android
Old 08-22-2006, 10:56 PM

Default Rockbox on the X5 - any pros for it?

I have no experience with either the X5 or with Rockbox. My X5 should be arriving tomorrow, however, and I see that Rockbox supports the X5. Has anyone used it? does it affect sound quality at all? I see on the Rockbox website that it supports gapless playback - does the X5 support gapless playback with the included firmware?

Basically - can anyone list pros and cons to using Rockbox on the X5?
If so - thanks!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 10-05-2006, 01:22 PM

Default Me too

I would also like to know if I should even try to install RockBox on my x5?

Old 10-09-2006, 06:49 PM

I'll put my hand up too as someone who wants to know if I should use rockbox or not.

Apart from invalidating the warranty, which is obviously a slight negative, will there be a noticable improvement over the standard firmware?

Old 10-19-2006, 09:59 AM

I'm in the same boat.

Here's what I've picked up so far -

While it can invalidate your warranty, if you can get the original firmware back on, you're fine.

It's not finished yet, but it's nearly finished. Some charging issues and the LCD add-on aren't finished. (As far as I know).

It can handle more file formats... I think...

Old 10-21-2006, 09:22 PM

Rockbox advantages:
  • Record to uncompressed WAV, up to 48khz
  • Gapless playback
  • MPC, AAC, Shorten support (next to the already huge variety the X5 plays back)
  • Browsing via ID3-tag or file/folder
  • Completely customisable GUI
  • Album art display
  • Games (including Tetris, Arkanoid, Pong, etc - and Doom!)
  • Full Parametric EQ
  • etc.
And a lot more I can't think about now. You don't have to lose the original firmware because of Rockbox, there is already a dual-boot option.

Best you read the Rockbox-FAQ.

Here are some Rockbox screenshots on the X5.

Here's me playing Doom:

Old 10-25-2006, 12:31 PM