android
  #41  
Old 02-08-2009, 11:29 AM
digitalq digitalq is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 146
Default

Great info TDS! I changed to your recommended settings and even before I messed with the EQ it was like night and day. I've yet to try it out with the BT headphones, but I have high hopes that the changes will be positive for them too. Love the animated wallpaper in the service settings pages. Why not on the menu screen too? even as an option?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 02-08-2009, 12:07 PM
a_tumiwa's Avatar
a_tumiwa a_tumiwa is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Indonesia
Posts: 1,058
Default

same as TS, i dont feel that Sony Walkman as good as people said.
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 09-13-2009, 07:57 PM
georges25y georges25y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you so much Darkside for the DAC settings, they work great!
Is there still nothing we can do to fix the volume limit for french models?
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:13 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georges25y View Post
Thank you so much Darkside for the DAC settings, they work great!
Is there still nothing we can do to fix the volume limit for french models?
If your player has the EU volume cap, there's nothing we can do - sorry.
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:19 PM
georges25y georges25y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thanks,
Anyway I used to hate the way it sounded with the UE-11, but it still sound somewhat unamped to me. Is there any better sounding player, or should I get an amp?
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:22 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Ask in the Headphone Amplifiers (Portable) section of the forum. I use my players unamped, but there's bound to be someone there who'll be able to assist you. Just remember, it's the weekend - so be patient.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:24 PM
georges25y georges25y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Many thanks
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:25 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

UE11 you say? I didn't see them mentioned in this thread before. Anyways, the UE11 don't work well with almost any MP3 player out there. Way too low impedance, way too high sensitivity. The UE11 really need an amp to sound their best, and most amps suck as well... it's a dilemma. The Corda Headsix/XXS is the one I know that works the best with the UE11 so far.
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 09-13-2009, 08:42 PM
georges25y georges25y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Thank you,
Does the source still matter too much with an amp?

EDIT: Sorry I will move to the amp forum.
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 09-14-2009, 12:54 AM
jjrosaria's Avatar
jjrosaria jjrosaria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sheepland (NZ)
Posts: 956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Some people have dropped the treble to -7.5 with great results:
Bass: -0.0 @ 50Hz (default is -4.5)
Treble: -7.5 @ 15kHz (default is -0.0)
Depends on what you prefer.
This is my setting... Awesome sound.. its the best setting.. Believe me I tried every setting
__________________
Portable Rig:
<sony a728 8Gb, Sennheiser Hd555, Ultimate Ears Metro fi 200, Koss KSC75, Sennheiser CX400, CMoy amp
-Awaiting to buy an AKG K701-
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 09-14-2009, 12:06 PM
georges25y georges25y is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jjrosaria View Post
This is my setting... Awesome sound.. its the best setting.. Believe me I tried every setting
Shouldn't this be mentioned in the review or made a sticky?
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 09-14-2009, 12:16 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,061
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by georges25y View Post
Shouldn't this be mentioned in the review or made a sticky?
No, as this is his personal preference - it's the best sounding setting for HIM.
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 09-14-2009, 11:28 PM
jjrosaria's Avatar
jjrosaria jjrosaria is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Sheepland (NZ)
Posts: 956
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
No, as this is his personal preference - it's the best sounding setting for HIM.
Yup The DarkSide is right. Its my personal preference.. Experiment with your own till you get the best setting for you. As I had mentioned I tried every setting and that is the best for me
__________________
Portable Rig:
<sony a728 8Gb, Sennheiser Hd555, Ultimate Ears Metro fi 200, Koss KSC75, Sennheiser CX400, CMoy amp
-Awaiting to buy an AKG K701-
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 09-21-2009, 12:33 PM
GTR Mclaren GTR Mclaren is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 58
Default

put the surround option in matrix, the EQ in Unique (and the clear bass in +3), clear stereo and enjoy
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 09-21-2009, 01:55 PM
make_or_break make_or_break is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 64
Default

Interesting...as I've ranted in the past I think my A829 sounds great as-is, but I decided to play with the preset settings anyways. Problem is, the key-in sequence with the 5-way pad to get into the device's Test Mode doesn't work. I've tried it several times and each time my A829 doesn't respond at all, remaining completely oblivious to my attempts.

EDIT - never mind; senior moment. Tried it on my A818, got in the first try. Went back to the A829, tried again...got in. Think I neglected one of the up arrow/down arrow sequences the first time around.
__________________
Zune HD, Koss PortaPros/Senn IE-8
I rather have a Sig in hand than two birds in some dumb bush...



Last edited by make_or_break; 09-21-2009 at 05:24 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 09-21-2009, 10:33 PM
make_or_break make_or_break is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 64
Default

Observations: agree with the mod of the gain on the low end to 0dB @ 50Hz. Does fill and extend lower frequencies better. At the top end I opted to keep the gain @ 0dB, but shift the centering point up to 10kHz. For my old ears this seems to work the best; relaxes the upper ranges a bit and even broadens the sound a little. Image is still quite expansive, and now sounds even more preferable to the X I griped about previously.

From the comments in this thread, I never realized that the A72x/A82x sounded so harsh and overtly bright to people. Guess a bit of hearing degeneration DOES come in handy at times.
__________________
Zune HD, Koss PortaPros/Senn IE-8
I rather have a Sig in hand than two birds in some dumb bush...


Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 10-22-2009, 07:42 PM
paulypaul paulypaul is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 1
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by make_or_break View Post
Observations: agree with the mod of the gain on the low end to 0dB @ 50Hz. Does fill and extend lower frequencies better. At the top end I opted to keep the gain @ 0dB, but shift the centering point up to 10kHz. For my old ears this seems to work the best; relaxes the upper ranges a bit and even broadens the sound a little. Image is still quite expansive, and now sounds even more preferable to the X I griped about previously.

From the comments in this thread, I never realized that the A72x/A82x sounded so harsh and overtly bright to people. Guess a bit of hearing degeneration DOES come in handy at times.
I really like this setting. I am going on 50yoand dont hear much over 14Khz but still found the highs annoying on default setting. i dont go much for the "dynamic normalizer" as it just seems to compress too much ,but i do like to have "DSEE" & "Clear Stereo" on. With my Klipsch X5s it brings the vocals a little more forward and centre while still giving a great soundstage.
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 10-23-2009, 10:01 PM
Curiouss's Avatar
Curiouss Curiouss is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 1,196
Default

Thanks TDS! the bass is soo awesome now
__________________
gg
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 AM.