android
  #1  
Old 07-08-2008, 11:45 PM
rrc589 rrc589 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Angry Putting video files on Walkman NWZ-A728

I've tried to convert a few movies from .avi to .mp4 and the sound is always out of sync regardless of the conversion program I use or whether I match up the audio/video bitrates or not.

Has anyone found a foolproof way to do the .mp4 conversion?

I'm about to give up even trying.

I'm not confident anyone here will have a good answer either from what I've been reading on other forums. Also, does anyone know of any good video podcast sites where I can download and drop onto my walkman?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-09-2008, 12:58 AM
Marie Marie is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester. UK
Posts: 44
Default

Hi
I use winavi video converter, and its never failed me yet, perfect synch.

http://www.winavi.com/en/psp-3gp-mp4...-converter.htm
__________________
Marie UK
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-09-2008, 02:35 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

I've been informed that Jet Audio (free version) only converts 30secs of video. I'm linking to yuki's free program (PSP Video 9) that has proven to work w/the sony players (will work w/the Zune, and God forbid, ipod also). My apoligies to all.
Link: http://www.pspvideo9.com/
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-09-2008, 06:23 AM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=30620
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-09-2008, 07:31 AM
KnucklesNilan KnucklesNilan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frimframsauce View Post
Sorry, I understand I am new to these forums, but I have no idea what you have posted here..

Is there any way of putting the video files into the Walkman without Windows Media Player 11? I continue to get errors when I try to put the .mp4 files by either dragging or dropping or using WMP 10.

Any help will be appreciated..
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-09-2008, 11:00 AM
dr. zoidberg's Avatar
dr. zoidberg dr. zoidberg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: kitchener, on
Posts: 52
Default

If you have WMP11 installed you should be able to drag and drop .mp4 files via explorer. You can't drag and drop via windows explorer with WMP10 though

Back on topic though, the program i use is called Ripbot264 with a modified ipod profile. It's not really that easy to use but it is very powerful.
__________________
WalkmanMTP: http://code.google.com/p/walkmanmtp/
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-09-2008, 03:22 PM
rrc589 rrc589 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 6
Default

I got my movies to convert flawlessly with the jetAudio Plus software.

FYI: The Basic version only converts 30 seconds. You need the Plus (Full) version to convert an entire video.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-09-2008, 04:58 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrc589 View Post
I got my movies to convert flawlessly with the jetAudio Plus software.

FYI: The Basic version only converts 30 seconds. You need the Plus (Full) version to convert an entire video.
Thanks - it's really simple to use - but I was hoping to have you use a free prog that's simple to use, like the PSP Video 9 app. Most other apps require too much to get the same effect as these simpler progs do, including Jet Audio (easy to use).

Here is the Faq for the S61X/A81X series - the things that yuki has answered hold true for the A72X/A82X series also, just different measurements and capacities - including the video conversion app he's linked to.

Link: http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/showthread.php?t=22120
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-09-2008, 08:38 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnucklesNilan View Post
Sorry, I understand I am new to these forums, but I have no idea what you have posted here..

Is there any way of putting the video files into the Walkman without Windows Media Player 11? I continue to get errors when I try to put the .mp4 files by either dragging or dropping or using WMP 10.

Any help will be appreciated..
its a link to a thread where i gave tips on h264 video encoding for the walkman. the apps listed media coder and handbrake do both h264 and mpeg4 video for the walkman.

if you use those two programs with mpeg4 its quite easy, for h264 you need to change some settings because the walkman is pretty strict with the format. h264 has better compression at the cost of a bit of battery life. its your choice which format you encode in. play around and see which works better for you. encode speed are similar, both apps are multithreaded to take advantage for multicore cpus. and best of all both programs are free. encode using these programs and drag and drop into the video folder in explorer. works fine. just learn how to set these two programs up the first time and after that its quite simple. media coder also has cpu specific optimized executable if you want.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-10-2008, 07:25 AM
KnucklesNilan KnucklesNilan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frimframsauce View Post
its a link to a thread where i gave tips on h264 video encoding for the walkman. the apps listed media coder and handbrake do both h264 and mpeg4 video for the walkman.

if you use those two programs with mpeg4 its quite easy, for h264 you need to change some settings because the walkman is pretty strict with the format. h264 has better compression at the cost of a bit of battery life. its your choice which format you encode in. play around and see which works better for you. encode speed are similar, both apps are multithreaded to take advantage for multicore cpus. and best of all both programs are free. encode using these programs and drag and drop into the video folder in explorer. works fine. just learn how to set these two programs up the first time and after that its quite simple. media coder also has cpu specific optimized executable if you want.
Thanks.. I guess I will give it a try... I wasted about 2 hours last night, downloading various avi-to-mpeg4 creators or ipod converters mentioned on this forum and struck out with all of them, still getting the same error when I drag and drop.

I am fairly good with the Sony Vegas (7.0) program and took a good hard look at the sample video that came with the Walkman. I made note of the settings for that video to a tee... practically copying everything needed.. but no luck... in fact, no matter what settings I used to render the mpeg4 vid, the Walkman still won't accept the video.

Sony really should have made this a little easier to import vids.. I've got this nice little screen that plays and has a nice display for videos, but cannot do anything about adding my own at this point.. but I guess I will keep trying until I figure this out..., very frustrating.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-10-2008, 08:28 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

Might be a prob w/the player or your comm. Try on another comm and see what happens. All the progs that have been recommended to you WORK!!! It really doesn't sound like a problem w/the software any longer.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-10-2008, 09:14 PM
KnucklesNilan KnucklesNilan is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nywytboy68 View Post
Might be a prob w/the player or your comm. Try on another comm and see what happens. All the progs that have been recommended to you WORK!!! It really doesn't sound like a problem w/the software any longer.
Not sure what you mean by "comm", but don't think its the player..

I copied the sample video that came with the player on my desktop and deleted the one on the player...dragged and dropped right back into the player with no problems, so I would think that the unit is ok.

Not sure what to do at this point... really want to put some vids on this thing though, so I guess I'll keep trying.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-11-2008, 06:43 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KnucklesNilan View Post
Thanks.. I guess I will give it a try... I wasted about 2 hours last night, downloading various avi-to-mpeg4 creators or ipod converters mentioned on this forum and struck out with all of them, still getting the same error when I drag and drop.

I am fairly good with the Sony Vegas (7.0) program and took a good hard look at the sample video that came with the Walkman. I made note of the settings for that video to a tee... practically copying everything needed.. but no luck... in fact, no matter what settings I used to render the mpeg4 vid, the Walkman still won't accept the video.

Sony really should have made this a little easier to import vids.. I've got this nice little screen that plays and has a nice display for videos, but cannot do anything about adding my own at this point.. but I guess I will keep trying until I figure this out..., very frustrating.
i suggest those two because i've tried most of them out there
the two suggested work pretty well once setup. what matters with an encoder is that you can drag and drop avi and such for batch conversion and that it doesn't take a long time to setup. both pretty much pass this test. cept for handbrake with h264 you gotta copy paste that bit of settings into the advanced panel everytime you open the program because it doesn't save it. a small gripe.

i'm not sure why you are having issues with mpeg4, that goes smoothly with most software. its h264 that its picky about. mpeg4 at 320x240 at a reasonable bitrate below 7xx works. you only need 300-384 really..or even less. and lc_aac audio at whatever bitrate you want. i've never had an issue with mpeg4 from the start, only h264 got rejected for playback. no advanced settings fiddling required for either handbrake or media coder if mpeg4 is what you use

in handbrake you are using the low res ipod preset and starting from there right? hard to go wrong after that. it outputs m4v files when in h264 and that works fine. mp4 for mpeg4 i believe, its been a while since i encoded an mpeg4

even some pay software like ***** or ******** worked, but those had the problem of not being able to do h264 that worked with the walkman, plus they weren't free.

Last edited by frimframsauce; 07-12-2008 at 03:40 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-11-2008, 06:46 PM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

wtf it blanked out xili ...soft?
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-11-2008, 08:05 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frimframsauce View Post
wtf it blanked out xili ...soft?
It's commercial software - you gotta' pay for it - hence an ADVERTISEMENT! That's why it's blanked out.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-12-2008, 02:56 AM
frimframsauce's Avatar
frimframsauce frimframsauce is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 219
Default

oh, heh i'm not advertising, its lousy for the price, it lacks polish and can't do h264. pay software should be better than freeware, thats just a given. in this case it isn't.
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-12-2008, 03:19 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

True, true. I have Xili---- and I removed it from my comp - sucked!!!
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 08-19-2008, 07:36 PM
AFSlug's Avatar
AFSlug AFSlug is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Cochabamba- Bolivia
Posts: 26
Default

Download Winavi MP4 converter, i got it from mininova. With se-rial included hehehe
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 08-22-2008, 06:00 PM
babya's Avatar
babya babya is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 209
Default

I use iTunes and iMovie to create MP4 movies for use on my A815.
__________________
MP3 PlayersCreative ZEN Stone,Philips SA2845,SA6145,GoGear Aria Sony NWZ-S738F,NWZ-E436F, NWZ-W202, NWZ-B135F, Samsung YP-S2, YP-T10, YP-P2,iRiver H10,E10,S10,X20
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 08-23-2008, 07:08 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,037
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by babya View Post
I use iTunes and iMovie to create MP4 movies for use on my A815.
Same codec for both @320X240. I've used iTunes myself. I have an iPod Mini and son's got a classic - necessary evil I'm afraid.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 AM.