android
  #181  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:15 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yeah the SD slot on the Zen is about as far away from being integrated into the OS or library as you can get , but if you don't need this and like UMS accessibility for your SD cards, it works fine.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #182  
Old 04-16-2008, 12:30 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

It seems to be the better option especially if you have the larger size player - sd card is then better for videos. Not so great if you'd like to expand your music library.
Reply With Quote

  #183  
Old 04-16-2008, 09:43 PM
Smitty Smitty is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 16
Default

I don't have a SD card to check, but what about playlist functionality?
Reply With Quote

  #184  
Old 04-16-2008, 10:15 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

No playlists off of sd card. The card is not integrated into the filing system and acts as a second drive. Sorry!!!
Reply With Quote

  #185  
Old 04-30-2008, 10:59 AM
bluefish bluefish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default Transcend 8GB SDHC Class6

Hi guys!
This is my first post and I have to tell you that this is one of the finest out there regarding practical and quality stuff about mp3 players.
My problem is that I bought 8gb Zen and 8gb Transcend SDHC card only to find out, that Zen wonīt read it. I read the Zen FAQ (very handy - kudos to BobbyRS) and I formatted it with latest version of SDFormatter. Now it runs smoothly in my SDHC card reader, but still wonīt show up in Zen.

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote

  #186  
Old 04-30-2008, 12:04 PM
nrfuller nrfuller is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 37
Default

Could just be a glitchy card, like the first one I got.

I would recommend exchanging it for another. My second transcend card worked like a charm.

Good luck!
Reply With Quote

  #187  
Old 04-30-2008, 05:00 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Thanks for the compliment bluefish and welcome to ABI!

Do you have another SD card to try in the Zen? I guess it is possible you could have a “glitchy” card, but then again, you mentioned that it works fine your card reader. So, I guess it is also possible that the SD card slot on your Zen could have issues as well. I would try another working SD card in the Zen to see if you get the same problem. Also, are you able to copy files to the 8GB card you have now using the card reader? I was curious if it even works correctly besides just being detected properly. I would try both of what I mentioned above before returning it for another.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #188  
Old 05-02-2008, 12:04 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

For more information on the SD card integration, please see these threads here and here.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #189  
Old 05-04-2008, 02:01 PM
bluefish bluefish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Hi BobbyRS!

No need to thank me - you really did an awesome job, so we thank you!
I tried 16MB SD card - it didnīt detect it, I tried 512 MB SD 150x card - didnīt detect it - so I guess the Zen is going back to store. Will report back once I get some response from the store tomorrow. Thanks for help guys and gals!

Bluefish
Reply With Quote

  #190  
Old 05-04-2008, 02:51 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default



Be careful with older smaller capacity SD cards. Many will not work. The Zen seems to favor and be more compatible with newer cards. So, if you have any newer ones, I would also try them in the Zen.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #191  
Old 05-05-2008, 02:47 AM
bluefish bluefish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks for the heads-up ... and, you were right. I tried Ultra 1GB SD card - it worked, I tried 4 GB San Disk SDHC class 2 - it worked.
So now I canīt even bring it back to store, because it can read those cards.

So ..summary:

I bought Zen 8GB and 8GB Transcend SDHC 6 - it didnt detect it (but the card is fully functional under win2k, xp, vista)
I tried 16 MB SD and 512 MB SD - they didnīt work either, but were ok with in camera and PC
I tried 1 GB SD and 4GB SDHC - they were detected and funtional in PC and in ZEN too.
Wow, it must be my lucky day!!!

Bluefish
Reply With Quote

  #192  
Old 05-05-2008, 09:31 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No problem. The Transcend SDHC Class 6 8GB card seems to be hit or miss with the Zen. The SDFormatter has helped for some, but not as much as replacing the card with another.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #193  
Old 05-05-2008, 11:59 AM
bluefish bluefish is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Default Problem Solved

Hi guys!

I spent 4 hours trying out every possible combination of operating system, order of operationes needed to perform each task and I have my final solution.
I formatted the SDHC card through Zen and then... it was readable in each device...even in the Zen.

So thank you for your help. Giving up is not cool

Another thing Im thinking now is how to import pictures to Zen when Im using win2K and I donīt want all pics be in one folder (e.g. like when importing from SD card)

Any takers on this problem?
Reply With Quote

  #194  
Old 05-05-2008, 12:03 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Don't sync, copy/paste (drag/drop). Use either the Windows Explorer or Zen Media Explorer and copy and paste all files/folders from the computer into the Pictures folder on the Zen. The folder structure will be kept.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #195  
Old 05-19-2008, 02:20 PM
mp.3.guy mp.3.guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default SD Card Shows as "Protected" on Computer when in Zen

Excuse me if this thread is in the wrong place, as I am not yet aware of where it should be, and have not seen my problem addressed when I looked.

Hears my problem in a nutshell:

I inserted my 128 MB Kingston SD Card. Went to the SD Card Menu on from the Zen and plugged in the USB. But my PC is not letting me copy over the pictures i want to copy to the Card because it says that the Storage is "Write Protected" and that I need to remove this protection in order for me to proceed.

Anyone know what this means? Did anyone have a similar problem?

Any help would be appreciated, Thanks.
Reply With Quote

  #196  
Old 05-19-2008, 02:24 PM
A.z's Avatar
A.z A.z is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Israel
Posts: 1,349
Default

You should see if the card is on Lock.
__________________
You got that rainbow feel...
But the rainbow has a beard

My Last.fm
Reply With Quote

  #197  
Old 05-19-2008, 05:00 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

and put it the Zen in removable disk mode before you can access it, but it sounds like what A.z said.
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

  #198  
Old 05-20-2008, 06:56 PM
mp.3.guy mp.3.guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A.z View Post
You should see if the card is on Lock.
yes you are absolutely right, thank you.

got more info on wiki. thanks lol.
Reply With Quote

  #199  
Old 05-31-2008, 06:43 PM
peteredmonds peteredmonds is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2
Default SD copy? TV-out?

Hi guys. I'm a new member and new user of a Zen so apologies if my questions have been covered in the past: In the Creative Zen (16Gb) ...

1. Can files on the SD card be copied into the internal memory when NOT connected to a computer ? ... I would like to do this in order to back up digital photos when I'm on vacation

2. Can the Zen be connected to a television for direct display of videos and photos?

Thanks very much for any replies.

Pete
Reply With Quote

  #200  
Old 05-31-2008, 07:22 PM
RCM's Avatar
RCM RCM is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: I'm not telling
Posts: 1,549
Default

1. Yes
2. No
__________________
Sansa View 16GB (DEAD)
Sony Walkman NWZ-S544 (DEAD has a mind of it's own and don't feel like fixing it!)
Zune HD 32GB (Retired)
Samsung Galaxy tab 2 7.0
Motorola Droid razr m
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 PM.