android
  #1  
Old 10-14-2007, 10:47 AM
Slydini's Avatar
Slydini Slydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 259
Default TV Out Questions...

On the Zune, the TV out feature provides a slightly different looking GUI. Worse yet, Apple's new touchscreen players only allow movies (not music) to be played on a TV.
  • Does the tv out feature on the Pilot provide a mirror image of its GUI?
  • Does the Pilot screen turn off in this mode?
  • Are all the Pilot features available when using the TV mode?
  • Can the shuttle controls on BT headphones be used as a remote control in TV mode?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-14-2007, 08:31 PM
covertrussian's Avatar
covertrussian covertrussian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 586
Default

I'm gonna go test that right now
__________________
-Insignia Pilot 8GB - Dead , Screen is not easily replaceable at all
-Cowon D2 16GB - The Pilot Replacement
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-14-2007, 08:37 PM
covertrussian's Avatar
covertrussian covertrussian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 586
Default

Well sadly, I couldn't even get the TV out to work ... I am using a TV out cable from Vision M. But I guess layout might be different?

The TV made a lot of funky noises, like static noises. The image did jump a bit, but I dunno if the player just had issues or something...
__________________
-Insignia Pilot 8GB - Dead , Screen is not easily replaceable at all
-Cowon D2 16GB - The Pilot Replacement
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-15-2007, 12:56 AM
Slydini's Avatar
Slydini Slydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 259
Default

Your Vision M definitely uses a unique proprietary format. Here's a link from Enzo that explains the wiring in more detail:

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/archi...mm-pinouts.php


I have no idea if the Pilot uses its own proprietary format... Digitaldel are you out there?
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-15-2007, 02:03 AM
Juny's Avatar
Juny Juny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 64
Default

Well, I don't have my Pilot yet and I don't have any experience with such cables but I'll post this up in case it helps the subject being discussed.

From the Manual:
Code:
Supports Video out with optional Dynex Model: DX-IPAVC
Which is this one:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1134703394661



Or like trunk posted elsewhere:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunk666 View Post
Meritline sells a similar cable for $6.99
http://www.meritline.com/ipod-video-signal-cable2.html
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-15-2007, 08:59 AM
covertrussian's Avatar
covertrussian covertrussian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Juny View Post
Well, I don't have my Pilot yet and I don't have any experience with such cables but I'll post this up in case it helps the subject being discussed.

From the Manual:
Code:
Supports Video out with optional Dynex Model: DX-IPAVC
Which is this one:

http://www.bestbuy.com/site/olspage....=1134703394661



Or like trunk posted elsewhere:



Thanks for the valuable info!

I wonder if the Pilot uses the standard camcorder plugs
__________________
-Insignia Pilot 8GB - Dead , Screen is not easily replaceable at all
-Cowon D2 16GB - The Pilot Replacement
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-15-2007, 10:48 AM
Slydini's Avatar
Slydini Slydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 259
Default

Quote:
I wonder if the Pilot uses the standard camcorder plugs
Judging by Juny's link, the Pilot uses the same proprietary cable as Apple's Generation 5.x video players.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-15-2007, 11:35 AM
digitaldel digitaldel is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 114
Default

The Dynex cable works on both Insignia and iPod players.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 10-15-2007, 04:46 PM
Slydini's Avatar
Slydini Slydini is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 259
Default

I say we all coax covertrussian to buy an ipod cable and make another great video on the TV Out features of the Pilot...

This cable from Circuit City should work:

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/NexxT...oductDetail.do
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 10-15-2007, 05:02 PM
Juny's Avatar
Juny Juny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 64
Default

^^ LOL....Ditto that!

Or....Since he like buying online the one at Meritline for $6.99.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 10-15-2007, 08:44 PM
covertrussian's Avatar
covertrussian covertrussian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slydini View Post
I say we all coax covertrussian to buy an ipod cable and make another great video on the TV Out features of the Pilot...

This cable from Circuit City should work:

http://www.circuitcity.com/ssm/NexxT...oductDetail.do
Quote:
Originally Posted by Juny View Post
^^ LOL....Ditto that!

Or....Since he like buying online the one at Meritline for $6.99.
Hahah how about I just open up a paypal donation thingy

Since this player does not want to play videos with VGA videos, I honestly don't even use the Video feature... I just hate having to spend time resizing everything etc.
__________________
-Insignia Pilot 8GB - Dead , Screen is not easily replaceable at all
-Cowon D2 16GB - The Pilot Replacement
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:00 PM
Juny's Avatar
Juny Juny is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 64
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by covertrussian View Post

Since this player does not want to play videos with VGA videos, I honestly don't even use the Video feature... I just hate having to spend time resizing everything etc.
You are so lazy! I hate you!! LOL......J/k
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 10-15-2007, 09:53 PM
covertrussian's Avatar
covertrussian covertrussian is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 586
Default

I am not big on installing extra applications on my comp... being a computer technician I like to keep my system clean

I might just have to install the software that came with the player and try out the features etc.
__________________
-Insignia Pilot 8GB - Dead , Screen is not easily replaceable at all
-Cowon D2 16GB - The Pilot Replacement
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 10-31-2007, 04:02 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slydini View Post
On the Zune, the TV out feature provides a slightly different looking GUI. Worse yet, Apple's new touchscreen players only allow movies (not music) to be played on a TV.
  • Does the tv out feature on the Pilot provide a mirror image of its GUI?
  • Does the Pilot screen turn off in this mode?
  • Are all the Pilot features available when using the TV mode?
  • Can the shuttle controls on BT headphones be used as a remote control in TV mode?
I would like to know the answers to these questions as well.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 11-02-2007, 10:53 AM
flood flood is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 9
Default

I tried the tv out on my honda pilot's 7" (i think, may be 9") LCD - I could not get the tv out to do a 640x480 movie even though the mediasoft converter would convert files to that resolution:
  • Does the tv out feature on the Pilot provide a mirror image of its GUI?
Yes - mirror image however - does not look that good 320x240 on an LCD - but is read-able. The movies look alright - but could use 640x480 for LCD type tv. I did not try on a standard CRT.
  • Does the Pilot screen turn off in this mode?
Doesn't exactly turn off - it remains stuck on the screen the enables the TV OUT - i.e. no menu access from the unit it self
  • Are all the Pilot features available when using the TV mode?
Apparently yes - but I did not try everything
  • Can the shuttle controls on BT headphones be used as a remote control in TV mode?
I don't have BT headphones so I could not try
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 11-21-2007, 10:22 PM
SaruNinja's Avatar
SaruNinja SaruNinja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Default

I was about to buy that cable...but then i tried this with existing cables
http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/ma...ideo-ipod.html
it works!
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 11-23-2007, 12:33 AM
Rockin_Amigo14 Rockin_Amigo14 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 79
Default

Dynex is another Best Buy house brand, in the same way Insignia is. It's just self-promotion. The Dynex cable is just your standard A/V-out/camcorder cable.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 11-24-2007, 02:39 AM
SaruNinja's Avatar
SaruNinja SaruNinja is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 75
Default

actually, they are different. That's why using a standard A/V Camcorder Cable won't work. The proprietary format (or something like that) is different and Ipod Videos and apparently the Insignia Pilot use the format...so then you can buy a 26 dollar cable.
ive tried using a standard A/V camcorder cable thing and it didnt work, but then i used what that article said (Putting the red plug into yellow, white into red, and yellow into white), and it worked fine.

i was about to buy one of those cables too -_-
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 11-29-2007, 10:53 PM
Trunk666 Trunk666 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: North Jersey, U.S.A.
Posts: 71
Default

Keep your eyes on Ben's Bargains. I got my cable for $4 shipped. Works like a charm. It's white just like all the ones I've seen advertised.

One thing I've noticed is that the GUI is pretty crisp. It's actually more crisp than the movies being played. It's almost as if it's outputting a 640x480 GUI, but upscaling a 320x240 movie.
__________________
-Andrew
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 AM.