android
  #21  
Old 09-19-2008, 05:41 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
No.Gigabeat detect that firmware were fail so it jump right to recovery mode.After I sent the nk.bin to the device again it can boot to Rockbox ,I can even resume the song that I play before I turn off the device so I think that may be the problem with the firmware ,are there anyway to bypassing the firmware check of Gigabeat? I use the Rockbox version that you send me.
It sounds like the install process was messed up somewhere. Are you on windows? Also are you on IRC or any instant messaging service maybe I can help step by step?
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #22  
Old 09-19-2008, 06:07 AM
chu tuoc chu tuoc is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 11
Default

I'm on windows.I can access to IRC and yahoo. How can I contact you ?
Reply With Quote

  #23  
Old 09-19-2008, 06:47 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chu tuoc View Post
I'm on windows.I can access to IRC and yahoo. How can I contact you ?
Go to the Anything but ipod IRC channel irc://irc.freenode.net/anythingbutipod my username is jac0b or jac0b|w
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75

Last edited by jac0b; 09-19-2008 at 06:57 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #24  
Old 10-04-2008, 10:27 AM
randominality randominality is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default

Can rockbox play videos on the S and can it sync with winamp?
Reply With Quote

  #25  
Old 10-04-2008, 09:06 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by randominality View Post
Can rockbox play videos on the S and can it sync with winamp?
Yes RB can play videos check here. I usually just encode them using the gigabeat F series parameters and they play fine. As for the winamp thing I would think it could, I manually add all my content.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #26  
Old 11-15-2008, 05:44 AM
tyip0217 tyip0217 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

hi all, I'm stuck on step 1a b, what is meant by the "bootloader build directory" and how do I run that command
Reply With Quote

  #27  
Old 11-15-2008, 08:38 AM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

In the gigabeat-s-b.zip file you downloaded has the bootloader (nk.bin) in it. Just extract the bootloader (nk.bin) to the directory where your "sendfirm" utility is and that is your "bootloader build directory".
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #28  
Old 11-15-2008, 01:28 PM
rvi rvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,
Thank you very much for build and detailed help!
I am successfully run your today(11/15/08) build on MES60V - PC OS – WinXP.

Unfortunately after reboot/shutdown player automatically go to recovery…
so I have to repeat sendfirm nk.bin process each time.
In a essence it I had exactly same issues like SHOU TUOC post#20.
Could you please let me know if this can be resolved?
Reply With Quote

  #29  
Old 11-15-2008, 03:41 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

First make sure you have the .rockbox folder is at the root of the drive. Then after you send the bootloader to the player safely remove the mp3 player but don't unplug it switch the battery OFF and then unplug. Once unplugged turn the battery ON and power on the player.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #30  
Old 11-15-2008, 03:55 PM
tyip0217 tyip0217 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac0b View Post
In the gigabeat-s-b.zip file you downloaded has the bootloader (nk.bin) in it. Just extract the bootloader (nk.bin) to the directory where your "sendfirm" utility is and that is your "bootloader build directory".
Am i suppose to use the sendfirm.exe to run the command: ../utils/MTP/sendfirm nk.bin
cause once I open it, it close automatically.
Reply With Quote

  #31  
Old 11-15-2008, 06:23 PM
rvi rvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Smile

Quote:
Originally Posted by jac0b View Post
First make sure you have the .rockbox folder is at the root of the drive. Then after you send the bootloader to the player safely remove the mp3 player but don't unplug it switch the battery OFF and then unplug. Once unplugged turn the battery ON and power on the player.
Once again thanks for great build! I am running latest .rockbox and loving it!!. Everything works fine including video, plugins, text...
But unfortunately I am still getting recovery screen upon reboot despite exactly following your recommendations and tried everything with sendfirm nk.bin including directly copy&paste nk.bin on sys partition.
Any idea to suppress/bypass recovery screen on MES60V?
Is any positive solution to post #20?

Edit:
Just found new bk.bin((12.8kb) http://audio-p.hp.infoseek.co.jp/nk.7z and used it instead of
gigabeat-s-b.zip nk.bin(76.8kb) - everything seems works fine & no recovery menu prompt on power off/restart.
Version of bootloader shown in time of load - r17497-0805.. version with in Rockbox sys info r18773M-08101.
Question:
Could you please let me know if this work around that somthing I can stick with?
Is any way to use nk.bin(76.8kb) vs found bk.bin(12.8kb) and suppress/bypass recovery screen on MES60V?

Last edited by rvi; 11-15-2008 at 08:19 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #32  
Old 11-15-2008, 09:06 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

If it works with that bootloader use it. If you still have problems PM me your yahoo id and we can figure it out over IM.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #33  
Old 11-17-2008, 10:38 AM
rvi rvi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Smile

Got it! Thanks! Do you know if I can enable radio on MES60V, install plugin perhaps?
Reply With Quote

  #34  
Old 11-17-2008, 03:30 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rvi View Post
Got it! Thanks! Do you know if I can enable radio on MES60V, install plugin perhaps?
I don't think that rockbox supports radio on the gigabeat as of yet. You can check the status of the build here.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #35  
Old 01-12-2009, 02:47 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Sorry I haven't compiled a build in a while my computer was down for a bit and the holidays (also been lazy ) but I have posted a build for the S.....enjoy
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #36  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:15 PM
randominality randominality is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default

woot i finally got round to installing it and ive now got it working
thank you so much for the precompiled build
Reply With Quote

  #37  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:25 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Your welcome
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75
Reply With Quote

  #38  
Old 01-14-2009, 04:42 PM
randominality randominality is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default

hmm except one thing
when i connect it to the computer the computer thinks it keeps getting plugged in and unplugged again.
Reply With Quote

  #39  
Old 01-14-2009, 05:07 PM
jac0b jac0b is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 136
Default

Are you on windows? Also try a different USB port.


Update:
I just tried it on my computer and it connected fine but I am on Ubuntu.
__________________
Player: Gigabeat F40/S30
Firmware: Rockbox Simple F Series Branch, Rockbox Simple S Series Branch
Headphone: MDR-V150 / HA-FX34 / HA-FX66 / KSC75

Last edited by jac0b; 01-14-2009 at 05:13 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #40  
Old 01-14-2009, 05:20 PM
randominality randominality is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 33
Default

im on windows and it just keeps plugging and unplugging
edit: nevermind, it seems to have fixed itself

Last edited by randominality; 01-15-2009 at 11:56 AM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 PM.