengthy enough edit that I decided to just delete and repost it to show on the index that there was an unread reply (rather than just double posting).

Quote:
[...]normally we wouldn't post BS ...
you never know with some people. The net is full of people who think they know everything and are quite confident about it.



On topic... I just contacted Amazon and they said that if I bought a Fuze, knowing that the version is unknown until opening it, that it may be deemed as my error and not theirs, which would mean I'd be responsible for shipping--even return shipping.

So this makes the issue a more complicated one.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:19 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
I had edited my post, but then I put a lengthy enough edit that I decided to just delete and repost it to show on the index that there was an unread reply (rather than just double posting).
Mods can see it all

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
you never know with some people. The net is full of people who think they know everything and are quite confident about it.
That’s why I always check others profiles, good habit to get into and I agree on the know it all peeps …

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
On topic... I just contacted Amazon and they said that if I bought a Fuze, knowing that the version is unknown until opening it, that it may be deemed as my error and not theirs, which would mean I'd be responsible for shipping--even return shipping. So this makes the issue a more complicated one.
Shipping is a small price to pay to get what you want. On the other hand you could look for a used player and ask the owner what firmware is currently on the player, this way you can easily tell.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:25 AM
Enigmatic Enigmatic is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 713
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
I didn't want to accept the response of the the first person and only person to reply as law, so I was interested in waiting for more opinions.
You would have to ask the seller to note the firmware version on the Fuze. This is the only way that I know of that will guarantee that you will be sold a version-1 Fuze.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-19-2012, 10:59 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,243
Default

Amazon's stance on shipping is to be expected. If an item functions according to spec there's no reason Amazon or one of it's vendors should have to pay the freight for your experiments.

You want an out of date, out of production device for a specialized function. Even though it's standard device what you want is essentially custom. Custom costs more.

I haven't checked in a long while but at one point there were vendors on ebay that would guarantee which version you would get. They did that by opening the packaging and checking the firmware.

If you don't find a vendor that does that's currently doing that on ebay you might want to place an WTB (Want To Buy) ad in the Classifieds here. The Fuze was fairly popular at one time and there may be someone willing to sell theirs.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-19-2012, 11:35 AM
chyron8472 chyron8472 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Of course, a simpler (for me) solution would be for the Rockbox devs to get it to support line-out on v2, but there's no way to know when or if that will ever happen.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-19-2012, 11:43 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chyron8472 View Post
Of course, a simpler (for me) solution would be for the Rockbox devs to get it to support line-out on v2, but there's no way to know when or if that will ever happen.
Strong possibility that will never happen after all they know there's no diff between HP out and line out on the fuze. That said, an easier solution would be to buy your wife a new player and confiscate her v1
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-19-2012, 12:18 PM
epithetless's Avatar
epithetless epithetless is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, Mass
Posts: 1,610
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
On the other hand you could look for a used player and ask the owner what firmware is currently on the player, this way you can easily tell.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enigmatic View Post
You would have to ask the seller to note the firmware version on the Fuze. This is the only way that I know of that will guarantee that you will be sold a version-1 Fuze.
WalkGood and Enigmatic are right; asking on a per-device basis is unfortunately your only bet. When I was in your position (also seeking a v1 Fuze for its Rockboxed dock functionality, also not for sound quality reasons), I contacted a number of eBay sellers about the firmware version on their players. Several of them were kind enough to check for me.
__________________
Rockbox Themes:
Sansa Fuze: XL Fuzed // Sansa Clip/Clip+: Cliplined
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-19-2012, 01:09 PM
Tapeworm's Avatar
Tapeworm Tapeworm is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: California, the Granola State
Posts: 481
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
. . . an easier solution would be to buy your wife a new player and confiscate her v1
That's what I was going to suggest. Order a Fuze. If it gets to you and it's a v2, just say, "Honey, I love and appreciate you so much, I was going to buy you flowers, but then I thought flowers just die after a few days anyway so I spent the same amount of money and bought you a new mp3 player to replace your old, dilapidated one. I'll just use that old one for the car."

You'll be a hero!
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:59 AM.