android
  #21  
Old 01-20-2008, 06:14 PM
Narvin Narvin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torino View Post
yeah but... why wmv? is this better?? what's your opinion?
It totally up to the end user, but I prefer wmv. The reason for this is purely because its a widley used format accross different platforms, and with bluetooth its great to send a video of mine to someone else and they can watch it. To add to that SMS has conflicts with a number of important programs, I believe its just my current OS setup so I dont expect anyone else to have that problem.

Cheers,
Narvin.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 01-20-2008, 10:36 PM
dj_aj dj_aj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torino View Post
yeah but... why wmv? is this better?? what's your opinion?
i completely agree with narvin, in the end it is up to the user.

As i mentioned, I found this to be the quickest way to get videos playing on the t10.
Of the 1 time i tried to use samsung media studio, it converted the file but the video was unwatchable (it was very distorted). Not to mention that it took it almost an hour to convert a 10 min video.

Wmv 9 on the other hand is more universal and to some extent has better quality than .svi
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 02-05-2008, 12:40 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Default

i've tried MANY conversion tools (because i thought that the SMS5 was too ressourcenhungrig and slow) incl. the 'famous' (but $%&!) SUPER (www.erightsoft.com). none of them worked for the T10. not really. (and not even the instructions with the Windows Media Encoder 9 Series!). The T10 is simply too sensitive/sensible as to the specifications of the video. A slight deviation (e.g. framerate 29.97 instead of 30.00) and the T10 would give a 'File format not supported'-error).

then i gave up and tried SMS5. it produced *.SVI (WMV->SVI, and AVI->SVI) files, double large (file size) than the source files...but

1. it worked
2. the converson was fast
3. the quality is excellent

i am not going to waste more time on trying out other methods or tools. SMS5 does its job perfectly. No need to look elsewhere. You only get frustrated

(but let me know if you know an even better, smaller tool. Tested, of course!)
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 02-08-2008, 02:35 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Lightbulb SMS5-standalone vs. xmedia recode

...i found a pretty good small FREEWARE tool which does ALL conversions for the T10 (FLV->AVI, MOV->AVI, WMV->AVI, AVI->AVI, etc. : rename the AVI's to *.SVI). at its current development stage, it's not 100% perfect and stable...yet really worth a test. Some conversion results run, others dont, although the same conversion settings were used.
(Not supported: encoding Windows Media Video 9 Series (maybe in future?) )

http://www.xmedia-recode.de/
It is a small, user-friendly tool which can be installed on a USB flash/thumb drive and fired off from there.

I finally managed to convert a YouTube video directly to T10-format, working/running!!!

and...good news...i also found out that the SMS5 doesnt need to be installed. it actually runs from a USB flash drive, too, without prior installation (you dont even need DirectX 9.0c+...simply ignore the error message if your system doesnt have DirectX on it); let's call it SMS5-standalone.

The SMS5-standalone is the best conversion utility: the converted video *will* work on the T10, in best quality, and it is a FAST, error-tolerant converter. I tried to convert a 90mins-DivX-avi with it. SMS5-standalone needed 20.0 mins, and the xmedia recode would have needed 36 mins (but it crashed after 32 mins because the end of the video was scratchy, full of errors -- and its converted 92%-result didnt run on the T10).

i packaged the SMS5-standalone in a RAR-archive. simply decompress it with Winzip and run the SMSmain.exe and do your conversions.

Recommended!

In future, i will be using exclusively the xmedia recode tool. It is small, free, and powerful. And is the top recommendation software in the German monthly PC mag "CHIP" (edition 02/2008). Any German PC user knows this top-selling computer mag.
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:45 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Page detailed info on source and result files PART I: SMS5-conversion from AVI-source



see above the detailed specifications of my source-AVI and the resulting SVI (=AVI), converted by SMS5. For this type of conversion you dont need any other freeware tool. SMS5-standalone's preset for "T10" and "T10[MTP]" (see the pulldown menu) is:


the most important number is 1024 kbps. Keep this number in mind when you use freeware tools (SUPER, xmedia recode) instead of SMS5.
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:50 PM
sassafras's Avatar
sassafras sassafras is offline
Samsung Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Everywhere
Posts: 1,590
Default

You do realize that you just advertised the fact that you put porn on your mp3 player?
__________________
"Changed my mind so much I cant even trust it
My mind changed me so much I cant even trust myself"
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 02-09-2008, 01:56 PM
shinobi00 shinobi00 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 274
Default

lol, for some reason I've never put porn on my mp3 player. maybe I should.
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 02-09-2008, 03:12 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Talking

oh, please ignore the file and folder names, they are silly . it's not porn, it is no porn but serious bookware (and serious videos).

hehe.
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 02-10-2008, 01:52 PM
dj_aj dj_aj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 6
Default

SMS 5 stand alone...where'd you get that?

or did u create a work around to make that exe?

if its kool...can you post that here..provided the admins allow it..

thanks..
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 02-10-2008, 04:32 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Page a few conversion successes (non XXX ;-)

EXAMPLE1, conversion from RealMedia Video (*.rm) to *.SVI:
original source file: RealMedia Video, size=13.2MB, video=450kbps, audio=?kbps, excellent video quality!
seen posted on YouTube: FLV-format, size=9.52MB, video=?kbps, 57.92fps, audio=56kbps, bad video quality!
RM-to-SVI-conversion with SMS5: T10-format, size=18.8MB, video=~500kbps (the standard "1024kbps" would be oversized since the original is in 450kbps), excellent video quality!
EXAMPLE2, conversion from YouTube Video (*.flv) to *.SVI:
original source file: YouTube Video in FLV-format, size=15.2MB, video=327.95kbps, 25.00fps, audio=64kbps, good video quality!
FLV-to-SVI-conversion with XMedia Recode: T10-format, size=34.4MB, video=~1000?kbps, 29.97fps, excellent video quality!
Enjoy the examples!standalone: http://rapidshare.com/files/90783109...io_5_.rar.html
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 02-10-2008, 09:14 PM
Eka-X's Avatar
Eka-X Eka-X is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1
Default

Hello, I'm came from Thailand and this is my solution to convert any video (except DVD) to T10 (or any samsung's player)

First you need SMS5 and k-lite mega codec (download from www.codecguide.com)
install both to your computer and open "ffdshow video decoder" in start menu k-lite folder and setting ffd like this picture (this setting is in Directshow control)
ffd.PNG

If you want to convert FLV to svi
1. rename .flv to .avi
2. drag renamed.avi to SMS5
3. If SMS show this dialog (dialog from "SMSMain.exe") select "Don't use ffdshow. (always)" because I don't want to use FFD with main SMS5 (this dialog will open if you went to play video in SMS5)
ffdcom1.PNG

4. right-click and select convert file "renamed.avi" but don't try to view it now, just convert and setting video to your player.
5. It will open this dialog (dialog from "SelfMV2.exe") select " use ffdshow. (just this once)
ffdcom2.PNG

6. SMS will convert your flv file to svi via ffdshow.
7. Don't forget to renamed .avi back to flv for other program.

This solution work with all video with ffdshow support (eg. DivX, H.264 in avi format) and you can use any ffdshow effect eg. postprocessing to create better picture by remove square block artifact in video.

If you have a problem, try to restart SMS than convert, don't play or do anything in SMS now

If all process work well you can try to change dialog from "Self MV2.exe" to use ffdshow (always).

Have fun!

PS. Sorry for my english skill.
Attached Images
File Type: png ffd.PNG (47.7 KB, 56 views)
File Type: png ffdcom1.PNG (30.3 KB, 41 views)
File Type: png ffdcom2.PNG (30.3 KB, 38 views)
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 02-22-2008, 08:49 PM
poopooplatter poopooplatter is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
Default Can this be done to DVD's?

I tried Narvin's method on a DVD and it did not work. I also tried it with various different .mp4's with no success. I keep getting an error.

I just want the best way to get DVD's converted into a file format that the T10 will recognize and play. I care not whether it is .wmv or otherwise.

Thanks in advance,

Martin
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 02-23-2008, 02:28 PM
hashtowent hashtowent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

just download super from erightsoft

then take a video you want

as format you say "avi" the decoder is "ffmpeg" the codec is "Xvid/Divx" and the resolution use "320x240" fps= "30";aspect "4:3";bitrate i use "3000";activate "stretch it"(to fill the whole screen);


the audio setting:

samplingfrequency: 44.100/48.000
channels:2
bitrate: 128/169/192



now pull the fileyou want to convert in the box under "drop a vailed media file"

then only need to press start and if finished rename the *.avi to *.svi


it works great
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 02-23-2008, 04:27 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Default

sounds good hashtowent!
Hmmh, i cannot install the SUPER at home (my pentium1 hasnt enough RAM. installation aborted.) nor at school (i have no winxp admin rights. installation aborted).

Please could you package the program folder of SUPER into a *.RAR-file and upload it (SUPER "standalone"). it must include a file called "SUPER.chm", which is the help file, otherwise the SUPER.EXE wont launch.

I am not sure if SUPER works as a standalone (for use on flash thumb drives)... so we need to test it. Thanks for any help!
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 02-24-2008, 04:36 AM
hashtowent hashtowent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

so i do on my pc it hasnt got any registry entry!
it shows a warning ifthe pc is doo slow but you can ignorate this it would work very slow but it should work

here isthe link

http://uploaded.to/?id=tguoia
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 02-24-2008, 01:11 PM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by hashtowent View Post
so i do on my pc it hasnt got any registry entry!
it shows a warning ifthe pc is doo slow but you can ignorate this it would work very slow but it should work

here isthe link

http://uploaded.to/?id=tguoia
Dear hashtowent,
I downloaded it and decompressed it without errors. When i double-click on the "SUPER.EXE"-file, nothing happens. So, 'your' standalone version --as is-- of SUPER does not work, unfortunately.

ok, one thing for sure: the file SUPER.CHM is missing. Please could you search it on your HDD and upload that one too?

There might be even more 'hidden SUPER-files' on your HDD..

Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 02-25-2008, 07:15 AM
hashtowent hashtowent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

i seek a lot found a lot but it won't work dont know why may the is a difficult way
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 02-25-2008, 11:57 AM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Default

so you tried to create a standalone version (install SUPER_setup.exe and during the installation protocol the changes in/of your system, e.g. changes in the registry, hidden copied files to \WINDOWS\SYSTEM\-directory, etc., then gather all those splattered files and copy them into the SUPER-program folder, then copy the whole to another partition, then deinstall(uninstall) the SUPER, and then try to launch the SUPER.EXE from the other partition) and your version didnt work?

One day i'll have a chance to install SUPER and try to create a standalone version. working.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 02-26-2008, 09:58 AM
hashtowent hashtowent is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 76
Default

i know allready that super cretes a instal log in the temp directory! there are listed every data installed! but i don't know about the registry! and you have to modify the super.ini file in the directorx it says werde the important datas are stored!

may it help you
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 02-26-2008, 10:32 AM
placebo placebo is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 56
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hashtowent View Post
may it help you
yes, it helps (a bit), in theory. yet i still cannot install the SUPER_setup.exe on the PC-systems available to me, as explained earlier, so...it does not really help. Well i thought that you help me (e.g. by packaging a tested, working standalone version) unless you cannot help directly.

Thanks for all your help..
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.