android
  #1  
Old 07-15-2008, 09:50 PM
V3ndetta's Avatar
V3ndetta V3ndetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 196
Default Can Sansa Fuze use other chargers?

Well I have a camera (Samsung NV3) that has this charger that connects to the wall. I connect my Samsung USB into it to charge my camera, and I'm just wondering if you can connect the Fuze into it and use that as a charger.

http://www.myaccessorymall.com/produ...&categoryID=27
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-16-2008, 01:14 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

The voltage and milliampes might be on the low side.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-16-2008, 12:19 PM
V3ndetta's Avatar
V3ndetta V3ndetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 196
Default

ohh.... don't know what that is...but sounds like i shouldn't use it xD
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-16-2008, 07:35 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

If you stay around 5 volts(v) +/- .2 volts and 500mA to 1000mA, you should be safe.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-16-2008, 07:59 PM
dbpaddler dbpaddler is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 214
Default

a majority of the usb wall chargers will work with the Sansa usb cable. I haven't come across one yet who's voltage was too high. Most are made for lower voltage devices with out a big amp draw.

One easy thing to do is pick up one of those little charging stations. They're usually leather clad or wood and have spots for charging 4 or so items. Instead of using a bulky surge protector, buy a usb hub and just plug that in. You can charge anything you have with a usb cable then. You don't even need the station. Just plug a USB hub in anywhere and use it as a charging station instead of individual AC chargers.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-16-2008, 08:53 PM
V3ndetta's Avatar
V3ndetta V3ndetta is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 196
Default

lol alrights
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-17-2008, 04:49 AM
vygi vygi is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria
Posts: 386
Default

500 mA should be enough as Fuze is only using standard "High Power" USB connector specificated with max 0,5 A = 500 mA and will not consume more.
__________________
My European MP3 Accessory Shop -> DreamTimeShop.com
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-30-2008, 11:35 AM
Appletree Appletree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

I think you must use 1000mA charger. My 500mA charger doesn't work with my Fuze, but the 1000mA charger works fine.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-30-2008, 02:28 PM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Appletree, did you know that USB ports put out 500mA? What kind of charger is it? I have 500mA chargers and have not got issues on my Clip, View, and e200 series.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 12-02-2008, 01:17 PM
Appletree Appletree is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 22
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by advcomp2019 View Post
Appletree, did you know that USB ports put out 500mA? What kind of charger is it? I have 500mA chargers and have not got issues on my Clip, View, and e200 series.
Yeah, I know that. But my 500mA charger won't work with my Fuze, and it's so strange this charger works fine with my Samsung YP-U3. So, I have to buy a 1000mA charger again and it works fine with my Fuze now. Besides that, you have to switch ON your computer if you want to recharging your Fuze via USB port. Fuze won't recharge if your computer in standby mode. Actually, I'm not so sure with the actual mA output rate of my chargers. I'm using third party chargers. Maybe the actual mA rate is lower than the value which written on my charger's sticker label.

Last edited by Appletree; 12-02-2008 at 01:35 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 12-02-2008, 02:15 PM
Marvin the Martian's Avatar
Marvin the Martian Marvin the Martian is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: east central NY state
Posts: 10,569
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Appletree View Post
Besides that, you have to switch ON your computer if you want to recharging your Fuze via USB port. Fuze won't recharge if your computer in standby mode.
Someone here, can't remember who, said their computer would charge thru the USB port even when the computer is off.....mine, however, has to be on for it to work
__________________
Clip Zip 4GB, iPod Nano 2G 4GB, iPod 5.5G 80GB<-All RB'd Clip Sport 8GB, Cowon D2+20GB
iPod Touch 5G 32GB, Touch 4G 32GB,Touch 2G 8GB,2012 Nexus 7 32GB(4.4.2),Asus MeMoPad 8 16+64GB(4.2.2)
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 12-02-2008, 02:44 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,368
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin the Martian View Post
Someone here, can't remember who, said their computer would charge thru the USB port even when the computer is off.....mine, however, has to be on for it to work
It's computer-specific; some models (usually, newer models) are allowing for USB power even when the computer if off (reflecting how people are coming to use USB ports).
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 12-21-2008, 06:10 PM
kamikazewatermelon kamikazewatermelon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Default camera charger?

Can a Fuze or an ipod nano use a Kodak camera USB wall charger? They're brand new, and I don't want to fry them or something by using the wrong charger!

On the charger it says:
Input: 100-240V , 50/60Hz , MAX 0.2A
Output: 5V , 1A

Last edited by kamikazewatermelon; 12-21-2008 at 10:50 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 12-22-2008, 06:44 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Kamikazewatermelon, that looks OK to me.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-08-2009, 04:20 PM
gbbw gbbw is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 9
Default

Hi everyone,

I just bought a Sansa Fuze. I tried to charge it with a charger very similar to those you have mentioned here. The only difference with what has been mentioned here is that the output is 400+/-50 mA. These are its characteristics

Input: AC100-240V , 50/60Hz , MAX 0.2A
Output: DC5V +/-5% , 400+/-50mA

Is that the problem? I want to be sure before buying another one that will work.
Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-09-2009, 02:08 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

That one looks good. So you can try it. I just hope it does not have an iPod dock port on it.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread.
Headphones: JVC FX66B
Main Players: 4GB Sansa Clip+, 8GB Sansa Fuze, Sansa e280R with Rockbox
Backup Players: 8GB Sansa View, 2GB Sansa Clip
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 02-01-2009, 07:50 AM
DigitalNight DigitalNight is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Smile Zune Charger is Good to Go!

The 30Gig (1st Generation) Micro$oft Zune wall charger works on my Sansa Fuze.

At least some of the parts of my bricks (Charger and anti static cleaning wipes) work with the Fuse.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 02-26-2009, 06:53 PM
marksj marksj is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 20
Default

I have a griffin power block
input 100-240volts 50-60hrz
output5.2 volt 1000ma
will this work with the fuze?
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 08-03-2009, 12:03 AM
jackfuze jackfuze is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 1
Default

If it has a USB jack and you're plugging in your Fuze USB cable, it should work fine. I've used a bunch of different power supplies and most of them work fine.

The only one that hasn't worked only put out 450 ma. I don't know for sure if the low amperage is why it didn't work, but I suspect so.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 08-12-2009, 09:07 PM
notrigger notrigger is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 6
Default

i got an Ipod wall charger. Can i charge my Fuze with it, without any problems?

100-240V~ 0.15A (0,15A) 50-60Hz
............... ___
Output: 5V ---- 1A

thanks for the help
Reply With Quote

Reply

Tags
charger, fuze

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 AM.