android
  #101  
Old 07-06-2008, 02:07 AM
mankii mankii is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Reporting in...
16GB Patriot SDHC from Fry's Electronic ($50) doesn't work w/ my 4GB Zen. I will try 16GB ADATA (same price) next....
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #102  
Old 07-06-2008, 09:13 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
16GB Patriot SDHC from Fry's Electronic ($50) doesn't work w/ my 4GB Zen.
Interesting.... The 8GB seems to work just fine. Perhaps you should use the SDFormatter program to make sure it is formatted properly.

Quote:
I will try 16GB ADATA (same price) next....
The 16GB A-DATA card works good. See post 29.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #103  
Old 07-10-2008, 05:09 PM
bschuler bschuler is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 10
Default

KingMax 4GB High-Speed Class 6 SDHC Card works.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000OTCKVE

Bought the card, got it in mail, put in Zen and got the "NO MEDIA INSERTED" message. Tried the formatter posted here.. didn't work. Let it sit in Zen overnight and this afternoon I noticed when trying to access it "UNSUPPORTED FORMAT ERROR". Went home, formatted in Windows to FAT32 and now it works. So 24 hours later, working 4GB.

The crap part.. Last night after initial ZEN not seeing card, I was so pissed, I ordered a known supported 8GB.. so alas.. now I got way more space then I wanted.. spent more than I wanted...but I am still happy.
Reply With Quote

  #104  
Old 07-11-2008, 12:44 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
now I got way more space then I wanted.. spent more than I wanted...but I am still happy.
You may be suprised as to how fast you become in need for more storage capacity once you get used to using SD cards with the Zen. Maybe movies on the 8GB and TV shows on the 4GB.....
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #105  
Old 07-30-2008, 10:24 AM
twixplz twixplz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1
Default

Heyyy first post.

Anyway, I bought two A-Data 16GB SDHC cards and they worked right out of the package. I now have 36GB of storage and I still haven't filled them up, though I did manage to get one full (having 75+GB of mp3s will do that to you).

Last edited by twixplz; 07-30-2008 at 10:27 AM. Reason: i cnat spel
Reply With Quote

  #106  
Old 07-31-2008, 07:13 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Heyyy first post.
Hello twixplz. Welcome to ABI.

Quote:
Anyway, I bought two A-Data 16GB SDHC cards and they worked right out of the package.
Yup, I have a few of those. I confirmed that card worked here.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #107  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:05 PM
GetCreative GetCreative is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 6
Default

Does anybody know if a Transcend 16GB SD work?
__________________
Sony PS3 60GB
Creative ZEN 16GB
Creative ZEN VISION:M 30GB
Sony PSP 1GB
Reply With Quote

  #108  
Old 08-20-2008, 05:13 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Does anybody know if a Transcend 16GB SD work?
I believe it does. According to this person (last post), it works fine.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #109  
Old 08-29-2008, 11:51 AM
nrfuller nrfuller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
Default

This one would probably work, right?

http://www.amazon.com/Transcend-TS4G...0028435&sr=8-2
Reply With Quote

  #110  
Old 08-29-2008, 08:33 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

I'm not sure first hand, but have read here it does.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #111  
Old 09-07-2008, 02:51 PM
RogerTango's Avatar
RogerTango RogerTango is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 33
Default Max size of SD (SDHC) card on Zen?

I am using a brand name SDHC card (class 2) that is 4gb right now, works perfect.

Before I get another that is bigger... is there a max size for the Zen?

Using SDHC interface, I would assume not... but we know how all that works out! HA HA!

Thanks,
Andrew
Reply With Quote

  #112  
Old 09-07-2008, 08:39 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

Don't think there is a limit, but then again, I don't know as I don't have a 32 GB SDHC card!

Plus, there's a sticky http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=19975
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #113  
Old 09-08-2008, 05:03 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

RogerTango: Thread moved to SD Card Compatibility thread.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BobbyRS View Post
Theoretically, what ever current size of SDHC card (4GB+) is available (currently 32GB). Well the Zen supports SDHC so no matter what the theoretical storage limit of a high capacity SD card is, it should support some. Newer devices, like the Zen, seem to have better support for newer SD/SDHC cards then older non-SDHC previously released versions. Newly released cards and SDHC support is the key here, I believe.

http://www.sdcard.org/home
From here.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #114  
Old 09-11-2008, 12:18 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

The Trancend 8GB card is on Creative's list of supported cards, so yes.

As for the AData 8GB card, the 2Gb, 4Gb, and 16Gb have been reported to work just fine. I would be surprised if the 8Gb didn't work.

I don't see why either one of the headphones wouldn't work.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #115  
Old 09-12-2008, 01:51 PM
brambelmambel brambelmambel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Does anybody know if this 32GB SDHC Card will work ??



http://geizhals.at/deutschland/a360005.html
Reply With Quote

  #116  
Old 09-12-2008, 04:50 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

I don't see why they wouldn't work, but I don't know of anyone who has tried yet. I should be able to report back if they do or not soon.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #117  
Old 10-09-2008, 01:08 AM
BishopLord BishopLord is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snovvman View Post
I wonder if the Zen will support 16GB SDHC...
I bought a 16GB SDHC by Patriot. I got it for $59.95 at Fry's Electronics a couple months back.


Edit -

Just checked Google. It's $38.99 after rebate from ZipZoomfly.com and $41.99 from Newegg.com

I haven't checked the price of a 32GB, but if it's far more than double the price of a 16GB, then IMO, I'd buy two 16's. The 16 I'm using has plenty of space to hold hundreds of my MP3's and dozen's of my Youtube videos and misc file, as I also use the ZEN as a removable/portable drive.
Reply With Quote

  #118  
Old 10-09-2008, 10:42 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yes, some 16GB cards have been confirmed to work. I have 2 of the A-Data cards from here. Only $30.99 +$6.99 shipping. Not bad at all.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #119  
Old 10-23-2008, 10:53 AM
haddikazook's Avatar
haddikazook haddikazook is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Hi, all! I just joined your site, (although I've been reading the forum posts for a while), and I'm impressed with the helpful people and wealth of knowledge it contains. I'd just like to add that I've got the 4 GB zen player, and I've used the 8 GB Kingston SDHC class four card, the Lexar 128 MB SD card, Transcend 1 GB SD card, and the Sandisk 1 GB SD card. All worked out of the package with the player, and didn't seem to matter whether it was Fat 16 or 32. I have a Kingston 16 Gb SDHC class 4 card in the mail, and I'll post my experience with that when it arrives.
Reply With Quote

  #120  
Old 10-23-2008, 12:08 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome to ABI haddikazook. Thanks for the compliments on the site and posting your findings with your SD cards.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.