android
  #1  
Old 10-04-2007, 10:22 AM
Token Token is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 1
Default Zen V Plus - freeze during play

Does anyone have a Zen V Plus (or Zen V) and experience freezes like I do? It will be in the middle of a song, and all of a sudden it will just pause. This happens to any random song, and every day at that.

The screen shows the green Play arrow, but the times for the song has stopped. The only way to get it back is to double-click the play/pause button.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-04-2007, 07:44 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Post

Hello. Have you updated the firmware of your player? I haven't had this issue with mine, particularly. Does the music play correctly on your PC or a friend's player?

If you have already updated the firmware, you could try formatting the memory, by accessing the Recovery Mode (instructions here) and selecting Format (All). It will erase all media in your player.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:33 PM
spakman spakman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Default

My new zen v plus (my old one died on me, so I returned it and got a new one) does the same thing, My music files play fine on my PC, I will try formating it tonight when I get home and post back here to see if it does the job

im assuming that the firmware version is in system>information under version, if so mine is 1.20.02, is there a newer firmware in case formating it does not help?

Thanks
-Spakman
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-18-2007, 12:37 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

Not that I'm aware of.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-22-2007, 07:57 PM
RoboCuz RoboCuz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default Exact problem

I have had this exact problem. I have posted on the creative forum explicitly how I have been able to recreate it on multiple players, and have not had success with their support. You can find it right here: http://forums.creative.com/creativel...sage.id=203808
Please add to it, and let your voice be heard as well. I am hoping that someone, somewhere, convinces the software team a new firmware needs to be deployed here.

-RoboCuz
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-23-2007, 11:54 AM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

Have you tried installing the latest firmware, RoboCuz? Version is 1.32.01.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:43 AM
RoboCuz RoboCuz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2
Default progress made

So I have more information to provide. First, perseverance prevails! I eventually got to talking to a real QA person who understood what was going on. While I was able to reproduce this on both new mp3 players, it is not reproduce-able on all of them, not sure why. I did finally do an RMA and got a new player that did not exhibit this behavior, so I would recommend doing that for people having this problem. Additionally, I have returned my player specifically to the QA person that I have been working with, so they now have a player that can reliably reproduce this problem. Hopefully they will be able to do some work around in a new firmware, but who knows, it might be a faulty component in a bunch of the players or something. All I can tell you is, I have a new player that works, and they have mine that doesn't, and are looking into it. I hope this helps.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-12-2008, 08:50 AM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

Thanks for sharing, RoboCuz.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card Meizu M6 SP 8GB Zen Vision:M 30GB Zen V Plus 4GB iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 AKG K81 DJ Alessandro MS-1 FutureSonics Atrio M5 Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-11-2008, 12:27 PM
cooltd825 cooltd825 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1
Default

yeah, the newest firmware doesn't solve it.

i registered on this site in hope of solving this specific problem
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-12-2008, 01:42 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Perhaps corrupt firmware may be the cause. To rule it out, you can boot into Recovery Mode and select Reload Firmware which will erase the currently installed firmware (in case the corruption carry's over to the new firmware load). Then connect it to the computer to install a fresh firmware version. Make sure you have a good connection with the computer before doing this because if you don't, no firmware will render your Zen unable to boot normally (except into Recovery Mode). Maybe worth a shot.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:37 AM.