android
  #1  
Old 02-26-2007, 10:23 AM
luna luna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default ns-da2g, ubuntu edgy

when i plug in my insignia mp3 player it shows up on desktop as insigniamp3, but when i click it, only CONFIG & SYS_CONF.DNC show up. when i go into the CONFIG folder i see CONFIG.TCC. i can't open the .tcc or .dnc files cuz they're unknown. i typed lsusb & it only shows my wireless adapter. i tried plugging it in different usb slots & the same thing happens.

the player didn't come with any drivers, just a best buy rhapsody cd which i threw away. :P

also 2 questions:

how do u check the mp3 player's filesystem?

do i need gnomad2 to make this work? i installed it but it gave an error about no jukebox in usb or something.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 02-26-2007, 01:59 PM
Tobey's Avatar
Tobey Tobey is offline
Insignia Moderator
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,500
Default

You Shouldn't need anything extra to make it work. In fact, it sounds like it's working fine right now, if you can access the config files. So I don't think it's a driver issue. Did you have anything else on it? Have you tried dragging a song to it yet?

It's been a while since I've used Linux... but I believe if you type "cat /etc/fstab" in the terminal, it will show you the file system... It should be FAT16. But might be FAT32, can't remember...
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 02-26-2007, 08:03 PM
luna luna is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

ty for the help. i was able to drag a song into it, but i can't see what mp3s are already on there. ;( i did all my mp3 stuff on windows o_o
Code:
 gail@gail-oldpos:~$ cat /etc/fstab # /etc/fstab: static file system information. # #                 proc            /proc           proc    defaults        0       0 # /dev/hda1 -- converted during upgrade to edgy UUID=73bcd013-161e-4008-bb79-a37e79eca444 / ext3 defaults,errors=remount-ro 0 1 # /dev/hda5 -- converted during upgrade to edgy UUID=b82cfa1c-9f7a-4201-bb92-28eae3a080f3 none swap sw 0 0 /dev/hdc        /media/cdrom0   udf,iso9660 user,noauto     0       0 gail@gail-oldpos:~$
edit: wierd, it works now. i formatted the player in windows, then put all the music back on it from my flash drive in ubuntu & for some reason it works. why is that? it's the same files...
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 02-27-2007, 10:01 AM
psyddicus psyddicus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5
Default

Looks like ubuntu was just supermounting it wrong when you tried. Maybe when you reformatted it did something that made it more apparent to linux what the partition actually was.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04 PM.