android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen Vision:M

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #81  
Old 12-13-2007, 06:42 AM
Terrancelee Terrancelee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Now I'm even more perplexed, as it installed without a hitch into my laptop. Although, my laptop has media 10 .. back to the drawing board.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #82  
Old 12-13-2007, 01:42 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

If you installed any of the Creative software on your computer with WMP11, try uninstalling it all. Plug in your player, remove the rogue entries in Device Manager, and click Scan for Hardware Changes.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #83  
Old 12-13-2007, 08:10 PM
Terrancelee Terrancelee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

I've removed everything creative on my system. Scan for new hardware tells me it's found new hardware. USB 2.0 bus. Wants to install zen drivers. Does it once and says it's installed. Then pops up again and wants to install drivers. Same thing again .. "there seems to be a problem" .. Yeah, I use windows is the frickin problem. I give up. I shoulda just bought an ipod and dealt with the itunes crap.

What a crock of shit. Loads flawless on a 4 year old laptop that has never seen an update/upgrade. My desktop is a gaming system that I keep up to date and I get this crap.

Man, I hate windows.
Reply With Quote

  #84  
Old 12-15-2007, 02:46 PM
werezenwolf's Avatar
werezenwolf werezenwolf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 488
Default

I thought I might pass along my experiences in case it helps someone: (No Creative software installed of any kind)

I just got a new Dell Vista (home premium). When I first plugged in my Zen VM, the little "connected" sound played, the Vision showed up in Device Manager, but the player wasn't docked. I unplugged the player, uninstalled the device, pugged it back in, but everything was the same.

What solved this was to reboot. The next time I plugged it in, device software installed, hunky dory. But I had to reboot it again after that for everything to work correctly.

The exact same situation happened when I plugged in my Zen Micro.

They both work fine now.
__________________
Zen Stone Plus 2g, Zen 4g, Zen Micro 5g, Zen VM 30g, Sandisk Sansa C240, Sandisk 1g silver
*all currently operational*
Reply With Quote

  #85  
Old 12-16-2007, 08:50 AM
Terrancelee Terrancelee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for the input, Wolf. I've rebooted my machine every time. Over and over and over. I'll just use it through my laptop for now and get rid of it after my trip.
Reply With Quote

  #86  
Old 12-25-2007, 09:22 PM
FLIPPO FLIPPO is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
Default

i would try this, but i cant get my computer to detect my player, my player freezez, im unable to do anything
Reply With Quote

  #87  
Old 01-06-2008, 06:28 AM
zenistheway zenistheway is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 13
Default

just a quick bit of advice on charging you can get electrical charger cradle for the zen or if you know someone with any earlier creative brand mp3's their chargers are compatible as i was lucky to have a muvo nomad with a power charger my zen installed no problems on my desktop comp. and work like a gem
Reply With Quote

  #88  
Old 01-13-2008, 02:48 PM
anjee anjee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Default

hello- i'm new to the site and i am having a strange problem. i have windows vista 32bit and it is finding my zvw60 just fine. the problem is that the creative mediasource software is NOT finding it. i much prefer this software to the creative media explorer (which i think is a terrible program but it DOES find the player). i have already gone to the creative site and reinstalled the software (says is compatible with vista) and have even tried the compatibility mode that takes it back to xp version.

any ideas why one creative program would find the player and not the other? thanks
Reply With Quote

  #89  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:50 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Hiya, Anjee, and Welcome to ABi!

Despite whether it is Vista-compliant or not, I do not recommend using it with Vista - simply because it steps all over the MTP driver that comes with Vista. My suggestion is to remove all Creative software entirely and use WMP11 - or, as an alternative, use MediaMonkey or WinAMP.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #90  
Old 01-20-2008, 12:27 PM
jmkeuning's Avatar
jmkeuning jmkeuning is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 603
Default

Sweet!
Reply With Quote

  #91  
Old 02-03-2008, 10:19 AM
carajean carajean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Heya guys im new here.

I have read through the whole forum and still am having this problems. Firstly I dont have the original cd for the player so when I go to properties with the ! mark next to the zen I dont have a driver for it.

I tried installing all the programs on the creative site with no go they cant see my player. I finally got a charge on the thing from a friends computer. On his vista rig he could access the files on zen pull drop drag anything. But on my xp machine I cant do anything with it and its only sometimes seen.

Also for some odd reason while its charging via usb I can listen to music, I dont remember being able to do that when I first got it.

One little note I wanna add is before last night I hadnt charged my little player in over 4 months.
Reply With Quote

  #92  
Old 02-03-2008, 02:26 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Hiya, carajean, and Welcome to ABi!

You've got three choices:
  • Upgrade to Windows Vista
  • Update your current XP installation to Service Pack 2, then download and install Windows Media Player 11
  • Check here for links to download Creative's software suite.
Personally, I'd go with the recommendation to update to SP2 and then update WMP10 to WMP11. It works quite well with the ZVM - nearly as good as it did on your friend's Vista system.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #93  
Old 02-03-2008, 08:21 PM
carajean carajean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Ok here is the thing I was already at service pack 2 but for another problem I had to install service pack 3 and .net 3.5 so im set there. I usually use winamp or foobar and I never mess with media player I will try updating that, right now. Yeah I may have to upgrade on payday.
Reply With Quote

  #94  
Old 02-03-2008, 08:54 PM
carajean carajean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you so much that worked GREAT!!!!! I thought I was gonna go nuts with this thing. Now im gonna update the firmware maybe that will help some how.
Reply With Quote

  #95  
Old 02-03-2008, 09:17 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carajean View Post
Ok here is the thing I was already at service pack 2 but for another problem I had to install service pack 3 and .net 3.5 so im set there. I usually use winamp or foobar and I never mess with media player I will try updating that, right now. Yeah I may have to upgrade on payday.
There's a Service Pack 3???
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #96  
Old 02-04-2008, 02:24 PM
carajean carajean is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 5
Default

yuppers been out for awhile now.
Reply With Quote

  #97  
Old 02-04-2008, 02:27 PM
XJ3F3Y's Avatar
XJ3F3Y XJ3F3Y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 311
Default

I thought i would of heard about this earlier!
__________________
Creative Zen Vision:M--->30GB100GB Finally Died :'(
Zen X-fi 32GB 8D
lol at my sig and avatar. my ZVM seems so long ago...
Reply With Quote

  #98  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:21 AM
broono83 broono83 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I have a problem with my vision:m 30gb. It was working fine, then 5 hours later became completely unresponsive. Wont turn on, screen black, buttons dark. I can plug it in using my wall adapter whereby the blue LED comes on SOLID, not flashing. I cannot turn on the player, I cannot reset it or access the recovery mode (when i puss the reset button, the LED goes off then comes on solid again as soon as i release it). When I connect it to the computer (XP S2, WMP 11) it is not recognised at all any more (it used to work fine). any ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #99  
Old 02-11-2008, 01:42 AM
Couplandrob Couplandrob is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Default Does the ZMV affect in Weather conditions?

Can the ZMV: 60 GB get do this after being in the cold weather? I was talking to my friend out side and it was freezing outside and when I got back in my car it was frozen and would not turn on (I had it off by the way) and then I tried reseting it, nothing.

I came home and tried to charge it and it was acting crazy and saying "rebuilding" and "Firmware problem" or something and then the problems hit-not recognizing, etc.

I've tried everything. If I'm lucky I see the blue light blink, stay on, the creative logo will show up but freeze and then get horizontal scramble lines if I move/tilt/plug in the charger from my lap top, sometimes it'll go up to the Zen Vision: M logo and freeze there with some scrambles. I worked randomly the other day and now it's back to doing the same thing. I press the reset button and it doesn't work.

So now I think there might be water inside it cause I don't want to take apart just yet.

Any ideas if this is due to weather?

I've had the ZMV for 5 months now and I bought it in Dubai, I don't think I have the receipt nor a waranty and I'm back home in the U.S.

Help in advance would be much obliged.
Reply With Quote

  #100  
Old 02-11-2008, 02:44 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

You would have to be in some insanely freezing weather for it to adversely affect the player's electronics -- I'm talking sustained temperatures below -40F. However, if you took that freezing-cold player into a warm, moist environment, you've likely got condensation problems now.

As for warranty, you're in the same boat I was in. I bought mine in Dubai, didn't get any international warranty, and took it back home to the US with me. Thankfully, I never developed any problems with my now-two-year-old player, but I was fearful for a while.

Your player definitely sounds like there's water intrusion of some kind. Your best bet is to leave the thing off, do not plug it in, and let it stand on end for a day or two so it can dry out .
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:24 PM.