android
  #1  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:09 PM
Wiseeyez139 Wiseeyez139 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default Does the Zen M act as a harddrive?

I had an ipod but it broke, and I used to use it to store files on it, since I never used up all the space. Can I do this with the Zen M?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:12 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

You can set up a partition of the hard disk for storage, with the 30GB ZV:M it's a maximum of 16GB for removable storage, IIRC.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:16 PM
Wiseeyez139 Wiseeyez139 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Cool, do I need a special program? because with the ipod I had to get something different than itunes.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:21 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

No you can set up the partition right from the ZV:M's menu. But that partition can't be used for music anymore, until you delete the partition again.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:50 PM
Mannimal88's Avatar
Mannimal88 Mannimal88 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 386
Default

the 60 gig zvm the maximum is 32 gigs
__________________
If You Catch Aids 10 Times It Goes Away
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:14 PM
Lawrence Lawrence is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,140
Default

yep. its one of the extras included inside the zvm.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 02-02-2007, 10:18 PM
AndrewJ's Avatar
AndrewJ AndrewJ is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Mi Komfee Chaire
Posts: 161
Default

its a nice one too! that is if you dont mind carrying around lots of extra bulk for a USB drive lol. nice feature for on the run stuff though.
__________________
"Bother," said Pooh, as he chambered another round...
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 02-03-2007, 02:15 AM
Jebus Jebus is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 325
Default

I just was wondering if you can format the hard drive (removable storage) partition from within windows? Because there are some special windows that can fit and run off a usb drive but require you to reformat that drive from within windows.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 02-03-2007, 03:05 PM
Lawrence Lawrence is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,140
Default

yes you can.

go to my computer, right click it, and you can go on from there (i think in properties). i've done it.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:23 PM.