android
  #1  
Old 07-11-2013, 03:59 AM
mulderfox mulderfox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Default I hate the Fuze+ (plus)

I got it by accident when I thought I was buying (over the net) a good old fuze v2.

Sadly I got this (touch controlled) piece of Junk, and all I wanted was my old dial wheel..

I know it's still floating around in ebay, but I'm not willing to pay over 50 USD for a music player

Does anyone know why sandisk switched from the wheel to touch? was it the fear of legal action from apple with their ipod?

thanks.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-11-2013, 04:19 AM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,602
Default

Rockbox it...it's much more usable that way. Otherwise, kill it with fire!
__________________
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB, Clip Sport 8GB. Rockbox-> Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB
2012 Nexus 7 32GB, Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB, LG Optimus G Pro, Nokia Lumia 900 and Lumia 520
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-11-2013, 05:02 AM
mulderfox mulderfox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Default

I considered rockbox, but the plus loses any recording capability with the current rockbox port.. and it's a really good recorder so I don't want to lose that.
oh well.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-11-2013, 05:31 AM
skamp's Avatar
skamp skamp is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: France
Posts: 221
Default

I just tried it, recording works with the Fuze+ and the latest Rockbox build (I had no idea it could do that, btw).
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-11-2013, 07:45 PM
humersimpson humersimpson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 34
Default

You could boot it up under the original Sansa Firmware for the times you need to record.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-11-2013, 09:45 PM
mulderfox mulderfox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skamp View Post
I just tried it, recording works with the Fuze+ and the latest Rockbox build (I had no idea it could do that, btw).
Just rockboxed it to the latest (July 11) dev firmware. Recording seems to work, but it records nothing, just silence.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-11-2013, 10:51 PM
JK98 JK98 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,986
Default

So boot to the original firmware when you need to record.

You are not the only one who hates the Fuze+.

On Ebay you could probably get a 4GB original Fuze used for around $50, but an 8GB used one will probably cost you around $70 or so.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-12-2013, 01:25 AM
skamp's Avatar
skamp skamp is online now
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: France
Posts: 221
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulderfox View Post
Just rockboxed it to the latest (July 11) dev firmware. Recording seems to work, but it records nothing, just silence.
I recorded my own voice, it worked. Maybe the Fuze+ wasn't close enough to whatever you were recording?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-12-2013, 11:27 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,198
Default

I finally got my hands on a Fuze+ to Rockbox and find that it fairly well for my uses. A few glitches here and there but I haven't used it enough yet to know if it's me, the hardware or Rockbox. Probably some combination of all of those.

When I've tried recording the voice recorder works but it's quiet. The FM radio records silence. I'm seeing that discussed in rockbox irc so I'll just keep an eye on that. I don't ordinarily record in any case but it's nice to have any available features working as expected.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-12-2013, 10:31 PM
mulderfox mulderfox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skamp View Post
I recorded my own voice, it worked. Maybe the Fuze+ wasn't close enough to whatever you were recording?
here's a quote from rockbox forums (a developer for the fuze+ port):
However, he says he committed some fixes so I'll give that a try.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-13-2013, 02:37 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,198
Default

It would be nice if you reported the fix in the same place you originally reported the problem. That way someone else that's considering the Fuze+ wouldn't be left wondering if recording is important to them.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-13-2013, 02:53 AM
mulderfox mulderfox is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 23
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by skip252 View Post
It would be nice if you reported the fix in the same place you originally reported the problem. That way someone else that's considering the Fuze+ wouldn't be left wondering if recording is important to them.
for one, there's a link if you click the quote itself.. for another, remember the subject of this thread?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.