android
  #1161  
Old 01-03-2014, 04:37 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

@VanniX: So can we (the users) do anything about it, or do we have to wait until the bug is fixed in Rockbox? And is the bug known to the Rockbox developers?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #1162  
Old 01-03-2014, 01:01 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,601
Default

Its not a bug in Rockbox, but rather the r0 audio driver. This is a common problem actually, usually because either the DMA engine drops a sample somewhere or a i2s clock is missed resulting in L/R pairs being shifted into R/L.
__________________
Interested in Google's Summer of Code ? PM me.
Reply With Quote

  #1163  
Old 01-08-2014, 02:10 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Its not a bug in Rockbox, but rather the r0 audio driver. This is a common problem actually, usually because either the DMA engine drops a sample somewhere or a i2s clock is missed resulting in L/R pairs being shifted into R/L.
That is exactly what I suspected, moreover it only happens at 200MHz.
I should give a look at the datasheet and see if it is possible to slow down the clock when being in 200MHz.
The strange fact is that it does NOT happen when playing stuff from internal nand, I never had it at least.

By the way, for all users that complained about battery life I spotted a bug which was causing rockbox benchmark run only about 18 hours vs 25 hours if charged by OF. Nothing serious, but nice to have spotted
(No, it is not yet in the daily build)
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #1164  
Old 01-08-2014, 03:12 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

However with samsung official firmware and cpu freq forced to 200mhz there isn't the channel swapping issue, but only the known lag with dnse enabled :/
Reply With Quote

  #1165  
Old 01-09-2014, 12:48 PM
Lorenz092 Lorenz092 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Italy
Posts: 449
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VanniX View Post
However with samsung official firmware and cpu freq forced to 200mhz there isn't the channel swapping issue, but only the known lag with dnse enabled :/
Backlight on or off? I had choppy audio when backlight off using my old cpu trick program ^^
Basically it did check cpu freq once every X seconds and lowering it if necessary. Why? Simply because OF tends to set it again to 532 mhz (at least I did see that at the time, when my experience in programming and stuff was still at its early ages haha)
__________________
Check out my modded firmware both for YP-R0 and YP-R1!!!
** DONATE ** -> https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_s-xclick&hosted_button_id=K658CHJKX2X8C
NOTE: if you want to donate for Rockbox itself and not my work, go to their website!!
Reply With Quote

  #1166  
Old 01-11-2014, 05:16 PM
VanniX VanniX is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Italy - Clowns country
Posts: 120
Default

Backlight on and off. Audio glitches are present only with dnse enabled.
No, i don't think the OF set 532 again after startup, i note that if i change cpu freq to 200000 with serial port it use 200mhz until next reboot.
Reply With Quote

  #1167  
Old 01-13-2014, 03:25 PM
Appick's Avatar
Appick Appick is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: France
Posts: 83
Default

Either I'm a very lucky guy or I'm not nearly as attentive to the music as I thought, but I've never noticed this channel swap. I've had audio glitches when I changed songs. What does the channel swap sound like when it happens?
I nearly only listen to Flacs, have no EQs whatsoever and have a 64GB card. Could it just concern lossy codecs?
__________________
Appick
Reply With Quote

  #1168  
Old 01-18-2014, 02:43 PM
stork's Avatar
stork stork is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Portugal
Posts: 28
Default

Hi, guys.
I'm having some odd issues using Rockbox.

From time to time, and now it's more frequent, the system freezes playing a song or going back to the microSD directories list. The card itself is ok, never gave me a problem on my PC. I've reinstalled Rockbox yesterday after formatting the internal memory, but the issue stays the same.
I just checked the internal memory for bad sectors with Victoria and shows none of them. It seems fine. The device works well with the Samsung firmware. Don't know what else to try Any help is appreciated.

UPDATE

I ran checkdisk on internal memory and reinstalled the last LightROM. For now it seems to work just fine. Will test it more for some days and post back if the issue reoccurs.
__________________
"Metal is forever !" - Primal Fear
________________________________________
Rockbox'ed SanDisk Sansa E250 - dead.
Rockbox'ed Samsung YP-R0 + 32gb Sandisk microSD

Last edited by stork; 01-18-2014 at 05:58 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #1169  
Old 02-24-2014, 03:51 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

The microSD automounting patch for R0 was merged into the Rockbox tree yesterday.
Now you don't have to reboot the device anymore when inserting and removing a microSD card.
Just update to the latest build
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #1170  
Old 02-25-2014, 04:04 AM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 15
Unhappy

With automounting patch for R0 non-latin filenames looks like "?????.mp3" on SDCard.
mount until start rockbox
Quote:
/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /mnt/mmc type vfat (rw,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp437,iocharset =utf8)
mount after start rockbox
Quote:
/dev/mmcblk0p1 on /mnt/mmc type vfat (rw,sync,fmask=0022,dmask=0022,codepage=cp437,ioch arset=iso8859-1)
I think this is due to a string in the patch http://gerrit.rockbox.org/r/#/c/332/.../system-ypr0.c
Code:
static int mount_sd(void)
{......
			char iocharset[64] = "iocharset=";
			strlcat(iocharset, get_current_codepage_name_linux(), sizeof(iocharset));
ret = mount("/dev/mmcblk0p1", "/mnt/mmc", "vfat",
			MS_MGC_VAL | MS_SYNCHRONOUS | MS_RELATIME, iocharset);
....}
get_current_codepage_name_linux() returns the "current" code page iso8859-1 instead of utf8.
Reply With Quote

  #1171  
Old 02-25-2014, 12:30 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

I also noticed that issue.
I'll report it to Kugel
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*
Reply With Quote

  #1172  
Old 02-25-2014, 05:02 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Change your codepage to UTF8 in the Rockbox settings, the mount command will follow that. Note that Linux prints a warning when fat volumes are mounted with iocharset=utf8.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #1173  
Old 02-26-2014, 12:20 AM
ottogrey ottogrey is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Russia
Posts: 15
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
Change your codepage to UTF8 in the Rockbox settings
In my opinion, setting "Settings - General Settings - Display - Default Codepage" has no effect.
Moreover, there I always set cp1251 (Cyrillic)

LightROM 4.6. maybe this is a "feature" of this firmware.

Last edited by ottogrey; 02-26-2014 at 12:26 AM. Reason: add firmware
Reply With Quote

  #1174  
Old 02-28-2014, 01:34 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ottogrey View Post
In my opinion, setting "Settings - General Settings - Display - Default Codepage" has no effect.
Moreover, there I always set cp1251 (Cyrillic)

LightROM 4.6. maybe this is a "feature" of this firmware.
There was a bug in Rockbox, setting UTF-8 should work now.

Please be aware of two things:
a) I only test on the firmware we provide, not on others floating around here.
b) The Linux kernel in that firmware (the unmodified Samsung one) does lack many codepages, setting these in Rockbox will not affect the mount options of the sd card if the kernel does not support them. In this case no iocharset mount option and the Linux kernel defaults to iso8859-1
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #1175  
Old 02-28-2014, 02:08 PM
lebellium's Avatar
lebellium lebellium is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Paris
Posts: 3,599
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
There was a bug in Rockbox, setting UTF-8 should work now.
Just tried on device and it seems to work now, thanks

edit: hum after rebooting the device, removing and inserting the card, it stops working, then after removing and inserting the card again, it works again... or not...etc... the setting doesn't seem to be reliable and consistent.

Quote:
a) I only test on the firmware we provide, not on others floating around here.
You provide a firmware? Really?

The R0 has been in the Rockbox tree for 2 years now and it's one of the only target not to have an official bootloader available for download.

The other targets have either a prebuilt bootloader to download or can be used in Rockbox Utility to install the bootloader.

For the R0 you are obliged to compile the bootloader yourself. Don't forget that most users can't compile themselves and therefore as long as there is nothing to download from the Rockbox website, I personally consider modded firmware v2.51 and LR 4.6 as the official Rockbox bootloaders/firmwares for R0. Those are used by 90% of rockboxed R0 users and thus are much more representative for testing.
__________________
I'm French^^ *GenerationMP3 Samsung Moderator*

Last edited by lebellium; 02-28-2014 at 02:28 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #1176  
Old 02-28-2014, 03:41 PM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lebellium View Post
Just tried on device and it seems to work now, thanks

edit: hum after rebooting the device, removing and inserting the card, it stops working, then after removing and inserting the card again, it works again... or not...etc... the setting doesn't seem to be reliable and consistent.

You provide a firmware? Really?

The R0 has been in the Rockbox tree for 2 years now and it's one of the only target not to have an official bootloader available for download.

The other targets have either a prebuilt bootloader to download or can be used in Rockbox Utility to install the bootloader.

For the R0 you are obliged to compile the bootloader yourself. Don't forget that most users can't compile themselves and therefore as long as there is nothing to download from the Rockbox website, I personally consider modded firmware v2.51 and LR 4.6 as the official Rockbox bootloaders/firmwares for R0. Those are used by 90% of rockboxed R0 users and thus are much more representative for testing.
Well, we provide the the tools required to build a firmware that can boot Rockbox. While it requires a toolchain and Linux, cross compilation is not required, and can be done on a live system.

The situation is difficult for the R0 because the tools that are required run only on Linux (to unpack/pack the root fs), and therefore rbutil integration is complicated. We don't provide prebuilt firmwares because they contain copyright by Samsung, thus we cannot legally distribute it. It's unfortunate, I know.

What we provide through our source tree is what we call official, regardless of your view.
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #1177  
Old 03-15-2014, 06:23 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Hi all,

with the Rockbox version 50f0dd8-140310 (10.03.2014), special chars like the German "umlauts" are displayed as "" in file & dir names on the SD card.

With "Settings > General Settings > Display > Default Codepage" set to "Unicode (UTF-8)", these characters are displayed correctly only when I remove and insert the SD card manually. After the next reboot, umlauts are displayed wrong again.
Reply With Quote

  #1178  
Old 03-15-2014, 06:26 AM
kugel's Avatar
kugel kugel is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Berlin, Germany
Posts: 1,153
Default

The code page setting indeed only affects the sdcard upon mount, so after changing it it must be reinserted. But the setting should be stable across reboots. Did you shut down cleanly?
__________________
;;
Reply With Quote

  #1179  
Old 03-15-2014, 06:30 AM
stbi's Avatar
stbi stbi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Munich
Posts: 79
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kugel View Post
Did you shut down cleanly?
Yes, I pressed the On/Off button until Rockbox displayed "Shutting down" and the display went off.
Reply With Quote

  #1180  
Old 08-19-2014, 04:57 PM
MrVibrating MrVibrating is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 23
Default

Hi guys, the other day i looked in on the project pages and noticed there's still new nightly builds being posted, so i tried updating to the latest version.

Unfortunately i can't get the most recent versions to run. They get as far as the RB splash screen, then the R0 just switches off.

I'm using the 2.51 dual-boot lightrom.

I found an older RB build that works, but now i've lost the FM radio, which i use frequently. There's no option to select FM radio available.


Can anyone post a link to the most recent RB version with a working FM radio? I've looked but can't find...
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
r0, rockbox, samsung yp-r0

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:21 AM.