android
  #1  
Old 01-30-2007, 10:07 AM
Scotinus Scotinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default All the buttons are mixed up.

I've got a problem with my ZVM (30). All the buttons are mixed up. The "My shortcut" button is to select something, I can't scroll up, and my Options, Play/Pause and Back buttons are "Play Random songs", which I think is what I selected for my Shortcut button. Resetting, "cleaning up" from the recovery menu etc. didn't solve the problem. This happened before, but it solved automaticly when my cousin touched it.(he's like some sort of saint with these things, he really just touched it... well actually, he pounded on it).. but that didn't work this time...

Any one knows about this? And how to solve this problem.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-30-2007, 10:09 AM
jconsortium's Avatar
jconsortium jconsortium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 313
Default

Maybe upgrade/downgrade your firmware?

I forget where it is (if it's in the menus or recovery menu) but there's a "reset settings" option too, you could try that.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-30-2007, 10:25 AM
Scotinus Scotinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Default

No, that didn't help either. But thanks anyway. Maybe I'll try upgrading firmware. Never even heard about that since today.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-30-2007, 12:01 PM
jconsortium's Avatar
jconsortium jconsortium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 313
Default

If it doesn't work, you should probably just RMA the player.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-30-2007, 02:33 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Agreed. Select "Reload Firmware" from the Recovery Mode menu, and then reinstall the firmware (note: Have the latest firmware already downloaded to your computer from the Creative site before you do this).

If reloading the firmware doesn't fix it, then your player is definitely borked, and you'll need to contact Creative for an RMA.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 12:33 PM
Scotinus Scotinus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3
Thumbs up

Thanks everyone. I just let my ZVM alone for a few days. I thought about what I heard. If you shut it down, it'll reboot from the RAM, if you restart it whitin a few hours, but if you leave it longer (six hours I think) the RAM is cleared (and it takes longer to start up). It didn't work when I tried it (leaving it rest for a day). But now, somehow, it functions normally again.
I don't know what it is, I just left it on my desk for about a day-and-a-half.
Well, at least now there is some hope for the people who have this problem, because I didn't find anything about this at the internet.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:52 PM
jconsortium's Avatar
jconsortium jconsortium is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 313
Default

Wow, that is a darn strange solution to your problem.

I find it so odd when time heals all wounds, including technology-relevant wounds. I used to have a Gameboy game that somehow got screwed up (no idea how, but it would freeze on the main page) and after about 4 years (I tried it maybe twice a year for those 4 years), it was magically corrected.

Sorry for the story, I just had to go off on that little tangent.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:03 AM.