android
  #1  
Old 03-06-2007, 03:39 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default USB Connection Problems

Hey!

I have a problem, for some reason, when I plug in my player (which I just got yesterdat) via USB on my main computer the "Searching for PC" screen will come up, but after that... the screen goes blank. When I take out the USB Cable, however, the screen comes back on and does the "Rebuilding Library" process.

I can fix this by updated the driver or uninstalling the player from the Device Manager, but this is only temporarily as it shuts off moments later. Strangely, the player works flawlessly, or so I think (I haven't used it for transferring music), on my old PC.

Anyone have a solution?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:18 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

Flaky USB ports are the only thing I can think of... Maybe they can't supply the needed power.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:29 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default

My other USB stuff works fine though, so it can't be that.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-06-2007, 05:38 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

But your other USB stuff might not draw as much power as the NS-DV does...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:01 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Still, I doubt that is the problem, I have a hub (3 things attached) connected to a single USB and it doesn't get knocked out.

I did a bit of googling and found out that it might be a WMP11/MTP Driver related issue, so I'm going to try uninstalling WMP11 and installing WMP10.

Edit: WMP11 and the MTP Driver might have been the problem, having no trouble with WMP10 so far.

Edit: On a side note... how do I upload video to my player?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:11 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

I don't know if you can sync videos in WMP10, like you can in WMP11... So you should probably install the Arcsoft converter which can be found on the CD that came with the player. Once it's done installing, launch the program, drag movies into window, connect NS-DV, click the convert button. Done.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:16 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Nevermind, I found the Media Folder.

The Insignia Video can only read WMV and MP4, right?

If so, why can't my player read any of the WMV videos I put on it?
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:51 PM
MusicLoverMike MusicLoverMike is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Cincinnati, Oh
Posts: 24
Default

It can read only certain bitrate WMV files, not all WMV files. The best thing to do is to use the Arcsoft converter to convert the files to the format that the Insignia Video supports.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-06-2007, 06:55 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default

So whats the buzz behind Iriverter? It only converts to .avi, unless you can change it (how?).

Edit: Okay, just figured out that everything is saved as an .avi (ArcSoft saved a dummy video as an avi) for the player, thats strange...
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-06-2007, 08:36 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

Odd. The Arcsoft converter should be putting out .MP4 or .WMV files, depending on your settings. I didn't even know the NS-DV would play .AVI files...
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-06-2007, 08:56 PM
Bonafide Bonafide is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 68
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobey View Post
Odd. The Arcsoft converter should be putting out .MP4 or .WMV files, depending on your settings. I didn't even know the NS-DV would play .AVI files...
Heh, I have five videos and they are all .avi's (one by Arcsoft and the rest iRiverter)! Strange indeed.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:04 PM
digitaldel digitaldel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

AVI format is simply a container for the MPEG4 files, it is more friendly for Windows based machines especially when using WMP.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-06-2007, 11:06 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

Ah, I kind of figured it was just a wrapper.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.