android
  #1  
Old 05-10-2007, 02:35 AM
digger digger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default Alternative driver install & software ?

I am trying to hook up my V 4GB to my pc at work.
The pc has XP SP2 and WMP9. I assume that without installing the sw on the cd provided I won't be able to connect(or charge !) my zen V ??

I don't have admin rights so can't install the Creative suite of sw on the cd.

Any ideas on alternative sw or driver install methods would be appreciated
Ideally I'd like to be able to load music to/from the player - but as a minimum I'd like to be able to charge it via usb

Many thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 05-10-2007, 03:32 AM
Daytona955 Daytona955 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wokingham UK
Posts: 54
Default

You don't need the Creative SW.

You do need at least WMP10. WMP10 or 11 adds MTP support to XP.

You can transfer content using Explorer (an icon appears in My Computer) or via WMP.

WMP11 adds more (pointless) features - but also means the USB doesn't go quiet, so a Zen V doesn't leave docked state & you can't listen & charge at the same time.

Edit:
I think you can at least charge it whatever OS/application is running at the host end of the PC. E.G: I have an ancient Linux PC at work with only USB 1.1. If I boot into the BIOS screen, the USB has only power on it, no protocol happening at the host end. But my ZVP still charges.

Last edited by Daytona955; 05-10-2007 at 03:39 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 05-10-2007, 09:01 AM
digger digger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Are there any alternatives to WMP, I have version 9 but if I try to update to 11 it says i need admin rights.

Also I can't install the driver as I don't have admin rights
thus I can't get my player recognised. This is becoming annoying
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 05-10-2007, 08:13 PM
iamtheworld's Avatar
iamtheworld iamtheworld is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 90
Default

if u can get the player into "removable disk" mode you can charge it on any computer, anywhere... u wont be able to transfer anything tho.
__________________
players i own:
creative ZEN 16gb
creative zen microphoto 8gb
chinapod shuffle 512mb
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 05-11-2007, 05:49 PM
Daytona955 Daytona955 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wokingham UK
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtheworld View Post
if u can get the player into "removable disk" mode you can charge it on any computer, anywhere... u wont be able to transfer anything tho.
You don't need to set up the removable disk partition on your Zen V to charge it - even if the PC does not have WMP10/11 or the Creative SW.

I haven't got removable disk set up, and mine will charge off anything with a powered up USB port (including a powered USB hub not connected to a PC).

You don't need compatible SW on the host PC to charge a Zen V.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 05-11-2007, 06:52 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytona955 View Post

I haven't got removable disk set up, and mine will charge off anything with a powered up USB port (including a powered USB hub not connected to a PC).
really? as far as I know the Zen V only charges through a PC that can recognize it properly, or a wall/auto charger made by creative. it won't charge through ordinary wall chargers or a USB hub without the data connection. do you know which firmware you have by any chance?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 05-14-2007, 01:24 PM
Daytona955 Daytona955 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wokingham UK
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto View Post
really? as far as I know the Zen V only charges through a PC that can recognize it properly, or a wall/auto charger made by creative. it won't charge through ordinary wall chargers or a USB hub without the data connection. do you know which firmware you have by any chance?
My ZVP has firmware 1.15.03. It's an Asian version, as is my ZVP. However, I've previously loaded European FW into my ZVP, so I imagine Asian FW can be loaded into Euro/US ZVPs.

Here's a piccy of it charging on an el-cheapo 4-port hub, from here:
http://www.gsquared.co.uk/acatalog/Hubs.html
The hub is disconnected from the PC, but the ZVP is still charging.

Edit: And the PC was disconnected before I connected the ZVP up to the hub.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg zvp_hub_charger.jpg (59.7 KB, 3 views)

Last edited by Daytona955; 05-14-2007 at 01:27 PM. Reason: Clarification
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 05-14-2007, 04:30 PM
moto moto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 71
Default

ooh very interesting. i'm gonna give the asian firmware a try. i hope the FM radio still works on it.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 05-15-2007, 01:38 AM
Daytona955 Daytona955 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wokingham UK
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moto View Post
ooh very interesting. i'm gonna give the asian firmware a try. i hope the FM radio still works on it.
It does!

Now I have to add some text to get above the 10 character minimum post size
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 05-15-2007, 04:46 PM
iamtheworld's Avatar
iamtheworld iamtheworld is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 90
Default

is there any really big difference between us firmware and asia firmware?
__________________
players i own:
creative ZEN 16gb
creative zen microphoto 8gb
chinapod shuffle 512mb
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 05-16-2007, 08:28 AM
Daytona955 Daytona955 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Wokingham UK
Posts: 54
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by iamtheworld View Post
is there any really big difference between us firmware and asia firmware?
Who knows?

1.15.03 is only available on Creative Asian pages (others have 1.11.01). I loaded it out of interest. Only claim Creative make is that it supports Thai.

ZenChick wrote elsewhere that the European versions (denoted by an 'e'
suffix) have a limit on the output volume. I personally didn't notice much difference, but I didn't do a thorough test at all.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 PM.