android
  #1  
Old 11-04-2012, 01:12 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default PROBLEM: NWZ-e443 [formatting problem]

Hi guys, i got this problem that i formatted my walkman e443 through windows formatting. now i can't even use it. Whenever i open it, the start screen with rotating 4 dots appear but then after a few seconds it just shutdown. Need help guys. i want to use my walkman again.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-04-2012, 02:33 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

anyone? guys? :'(
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-04-2012, 07:06 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,280
Default

I've never formatted a Sony using Windows so I don't know the results. What method did you use? What file system did you pick? FAT32, NTFS? Is the player still recognized by Windows? Have you tried the reset button?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-04-2012, 10:33 AM
CDMP3PlayerFan CDMP3PlayerFan is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 708
Default

You should be able to get a copy of the instruction manual for your specific player from Sony website, so you can check to see the following applies to your player. I checked the instruction booklet for my player (an NWZ-E465) and it said to be sure not to format the player using Windows Explorer. It says that if you have, format the player again using the Format command. On my player you do the following: [Settings] > [Common Settings] > [Reset/Format] > [Format]. One thing to mention: when you format the player this way, all of the data on the player will be lost, including the preloaded software and user guide.
__________________
In Use
Player: iPod Classic (160gb), Sony NWZ-E465 (16gb Flash Player)
Music Management Software:
MediaMonkey 4
Headphones: Koss PortaPro
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-05-2012, 03:07 PM
ripn3s ripn3s is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Default

Ya....messed mine up too man.I don't have the "exact" player you have but heres what I did and maybe it"ll help.
1st-go into windows directory and make sure you have the Sony folder,2nd-hook up your walkman to computer,you should see the walkman in the directory,go ahead and click on the walkman to see all folders,if nothing is there....good,make sure you leave walkman hooked up.
3rd-go back to the Sony folder in directory,click the "+" sign in front of it,in there you'll see,Media Go folder,Playstation Network Downloader and some others,open Walkman Guide folder,the very next folder should be your exact player(mine was NWZ-E470)click that to open it,the very first folder under it should read Backup,open that up.Click right on that folder to highlight it.In there you should see a blue colored cube with a green arrow pointing downward.4th-click that then click open and it should start the install like it was going in for the first time.
Hope that works for you man,it did for me,giving it a shot.GOOD LUCK
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:35 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
I've never formatted a Sony using Windows so I don't know the results. What method did you use? What file system did you pick? FAT32, NTFS? Is the player still recognized by Windows? Have you tried the reset button?
NTFS I think dude, but no my player isn't recognized by my OS. I tried the reset button many times.. ohh man what am i gonna do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CDMP3PlayerFan View Post
You should be able to get a copy of the instruction manual for your specific player from Sony website, so you can check to see the following applies to your player. I checked the instruction booklet for my player (an NWZ-E465) and it said to be sure not to format the player using Windows Explorer. It says that if you have, format the player again using the Format command. On my player you do the following: [Settings] > [Common Settings] > [Reset/Format] > [Format]. One thing to mention: when you format the player this way, all of the data on the player will be lost, including the preloaded software and user guide.
Well, the first problem is that i can't manage to open my walkman to the menu. That's why i can't acces the settings.. Thanks for the help though

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripn3s View Post
Ya....messed mine up too man.I don't have the "exact" player you have but heres what I did and maybe it"ll help.
1st-go into windows directory and make sure you have the Sony folder,2nd-hook up your walkman to computer,you should see the walkman in the directory,go ahead and click on the walkman to see all folders,if nothing is there....good,make sure you leave walkman hooked up.
3rd-go back to the Sony folder in directory,click the "+" sign in front of it,in there you'll see,Media Go folder,Playstation Network Downloader and some others,open Walkman Guide folder,the very next folder should be your exact player(mine was NWZ-E470)click that to open it,the very first folder under it should read Backup,open that up.Click right on that folder to highlight it.In there you should see a blue colored cube with a green arrow pointing downward.4th-click that then click open and it should start the install like it was going in for the first time.
Hope that works for you man,it did for me,giving it a shot.GOOD LUCK
dude Can't see the windows directory you were telling? well i hope this works.. damn sony!!
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-07-2012, 08:51 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

well dude that's the problem, i don't have the Sony folder backup on my PC.. damn. >.< can i just get it from other players?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-07-2012, 11:59 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,280
Default

If the file system you chose was NTSF I *think* that over writes the firmware. The firmware is in a hidden partition a format to FAT32 doesn't touch. From what I remember formatting to NTSF writes to the entire disk and kills that hidden partition. Without a firmware to tell the hardware how to function there wouldn't be any way for the player to connect.

I'd sure like to be wrong about this so I'll keep looking to see if there's a way to get a NTFS system to connect. I'd encourage you to look into what Linux offers. There may be a way to connect and write a firmware image or restore from there. I haven't found a way to do that yet but it's all I can think might help.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-07-2012, 04:19 PM
ripn3s ripn3s is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 20
Default

Bummer,I thought you dumped all the stuff from your player and not your computer too.I call windows explorer the windows directory(apologies).
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-08-2012, 04:31 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
If the file system you chose was NTSF I *think* that over writes the firmware. The firmware is in a hidden partition a format to FAT32 doesn't touch. From what I remember formatting to NTSF writes to the entire disk and kills that hidden partition. Without a firmware to tell the hardware how to function there wouldn't be any way for the player to connect.

I'd sure like to be wrong about this so I'll keep looking to see if there's a way to get a NTFS system to connect. I'd encourage you to look into what Linux offers. There may be a way to connect and write a firmware image or restore from there. I haven't found a way to do that yet but it's all I can think might help.
how i wish this would be okay soon. i'll try to access this hidden partition though. well i don't have any friends who has Linux platform, they say linux can access through hidden partitions. damn.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ripn3s View Post
Bummer,I thought you dumped all the stuff from your player and not your computer too.I call windows explorer the windows directory(apologies).
haha it's okay
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-08-2012, 10:37 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,280
Default

I'm saying that I don't believe there's a hidden partition if you formatted to NTSF. Doing that would have written to every sector of the disk including where a FAT32 format wouldn't touch. That would wipe out the firmware that carries the USB drivers and leave the player unable to connect to the outside.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-09-2012, 06:44 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
I'm saying that I don't believe there's a hidden partition if you formatted to NTSF. Doing that would have written to every sector of the disk including where a FAT32 format wouldn't touch. That would wipe out the firmware that carries the USB drivers and leave the player unable to connect to the outside.
yes sir. that exactly what happened to my walkman. damn, i think there's no solution for this kind of problem. can't even put files to my walkman's memory. damn.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-14-2012, 03:55 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

is there anyone know how to solve my problem?
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-15-2012, 06:38 PM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

^
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 12-24-2012, 05:23 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

damn
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 12-24-2012, 09:01 AM
FreeZ5's Avatar
FreeZ5 FreeZ5 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Niagara Region, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 2,507
Default

Has anybody tried asking Sony Support? This has to have happened enough that they have some kind of answer.

Steve
__________________
Everybody should own at least one Sansa Clip family player. Except maybe the Sport.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 12-24-2012, 10:15 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,280
Default

I couldn't hurt to get in touch with sony support but I doubt this happens very often. Sonys have both a reset and an internal format utility. Between those two there's not a reason I know to hook one up to a PC and format it in Windows I've come across.

Of 3 Sonys I've owned I only formatted one using the using the internal formatter. That was only after multiple tries of the reset button didn't help after it had been disconnected during a file transfer.

If this one has been formatted NTSF I doubt there's an answer a consumer would be able to use. If it won't boot or connect over USB there's not anything I can think that could be done by a consumer.

There may be some way to enter a service menu but that would a need a firmware in place to translate the keypresses. Sony never gives out service menu info even if that's possible.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 12-28-2012, 06:42 AM
rijn21 rijn21 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 10
Default

ugh -_- sony sucks for a short reason >.<
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 12-03-2013, 10:55 PM
AlanHK AlanHK is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 1
Default

I know this is almost a year old, but if you still are stuck and haven't thrown it away, you could try upgrading the firmware.
If it can detect the Walkman at all it should recreate all the system files.


get it from http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/pro...43_44_45_FW_UP
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21 PM.