android
  #1  
Old 09-04-2007, 03:58 AM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default Firmware Update

Hey Guys,

First post here at ABI, so howdy!

I want to update my ZVM (Euro) with the American firmware because of the volume limit. Creative recommended me to do this which I found quite werid.....

Anyways, on the 'firmware update tips' page it says I should back up all my media. Now is this nesscessary? Do they say just because there is the odd chance that they will be deleted? I know it seems quiet a silly thing to moan at, but I have 30GB on my Zen and only 20GB on my PC's HDD.

What are the chances of bricking it? I know there's always a chance when flashing but is it a common thing to happen?

Thanks for your time and sorry for the n00b questions

Reece
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-04-2007, 10:37 AM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Page

Hello and welcome to ABi!

Bricking your ZV:M with a firmware update? It's always possible, but very unlikely if you follow the instructions carefully. One thing to keep in mind: make sure your player's battery has enough charge before updating the firmware.

I did upgrade the firmware of my ZV:M more than once, and I've never had any problems.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-04-2007, 01:04 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

I have to agree with Almoxil that it's pretty unlikely that reloading your firmware will cause you to lose any files on your hard drive.

I'd also like to point out that what you need to do isn't upgrade your firmware, but reload it. An upgrade just loads the new rev on top of the old, while a reload removes the old first, and that's necessary to change from euro to US firmware.

So, in addition to making sure you have a good charge on your battery, you need to have the new firmware available on your desktop, and most important, make sure your ZVM is being recognized by your PC because when you choose 'reload firmware' from the recovery menu, it deletes the old. If your Zen isn't recognized when you plug it in, you can't load the new, and then your player will be bricked.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-04-2007, 02:34 PM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Thank you very much for your help.

But do I have to create a back up of my media?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-04-2007, 02:49 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Page

It's always good to make a backup copy when doing updates (after all, sh*t happens ). Since you have only 20 GB of available disk space in your computer, try backing up the important stuff first.

But I've never experienced problems updating the firmware of my players.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-05-2007, 02:23 AM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Hey,

I was doing some research bout the 'update' and found this guide:
1| Download the latest American firmware update (currently v1.30.02 download here)

2| Detach the Zen Vision:M player from your computer, and ensure that the unit is off.

3| Slide the Power switch towards the Power icon and hold the switch left in the Power On position.

4| Push the end of a pin-like object (for example, a straightened paper clip) into the reset hole, press gently and remove (this reboots the player).

5| Release the Power switch (to the middle) when the Creative logo appears. The Recovery Mode menu appears:

* Clean Up (Performs a disk scan on the player's hard disk, it will not affect music files)
* Format All (Formats the players hard disk - Note: all contents will be lost)
* Reload Firmware (Reloads the Operating System on the Zen. Select this option ONLY if there is a firmware available to reload)
* Reboot (Reboots the device)

6| Select reload firmware.

7| Once done connect the player to your pc and run the American firmware upgrade.

8| Leave it to do this (it will reboot, then rebuild the player - you wont loose any data, and voila all done).


Can someone just double check it for me, just so I know its the right process.

Reece
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-05-2007, 12:03 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

The procedure is right, but the latest firmware revs are 1.62.02 for the 30Gb and 1.21.02 for the 60Gb ZVMs.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-05-2007, 02:34 PM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

So when I press 'reload' my zen is not connected to the PC?

Is it often that media gets deleted in firmware updates?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-05-2007, 09:21 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

That's right, you can't really access the reset button to boot into the recovery menu with the dongle in place, so by necessity you're not connected. When you select 'reload firmware' it will start the process of removing the old firmware. I don't remember what it says exactly, but you'll know when to plug into your PC and start reloading.

As for losing files during the process, it's like everybody has heard some story about a friend of someone that it happened to, but nobody has direct experience of it happening. I'd say it's pretty rare... or a Zen urban legend.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:10 AM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Will it say something like 'connect player' or 'reload finished'?
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-06-2007, 08:13 AM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

I honestly can't remember what it says, but it's pretty obvious when it has finished removing the old firmware and is ready for the new. I don't think you'll have any trouble recognizing when the time is right.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-06-2007, 09:32 AM
klumsy bot's Avatar
klumsy bot klumsy bot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 820
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekuss View Post
Hey,

I was doing some research bout the 'update' and found this guide:
1| Download the latest American firmware update (currently v1.30.02 download here)

2| Detach the Zen Vision:M player from your computer, and ensure that the unit is off.

3| Slide the Power switch towards the Power icon and hold the switch left in the Power On position.

4| Push the end of a pin-like object (for example, a straightened paper clip) into the reset hole, press gently and remove (this reboots the player).

5| Release the Power switch (to the middle) when the Creative logo appears. The Recovery Mode menu appears:

* Clean Up (Performs a disk scan on the player's hard disk, it will not affect music files)
* Format All (Formats the players hard disk - Note: all contents will be lost)
* Reload Firmware (Reloads the Operating System on the Zen. Select this option ONLY if there is a firmware available to reload)
* Reboot (Reboots the device)

6| Select reload firmware.

7| Once done connect the player to your pc and run the American firmware upgrade.

8| Leave it to do this (it will reboot, then rebuild the player - you wont loose any data, and voila all done).


Can someone just double check it for me, just so I know its the right process.

Reece
No! Simply run the firmware exe file you downloaded from creative. You don't need to go into the recovery menu.
__________________
Need help with Zen Vision M chargers? DVD ripping?
Useful tools: Exact Audio copy to rip your CDs and mp3tag to organise.
SUPER to convert videos and music.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-06-2007, 11:27 AM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klumsy bot View Post
No! Simply run the firmware exe file you downloaded from creative. You don't need to go into the recovery menu.
Oh really?

Sorry for all the questions, I just wanna make sure I know what's what.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-06-2007, 03:59 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by klumsy bot View Post
No! Simply run the firmware exe file you downloaded from creative. You don't need to go into the recovery menu.
Sorry Klumsy, but that won't work for what he's trying to do. To replace the euro firmware with US, you have to remove it first with the reload command. Simply overwriting it won't work.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-07-2007, 02:48 PM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darogl View Post
Sorry Klumsy, but that won't work for what he's trying to do. To replace the euro firmware with US, you have to remove it first with the reload command. Simply overwriting it won't work.

Aw man. It sounded a lot less 'sketchy-ier' The only thing I'm worried about is wiping my ZVM whilst not even connected to the comp. You sure it will pick it up?
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-19-2007, 04:59 PM
XJ3F3Y's Avatar
XJ3F3Y XJ3F3Y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 311
Default

I'm from the UK and i followed all the steps about reloading firmware and i did it but when i went to update it the American firmware updater told me it wasn't connected, but the UK one did and the UK one also told me i was trying to put the same firmware on that it already had so i thought i must have done it wrong so i canceled it done it again and the same thing happened so i decided to stop trying but when i turned it on it said firmware issue or trouble or something like that so thinking i must have done it right this time tried again the American one still told me nothing was connected and UK told me i was reloading same thing so i just went ahead with UK one and it's the same as before. o well could of been worse i suppose.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-19-2007, 08:39 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rekuss View Post
Aw man. It sounded a lot less 'sketchy-ier' The only thing I'm worried about is wiping my ZVM whilst not even connected to the comp. You sure it will pick it up?
Sorry for the delay getting back to you Rekuss. I was gone for a couple of days and forgot to look for this thread when I got back.

I can appreciate that it's scary to wipe your firmware and then trust you'll be able to load it back on. You shouldn't have any problems, but there's no guarantee. Based on XJ3F3Y's post, it might be a good idea to have a copy of the Euro firmware on hand as well as the US.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-19-2007, 08:42 PM
darogl's Avatar
darogl darogl is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: wandering around somewhere in Indiana
Posts: 218
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XJ3F3Y View Post
I'm from the UK and i followed all the steps about reloading firmware and i did it but when i went to update it the American firmware updater told me it wasn't connected, but the UK one did and the UK one also told me i was trying to put the same firmware on that it already had so i thought i must have done it wrong so i canceled it done it again and the same thing happened so i decided to stop trying but when i turned it on it said firmware issue or trouble or something like that so thinking i must have done it right this time tried again the American one still told me nothing was connected and UK told me i was reloading same thing so i just went ahead with UK one and it's the same as before. o well could of been worse i suppose.
This is a new one on me. I've never heard of one firmware recognizing your ZVM but not another. Are you certain you downloaded the correct version for your player? There are several similar sounding versions on the Creative site.
__________________
Creative Zen Vision M 30GB
Ultimate Ears Super.fi 5 Pro
Sennheiser PX100
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-20-2007, 02:48 AM
Rekuss Rekuss is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Ah np Darogl!

I've decided not to bother with it at the moment, because the volumes are fine for me and I just want to have some fun with it.

Thanks for your help, I'll be surely use this when I come to flash it.

Reece
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-20-2007, 04:10 PM
XJ3F3Y's Avatar
XJ3F3Y XJ3F3Y is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: London, UK
Posts: 311
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by darogl View Post
This is a new one on me. I've never heard of one firmware recognizing your ZVM but not another. Are you certain you downloaded the correct version for your player? There are several similar sounding versions on the Creative site.
I tried it downloading and installing again and it worked although it still said it was putting on the same firmware as before which shows it doesn't fully get rid of it, but anyway that didn't make any difference i was still allowed to install. Sorry for wasting any ones time , thanks dargol for this help and sorry to rekuss don't not do it because of me seeing as it was probably down to something stupid like downloading the wrong one.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 PM.