android
Old 07-28-2008, 11:51 AM

Default Details on recording via microphone

I've been using minidisc for some 10 years to make live recordings at concerts for personal use (AKA bootlegs). I'd like to use move away from MD for a number of reasons and the Pilot looks like the best device for my needs. I would use it with some Core Sound Binaural stealth microphones (powered).

How is the sound quality?
Can you adjust record levels on the fly?
Is the recording saved as a simple WAV file?

Thanks in advance!

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 07-28-2008, 12:45 PM

How is the sound quality?
Very good...and I'm VERY picky.

Can you adjust record levels on the fly?
Sort of...it's a little tricky. You have to adjust the level in the settings menu THEN record and see how the VUs respond..back and forth until you get it right. It's a bit of a pain, but it works

BTW levels seem to be best at just blinking the highest level indicator. 0-db seems to be just a little beyond that...that is to say the highest level light constantly lit..or close to it.

Is the recording saved as a simple WAV file?

Here are it's available recording formats:

PCM
"highest" 1536kbps (48Khz)
"high" 1411kbps (44.1KHz)
"medium" 1024kbps (32KHz)

WMA (44.1 KHz)
"highest" 128kbps
"high" 96kbps
"medium" 80kbps
"low" 64kbps

As a former MD recordist myself, IMHO you will not be in the least bit disappointed in the Pilot. It's highest PCM formating is actually BETTER than the PCM mode on the old HiMD recorders.

Oh...and..It'll make excellent recordings of your MDs too.

Old 07-28-2008, 12:54 PM

Thanks for the reply. I am really shocked and surprised to find such an ideal DAP that also records in uncompressed PCM!

Do you mean to say that once a recording is started, that you cannot adjust the record level without stopping the recording, changing the record level, and re-starting the recording?

How does the pilot determine whether it will save the recorded file on internal or SD memory?