android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen Vision:M

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 09-22-2008, 08:29 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Angry I cannot add media to my Zen Vision:M 30GB

Please help!!! I have a ZVM 30GB, version 1.40.02. I tried everything all day yesterday but to no avail. Today I read some of the threads on this site, cleaned up, and hard reset my Zen. After it rebuilt, I have no music at all. I didn't want to reformat for fear of losing all my tracks and lost them anyway. At this point I am lost and need help!! Prior to the cleanup and reboot, I was able to play my music. Everything worked well except I could not add transfer music or rip cd's. Somebody please help me with this. I have not updated any software or anything other than what's stated above.

Stonegs
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:16 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Where are you? 1.62.02 is the latest firmware in the states. Are you in europe? Did you check the latest firmware and software updates?
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:27 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

I am in the US. I bought my Zen December 2006. I tried to locate the firmware for 30GB but only found it for 60GB
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:37 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Hello stonegs. Welcome. What happened to your ZVM to cause you to do a Cleanup and Reset? Try booting back into Recovery Mode and doing a Cleanup again. After the Cleanup, select Reboot from the menu.

Try selecting the ZVM 30GB here.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:42 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

While exploring my player, it shows that I have 915MB used and 27GB free. However, nothing shows on the player. It shows all tracks and playlists are empty. Where are my files?
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 09-22-2008, 09:50 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

Hello BobbyRS.

I have already completed those procedures twice with no luck. Thanks for the link. I will visit the site and see if I have any luck.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:00 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

If you have already tried this process again (not selecting the Reset button) and it doesn't work, I would suggest following the link I posted above to download the latest firmware to install on the ZVM.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:00 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Yes hello BobbyRS(AKA the answer man). OP is pretty far back on firmware and probably media explorer. Sounds to me like the players wiped clean. How old is this player, and have you changed anything on your computer recently and has it worked on this computer before?
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:18 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

No9,

I have not changed anything on my my player since I have had it. I have been using Windows XP Media Center, 2002, service pack 3 and haven't had any problems. I recently purchase a Dell Inspirion 1525 laptop, Windows Vista Premium. I tried to transfer music and rip cds from it also but with no luck. I also used the explorer sync manager but no files were downloaded. I will visit the link BobbyRS sent and try to download the latest firmware. Not sure about installing it but will give it my best shot. Thanks guys.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:25 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

It's pretty easy and I think they give you a walk through. If I remember right you connect the player and run the firmware file and it installs. It's been awile but when I first got it I figured it out and it wasn't to hard. Keep me posted
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 09-22-2008, 10:32 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks no9 and thank you too BobbyRS. If it doesn't work on one computer, I'll try the other. Appreciate the assistance and trust me, this persistent lady will keep you posted if I have any more questions or problems.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 09-23-2008, 08:19 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no9 View Post
Yes hello BobbyRS(AKA the answer man).


Quote:
Originally Posted by stonegs View Post
Thanks no9 and thank you too BobbyRS.
No problem.

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonegs View Post
If it doesn't work on one computer, I'll try the other.
Good idea. Let us know....
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 09-23-2008, 11:35 PM
stonegs stonegs is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: US
Posts: 8
Default

Hello No9 and BobbyRS, I am back in business. After I updated the firmware, rebooted and reformatted, I was able to transfer music and rip cd's. I did save my files on my computer at work but for some reason they were not there today. I really don't know what happened since I had such a bad day yesterday. Any way, I will start to transfer and rip some of the 2,380 tunes I had on my Zen. Once again, thanks for your help and have a great night!
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 09-24-2008, 12:11 AM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Glad it worked out. Aren't you glad you became a member?
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 09-24-2008, 08:03 AM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stonegs View Post
Hello No9 and BobbyRS, I am back in business. After I updated the firmware, rebooted and reformatted, I was able to transfer music and rip cd's. I did save my files on my computer at work but for some reason they were not there today. I really don't know what happened since I had such a bad day yesterday. Any way, I will start to transfer and rip some of the 2,380 tunes I had on my Zen. Once again, thanks for your help and have a great night!
Yes, good to hear. Good job! I would make sure I had a back-up in case something like this was to ever happen again. That is a lot of music to have to deal with losing.
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 09-24-2008, 12:17 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

+1 on the back-up I back it up on the computer and DVD and external hard drive. Coming from a stupid man who has loaded and reloaded players with 4,000+ songs many times, Its worth the extra time and money to not have to spend hours doing what your doing right now.
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 09-24-2008, 01:06 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by no9 View Post
4,000+ songs
Sounds like my collection. 4300+ and counting....
__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 09-24-2008, 01:18 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

I know how stonegs feels I just got another 6g's and decided after changing to 3.xx on the D2 and formatting the memory that it was the perfect time (by perfect time I mean by no choice of my own I have to)to go through all my music and add the good stuff. Good thing I have the SD card so this won't happen again. I need a bigger HD on my external
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 09-24-2008, 02:54 PM
BobbyRS's Avatar
BobbyRS BobbyRS is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 6,575
Default

"To go forward, you must backup." — Cardinal rule of computing.

__________________
.
~Light travels faster than sound, which is why some people appear to be bright until they speak~

Zen FAQ
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 09-24-2008, 03:28 PM
no9's Avatar
no9 no9 is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 1,098
Default

Yes, Yes... But if I don't do this every once in a while it just becomes stagnate. So wipe not the smile from my face.
__________________
Cowon S9,Sansa Clip+,
Sansa Fuze,Westone UM2,Altec Lansing UHP336
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.