android
  #41  
Old 09-26-2008, 08:29 AM
Mycroft Mycroft is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 22
Default

I agree that this would be a useful function, but Zen doesn't have it. Not sure if other players do or not. My last player (RIO Carbon) you couldn't do anything with playlists from the player, had to do it all from the computer.

I think it's easier to make playlists on the computer. However, I have updated playlists on the Zen as follows - clear selected, then open the playlist you want to add to, making it your "selected." Then go to the songs you want to add to the playlist and "add to selected." Then "Save as playlist" and give the new playlist the same name as the old playlist. It will ask if you want to overwrite the original, choose yes.

Definitely not as convenient as the functionality you're looking for, but I think that's the best you can do on Zen.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 09-26-2008, 01:20 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mycroft View Post
II have updated playlists on the Zen as follows - clear selected, then open the playlist you want to add to, making it your "selected." Then go to the songs you want to add to the playlist and "add to selected." Then "Save as playlist" and give the new playlist the same name as the old playlist. It will ask if you want to overwrite the original, choose yes.

Definitely not as convenient as the functionality you're looking for, but I think that's the best you can do on Zen.
That's the same way it was on the Zen Vision M. Oh boy do I miss that GUI. Carefull what you complain about, Creative overall has a good interface compared to alot of brands. I've gotta jump through hoops to get playlists on the Cowon D2.
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 10-12-2008, 08:07 AM
Gee Wizz Gee Wizz is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Default Playlists

can anyone help ?.i want to make a playlist & add single tracks to it from time to time.
I have printed of the section within FAQ but,i cant seem to get around the whole album or complete list of whatever is being played being added to the playlist.
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 10-12-2008, 10:01 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Thread merged with main Playlist thread.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 10-14-2008, 06:13 PM
jenn_rc jenn_rc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Hey, I'm having problems with the Edit Playlist and Create PLaylist options in the Zen Media Explorer.
When I go to edit an existing playlist, an error message comes up saying something along the lines of 'cannot read/write to player'.
When I go to create a playlist, a different error comes up saying that it can't save the new playlist!

My player is definitely connected, as I can get into my music files on it, but I can't do anything playlist-wise, it's infuriating!

Please help!!!
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 10-14-2008, 10:16 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome jenn rc. Sounds like you could have a Zen Media Explorer issue. Make sure you are running the latest version (here; click AGREE to download). As a test, I would also try creating a playlist in WMP and see if it works that way. If it does, then you know the issue is with the Creative software.

Gee Wiz: try adding the one song by making sure nothing is in your Now Playing list before playing the one song.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:51 AM
jenn_rc jenn_rc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Thanks for your reply, Bobby RS, but updating the software hasn't worked... Any other ideas?

Sync-ing a playlist through WMP seems to work, but it won't let me add a song to a playlist if it is already on my player, is there a way around that other than doing it through my device (that would take forever!)?
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 10-15-2008, 10:55 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Did you try making and transfering playlist using another program besides Creative's? I would also just try drag-and-dropping a couple of files over to the Zen using Windows Explorer to see how the Zen reacts.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 10-15-2008, 07:26 PM
jenn_rc jenn_rc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

Well, I've only tried WMP, like I said, but other than that I haven't... Never used Creative's Media Explorer for anything other than the playlist functions... I don't know how to use the Media Player bit!
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:36 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Well, did it work with WMP then? Does a regular sync work with trasfering files over? Can you drag-and-drop a few files to the Zen? What I am getting at here is if MTP is working properly or not.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 10-16-2008, 04:31 PM
jenn_rc jenn_rc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Default

I could make a playlist through WMP, but if I selected tracks to add to the playlist on WMP, they wouldn't be on the playlist on my player if they were there to begin with.
Wow, I'm really not makig a lot of sense! Erm, Lets say I wanted to make a playlist called One, and I wanted to put the U2 songs Vertigo, With or Without You and Electrical Storm on it... The playlist would only add the songs that I didn't have on my player to begin with... Say I had Vertigo on there before I wanted to make One, it wouldn't add on to my player.
Is that making sense, or am I rambling? Sorry, I'm so crap with this stuff!
I can sync stuff through WMP, and I can drag and drop, it's a fault with the software (I think)... any ideas?
Thanks for your help!
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 10-16-2008, 08:19 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
I can sync stuff through WMP, and I can drag and drop, it's a fault with the software (I think)... any ideas?
Thanks for your help!
Well, lol.... lets see. How about I just tell you how I do it instead of trying to figure out how you are doing it and it not work.

Keep in mind, all of my tracks are already on my Zen. If I want to make a playlist, I begin adding the songs I like to have in the playlist to WMP's Now Playing playlist. Once they are added, I then select to save the playlist (as an M3U file) to a location within where WMP is setup to sync my audio files. Then I do a sync. Once the sync has completed, it then shows up on the Zen under Playlists. Tada.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 10-29-2008, 08:43 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Merged with main playlist thread.

I would first try booting into Recovery Mode and do a Cleanup. Then see if it continues to act in this way.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 10-30-2008, 03:05 PM
bakseetdrivr's Avatar
bakseetdrivr bakseetdrivr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: canada eh?
Posts: 53
Default

one quick question but say i use mediamonkey to put lots of music on including playlists, then drag and drop some differrent music files onto it, can i make a playlist with music from both sources (1, on the zen and 2, on the computer)
__________________
e260 w/ 4 GB microSD(rockboxed)
e260 w/ 8 GB microSD(rockboxed)
80 GB rockboxed 5th gen ipoo with iskin
2GB *Pink* Zen Stone with speaker + init silicon skin
Sony MDR-XD200 Skullcandy Smokin Buds
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 12-30-2008, 03:28 PM
NegroGigante NegroGigante is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default how add individual songs to a playlist?

I have a creative zen 4gb mp3 player n im not sure how add individual songs to a playlist when ever i make one it saves the song n the other songs n its catorgory n anything else i have make a new playlist can someone help me
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 12-30-2008, 06:06 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Welcome NegroGigante. Thread merged with existing sticky thread regarding Playlists. You may want to check out post 28 and the Zen FAQ sometime.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 01-07-2009, 07:39 AM
spider_darth spider_darth is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 93
Default Syncing Playlists - have i done it wrongly?

Whenever I want to transfer songs to ZEN, I'll create playlists in MediaMonkey and sync the playlists over. These songs can be either new songs or songs which are already stored in ZEN.

This method of syncing creates a duplicate of songs which are already stored in ZEN. As such, my ZEN has many duplicates of the same song due to the many times I've synced over the same song in different playlists.

Is my method of syncing incorrect? How can I continue adding songs which are already stored in ZEN to playlists and sync them over to ZEN?
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 01-07-2009, 12:31 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Thread merged with main Playlist thread. You may want to have a read through it.

Did you originally transfer/sync your files to the Zen with a different sync manager before creating playlists and syncing them with Mediamonkey? The Zen doesn't like to play well when more than one sync manager is used.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 01-07-2009, 09:51 PM
mp.3.guy mp.3.guy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 50
Default

Question:
how do I delete playlists without deleting the acutal tracks?

Clarity appreciated!
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 01-08-2009, 08:33 AM
laaapsta laaapsta is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 13
Default

quick question: is zen able to play playlists in memory card mode?
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.