android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen V

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 06-26-2007, 12:47 PM
warquerub warquerub is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: CR
Posts: 1
Question Did somebody upgrade his/her Zen V to Zen V Plus?

I was reading on different forums about people who is upgrading their own Zen V's to Zen V Plus... Is that possible? I mean, it is able to be done?

Someone in this forum did it already? How? What is need it? Did it works? Did the Radio FM option works?


Thanks people!

Last edited by warquerub; 06-26-2007 at 12:51 PM. Reason: I missed part of my questions
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 06-26-2007, 02:11 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Where did you see that???
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 06-26-2007, 05:58 PM
sandrejev sandrejev is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1
Default

I would be interested too. I was to clumsy not to read specifications, and now I am stuck with Zen V instead of plus version which was just the thing I wanted.
If Creative wants me to pay extra I will gladly do so too...
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-19-2007, 05:51 AM
Valdr Valdr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PL
Posts: 339
Default

I also didn't read the specifications for the first time and I bought the V version. The only way to upgrade it to V Plus was the exchange of the player in local store where I bought it the very next day. Sellers didn't make any problems with it and were glad to sell more expensive version. I just had to pay the difference in prices and got new player and a new warranty. But I dunno anything about changing your model by contacting producer, you can always try ...
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-26-2007, 02:43 AM
benetti32 benetti32 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 7
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warquerub View Post
I was reading on different forums about people who is upgrading their own Zen V's to Zen V Plus... Is that possible? I mean, it is able to be done?

Someone in this forum did it already? How? What is need it? Did it works? Did the Radio FM option works?


Thanks people!
It is impossible to get a radio by upgrading Zen V to V plus because Its about hardware. When I dismantled my Zen V, there were some missing parts on the main board, which are in zen plus.

I also tried to upgrade my player, but the only thing i discover is that when you create in zen v folder called "Video", player loads icon for it automatically and you cant delete the folder after this. But i dont have any video created by the creative converter to try anything other.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-31-2007, 09:09 AM
gordon99 gordon99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

What if i upgrade my firmware with Zen V Plus firmware. Then the videos should start working..
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-31-2007, 01:41 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Not possible. There are fundamental hardware differences between the two players. If the V doesn't have video decoding hardware, no firmware in the world is going to change that.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:01 PM
gordon99 gordon99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenChick View Post
Not possible. There are fundamental hardware differences between the two players. If the V doesn't have video decoding hardware, no firmware in the world is going to change that.
I disagree. Regular V can show photos, then it has quite good video card, because the photos look nice and appear almost immediately. So the thing is in software not hardware...
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-31-2007, 03:25 PM
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
Visiting troll from Pocketables
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Norway
Posts: 2,285
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gordon99 View Post
I disagree. Regular V can show photos, then it has quite good video card, because the photos look nice and appear almost immediately. So the thing is in software not hardware...
the sansa express chip have wifi and full blown video support if my memory serves me right... still dont mean there isnt other hardware parts missing which makes it impossible ever to use them
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-31-2007, 04:22 PM
gordon99 gordon99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Ødegård View Post
the sansa express chip have wifi and full blown video support if my memory serves me right... still dont mean there isnt other hardware parts missing which makes it impossible ever to use them
That is different subject and sansa is a different player.

I am quite sure, that Zen V has same video card as Plus, so it could play videos, but it dosen't have built in radio. Why the hell should take make absolutly different player,if it is sold only for few bucks less.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 08-01-2007, 12:56 AM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

You know, there's only one way to find out for sure. Try loading the V+ firmware on that thing. If it doesn't brick the player, let us know if it adds video playback capability or not.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 08-04-2007, 12:44 AM
iamtheworld's Avatar
iamtheworld iamtheworld is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 90
Default

i think i did read somewhere that creative would be providing a firmware upgrade that one would need to buy that could upgrade a v to a v plus...
or maybe i was imagining it.
__________________
players i own:
creative ZEN 16gb
creative zen microphoto 8gb
chinapod shuffle 512mb
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-01-2007, 09:37 PM
TommyZen's Avatar
TommyZen TommyZen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Italy
Posts: 1
Default

well, but the weight is the same...so maybe the hardware is the same too...

i dont know....very iteresting thing btw
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-03-2007, 06:23 PM
DJFliX DJFliX is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Talking

Hi! I have been looking in the creative firmware. These .exe-files Creative give you for upgrading consist of the firmware-load-part and a .bin firmware file (I think). I am going to compare the firmware .exe of the Zen V AND the Zen V Plus with eachother to find out what the differences are (and what part of the .exe is the binary firmware flash). If I can change the supported hardware tag (which should be somewhere in the Zen V Plus Update.exe) to that of a Zen V, this might work.
I believe there is no way of bricking the Zen, because of the recovery console thingie, you can actually remove the firmware from there.

I will post my findings soon, but first, i'll have a rest (sleep).

If there are any beta testers, please mail me at creativezenvf{at)flixite{d0ttt}com
Please be aware that any firmware I provide shall be used completely at your own risk!
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-07-2007, 11:54 AM
gordon99 gordon99 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 4
Default

Hope you will succsess
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-10-2007, 11:34 AM
crazaz crazaz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJFliX View Post
Hi! I have been looking in the creative firmware. These .exe-files Creative give you for upgrading consist of the firmware-load-part and a .bin firmware file (I think). I am going to compare the firmware .exe of the Zen V AND the Zen V Plus with eachother to find out what the differences are (and what part of the .exe is the binary firmware flash). If I can change the supported hardware tag (which should be somewhere in the Zen V Plus Update.exe) to that of a Zen V, this might work.
I believe there is no way of bricking the Zen, because of the recovery console thingie, you can actually remove the firmware from there.

I will post my findings soon, but first, i'll have a rest (sleep).

If there are any beta testers, please mail me at creativezenvf{at)flixite{d0ttt}com
Please be aware that any firmware I provide shall be used completely at your own risk!
Hello I'm new here. And want to buy Zen v or plus, so can you write to my mail do you success? Thx
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-23-2007, 05:28 AM
Snaak Snaak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
Default

So any news on the upgrading so far? I think it'd be really cool if it worked
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:31 AM.