android
  #1  
Old 08-02-2008, 04:45 PM
res res is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wairarapa, New Zealand
Posts: 41
Default Looping Connect-Done-Connect.......

A sorry chain of Microsoft misery led me to a situation where my S60 no longer would connect, doing that loopy thing where it connects then says done, then tries to connect again etc.

Keeping it short as I can, I'd been forced to do an XP repair install, this overwrote WMP11 with 9. I reinstalled 11 and that's when this issue started. What I eventually found was an apparent MTP driver stuff-up:
In C:\WINDOWS\system32
wpdmtp.dll 2006-10-18
wpdmtpus.dll 2007-4-18
wpdmtpdr.dll 2005-1-28
In C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\umdf
wpdmtpdr.dll 2007-4-18

The main driver wpdmtpdr was present twice, with a different file size and date! (fyi wpdmtpdr=Windows portable device media transfer protocol driver). The dates are everywhere too.

After various reinstall WMP11 and reboot and rename driver file combinations here is what worked:
- I renamed every single file above with a .old on the end to essentially remove them form possible use.
- I plugged my S60 in and while it was looping I reinstalled WMP11 once more.
- part way through the install - jackpot, my S60 is recognised and goes into connect state.

I now have:
In C:\WINDOWS\system32
wpdmtp.dll 2006-10-18
wpdmtpus.dll 2006-10-18
In C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers\umdf
wpdmtpdr.dll 2006-10-18

I hope this helps others, because there is nothing even vaguely about this issue at the Microsoft support site. We should NOT have to play in system folders like this!!!!

RES

Edit: I have since successfully reapplied MS KB93552 (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/935552/en-us) which contains the newest MTP drivers I know of. These are dated 2007-4-18. They are also included in Vista SP1 if you are a Vista user.

Last edited by res; 08-03-2008 at 12:08 AM. Reason: Updated for newer MTP driver install.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 08-21-2008, 05:11 AM
lewis269 lewis269 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 5
Default

thankyou you so much i have this exact problem, and had no help from microsoft or toshiba

i shall try it now
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-18-2008, 02:33 AM
play107 play107 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

hi there,

i have had this same problem for weeks now and after seeing this i thought my prayers had been answered, but this did not fix my problem , is there any thing else that u could think of at all????
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-23-2008, 08:03 AM
play107 play107 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

nothing
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-02-2009, 03:14 AM
play107 play107 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 9
Default

i thought my prayers had been answered;

i had reinstalled windows xp and my gigabeat was working fine again, how ever after a week later i plugged it back into the pc and bang!!!! the same problems again
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:15 PM.