android
  #1  
Old 07-20-2008, 02:44 AM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Unhappy cant transfer music to V plus

recently my zen v plus has stopped workin properly..
when i connect it to the pc it gets detected & the charging starts..
but i cant transfer any music to it... nor the zencast organiser,wmp or creative mediasource can detect it.
it gets charged but i cant tranfer music to it.
i reinstalled all the creative software but still i cant transfer music..
what do i do?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 07-20-2008, 12:25 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

How does Device Manager show the driver? Any error listed for it? Do you see the Zen V Plus under My Computer?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 07-20-2008, 08:36 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

zen v plus is their in the device manager under windows portable devices.. no error is listed for it..
i can not see zen v plus under my computer.. though i can see zen v series media explorer & when i open it ... it says "your zen v series player is not connected to the computer."
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 07-20-2008, 09:07 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

1. Boot the Zen V Plus into Recovery Mode and do a Cleanup.
2. Reinstall the driver.
3. If needed, uninstall all Creative software and try again.

How to re-install the Zen's driver:

1. With the Zen V Plus plugged in, in Device Manager, highlight the Zen V Plus listing and press the Delete key on your keyboard (which will uninstall the driver)
2. Unplug the Zen V Plus, wait a minute and then plug it back in. Windows will re-install the necessary drivers.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 07-21-2008, 05:01 AM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

already done that.. it still does not work...
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 07-21-2008, 11:06 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

So, you already have the Creative software all uninstalled? You mentioned before you can still see the media explorer.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 07-21-2008, 08:26 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

i uninstalled all the creative software.. then reinstalled all of it again.. do i have to try it without reinstalling the software
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 07-21-2008, 08:43 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yes, uninstall the Creative software and do not reinstall until at least until the connection problem is resolved. Once the Creative software is all uninstalled, try the connecting again to see if that helps. If there is still an issue, try uninstalling and reinstalling the driver in Device Manager like mentioned earlier.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:15 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

^^ done that.
it still does not work.... on my pc.

i installed the whole creative software package on a friends pc .. & my Zen v plus worked fine..
so i think .. this problem is only with my pc.. what do i do?
do i format my zen v plus?
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:22 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

No, don't format the Zen. The problem is with the computer. You confirmed it when it worked on the friends computer. Is the driver loading without error in Device Manager? If so, does it show under My Computer? What version of WMP is installed?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:30 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Wmp 10 is installed...& no error is listed in the device manager with zen v plus
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:39 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Does the Zen show under My Computer and does WMP detect it?
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:41 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

Wmp does not detect it & it does not show up under my computer...
btw , i use windows xp sp2.. i am just givin u info..
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 07-22-2008, 09:52 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

OK, now I would upgrade to WMP11 to get the latest MTP driver and Media Framework.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 07-23-2008, 09:10 PM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

installed WMP 11.
now my pc detects my zen v plus.i can also see it in "my computer"
whenever i connect my zen vplus..-WMP 11 asks me to update something so that my zen v plus works properly
should i do it? . i dont want to waste my bandwidth.. cuz i wont use WMP 11.
I will use creative media source.
& can i now install the creative softwares.. again.?
& do i have to update them or do something.. as i have heard their have been problems when creative media explorer is used with WMP11.
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 07-24-2008, 01:38 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yeah, you should be good to put the Creative software back on now since the driver appears to be loading without error and the Zen V is showing and being detected correctly.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:05 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

Just a note: Since you have WMP11 installed, you must download and install the update patch for Creative Media Explorer from Creative's website, as this will resolve compatibility issues between it and WMP11.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 07-24-2008, 04:10 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Yup, here you go. Thanks ZC.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 07-25-2008, 05:59 AM
tim_01 tim_01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 14
Default

thanx for all the help..bobby & zenchick

one more Q' to bother u all
when i "random play all" on my zen.. it seems to play the songs i have autosynced only..
it rarely plays the songs that i have transfered through creative mediasource.
Why does this happen?
should i format & sync all songs to make random play all work properly?
& why did my zen not work on my pc with WMP 10 but it works on my friends pc with WMP 10?

Last edited by tim_01; 07-26-2008 at 04:47 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 07-25-2008, 09:16 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
thanx for all the help..booby & zenchick


No problem; even though you called me booby.

Quote:
it rarely plays the songs that i have transfered through creative mediasource.
Why does this happen?


Mediasource is an odd program in general. I know that sometimes it doesn't like to really implement the changes to the files and just update its own internal database. I would start by verifying that the ID3 tags are correctly filled. MP3Tag is your friend here.

Quote:
why did my zen not work on my pc with WMP 10 but it works on my friends pc with WMP 10?


Well, to put it shortly. It isn't necessarily WMP10. It has to do with MTP and the Windows Media Framework within WinXP. Since WinXP doesn't support MTP natively, it can easily become "broke", so to speak. Couple that with poorly developed software from Creative and you can have recipe for connection problems.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:49 PM.