android
  #1  
Old 11-03-2007, 11:06 AM
tadi70 tadi70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 1
Default T60 background noise

Hello,

Does someone has this .... background noise ? Here is how to reproduce:

1. put your headphones, connect them to the player and turn the player on.
2. everything is ok, no noise in your h-phones.
3. use the stupid joystick and put your sound level to 0.
4. now try to play an mp3, of course you'll hear no music but an annoying background noise. stop the mp3, the noise is here.
5. now switch to radio even if you don;t have a radio station tuned. the noise is gone!!!

the noise is more pronunced if you use in-ear speakers.

Is this a pb with my T60 or a common one?

Thanks
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-03-2007, 11:14 AM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

I'm not sure. You could try looking at this thread.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-03-2007, 07:20 PM
derf's Avatar
derf derf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 404
Default

I'll have to check and get back to you. I don't have any IEM, just my big Sennheiser HD202.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 12-15-2007, 08:22 AM
derf's Avatar
derf derf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 404
Default

I got some JVC HA-FX66 and I definitely hear a background hiss. I don't hear it with my Sennheiser HD202, even at maximum volume. I wonder if it's related to impedance as my JVC are 16 ohms and my Sennheiser are 32 ohms.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 12-15-2007, 08:36 AM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

Likely so. Higher the impedance, lower should be the hissing.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-11-2008, 12:33 PM
studo studo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default Confirming

Hi

I just replaced my old Zen with a T60 2gb. Firmware 1.03

And i get the exact same results on my in-ear headphones (Shure, Denon and Griffin), but not on my "external" Koss PortaPro.

So there is something generating a hiss, in the ever more popular in-ear type hedasets.

And it is not what the linked thread has ended up with, regarding to clicks, but a constant hiss in the background. Vlearly audible when playing music, and just turning down to 0, and then switch to radio to make it dissapear.

The music is played with great clarity all over the range, but that hiss is annoying. I will try to change MSC/MTP to see if that makes any difference, it should not, but one never knows.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-11-2008, 12:35 PM
studo studo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Default

And for the impedance issue, is there something we can do? i am not an electronics expert, but you might vey well be on the spot, Almoxil.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 10-11-2008, 08:42 PM
derf's Avatar
derf derf is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montréal, QC, Canada
Posts: 404
Default

It's been awhile. I've since gotten some new x3i IEM and I get the same hiss. The x3i are 16 ohms. Several players get that hiss (including Cowon players from what I've read) with lower impedance headphones. There are 3 solutions to this:
-use some headphones with a higher impedance
-use an headphone amplifier
-get (or make) an impedance adapter with will increase the impedance of the headphones and decrease the hiss. Make a search for "impedance adapter" to get moe info on this.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:50 PM.