android
  #1  
Old 04-08-2014, 03:37 PM
cyclone3211 cyclone3211 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default Player On, Off. & On again

My e200 is used for audio books. Just recently while listening, the unit will stop. I restart, go to where I left off prior to the stoppage and it plays as normal. Short time later, this routine needs to be repeated.

Never before did I have a problem with this ON-OFF. The unit is used several times during a week and has been used often for an entire day. The current battery indicates that it is charged and is a replacement that was installed over a year ago.

Is this unit telling me that it has come to the "end of life" or would a battery replacement take care of this issue.

Is this a common occurrence that has been dealt with and solved in the past? If yes, I need the method to solve this.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-08-2014, 07:11 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,192
Default

Welcome to ABi

You don't say which model yours is, a V1 or V2. If it's a V1 you could try opening it and seeing if the daughter card is loose.

That's the grey square you see when you take off the back. Try giving it a firm press. If it clicks down any that may have been the problem.

I'd also run chdsk or whatever disk checking facility your OS has. File corruption on mine was frequently the cause of odd problems.

Other than that all I can recommend is checking the forum for threads like this to see if there's anything that relates to your situation.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-09-2014, 02:09 PM
cyclone3211 cyclone3211 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

The unit in question is a V2, does the same possible fix still apply.

BTW, thanks for the reply because I am currently using a backup V1 with a bad screen.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:33 PM
ECA ECA is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 27
Default

rAM CARD??
My clip+ does something simular..and it ends up not reading my ram card properly..I pull it out, and plug it back in, and it works..
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:47 PM
cyclone3211 cyclone3211 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks for that........I like it and will just redo SD disk and put it back. Might just be that simple thing since I have never done any maintenance to it.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-09-2014, 04:56 PM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,192
Default

The hardware in a V2 is different and doesn't have a daughter card. That fix is off the table. Just to be certain, did you check your version using the directions in the bolded V1 link? Those directions are there because there were any number of E2xx series sansas that have a back on them that doesn't match the hardware in the case.

If you're sure it's a V2 all I can suggest is checking the disk for errors. If you are using a card your can try checking that. I'd also try removing it to see if that fixes your problem.

You could also try reinstalling the firmware. I consider that a high risk option because if it fails it bricks the player. I'd definitely try checking the disk before I moved forward on a firmware re-installation.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:38 PM.