android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Cowon iAudio > Cowon O2

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 12-11-2008, 01:12 AM
emonk emonk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default

I have the O2 black version here - I took it from the shop I work at for reviewing.

1. the screen is not OLED, it's most certainly LCD. OLED does not change its colours when you look at it from the side... Also, the resolution is low compared to the A3 or the Archos 605. But not all is bad: the screen is very sharp for 480x272, the colours are very good and it's very bright.

2. this is the first time I see a Cowon player with a nice user interface. In firmware 1.11 it even has some gesture recognition which works well. As opposed to the preview, the touch screen seems responsive.

3. In firmware 1.11 playback does seem smoother - actually it's perfectly smooth now with an XviD/mp3 file. Unfortunately I didn't test 720p content and video out.

4. Audio quality: I own a 16GB D2 with Sennheiser CX95. OK, I know it's not exactly audiophile quality earbuds, but it's well above what 90% of our customers get. In any case, the D2 and O2 apparenly sound very similar, which is not surprising, and certainly a good thing. Sorry, I just love my D2

5. I don't think this is a player just for "Cowon fans". It really has an ellegant UI, nice exterior design, well implemented features and sells for a fair price (at least here in Israel).

I will do my best to promote it.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 12-12-2008, 01:32 AM
sprockkets sprockkets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Default

True, the S9 will have the AMOLED screen. The O2 was always LCD.
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 12-16-2008, 02:08 PM
Samage89 Samage89 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cheshire, UK
Posts: 96
Default

1.Is their any popular video/audio formats unsupported.
2.Is reading off the SD card seamless (I like to shuffle play).
3.What is the best video format to avoid de-syncing.

Finally, 4.Is it worth it over the S9.
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 12-16-2008, 11:06 PM
sprockkets sprockkets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Default

1. It seems to support at least MPEG4 AVC Simple profile and everything below it.
2. Dfkt can answer that.
3. That depends. Xvid never de-syncs on me on my D2 when the source was properly synced to begin with.
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 12-17-2008, 06:08 PM
cukee cukee is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 11
Default testing mkv movies format

I have a bunch movies in kmv format. I wonder it will work on the O2, cause I will buy it if it support kmv format. The movie is small, around 400mb, VGA resolution. Can anybody test it if it work, and does it look good on 4.3 screen. The movie is your to keep. its my token. Thanks in advance



http://www.adrive.com/public/13f971c...9e4003df2.html
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 12-17-2008, 06:38 PM
sprockkets sprockkets is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 23
Default

It will work if it was encoded at the SP level, aka no CABAC, no B frames (adding b frames from the SP level is the extended level), no deblocking filter, no transforms and such. If it was encoded any higher, it will stutter. Dfkt tested this already with me.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 12-18-2008, 07:16 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samage89 View Post
1.Is their any popular video/audio formats unsupported.
2.Is reading off the SD card seamless (I like to shuffle play).
3.What is the best video format to avoid de-syncing.

Finally, 4.Is it worth it over the S9.
1.) MPEG2/VOB/DVD, RM/RMVB, MOV, FLV
2.) The SD card doesn't integrate with the internal memory at all, but you can shuffle it.
3.) As usual, standard AVI/WMV (non-HD) works the best, advanced MPEG4 features like QPEL or GMC work as well.
4.) Only you can tell.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 12-22-2008, 03:12 AM
Nujabez's Avatar
Nujabez Nujabez is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 31
Default

In the cowon a2 if you had a video playing and if you were to go back to the main menu or any other menu the video would still be playing in the background like a wallpaper. Does the cowon o2 do the same thing?
__________________
MP3 Players I own now: Cowon A2 & Iriver Clix(deceased), Cowon O2, Headphones I own: ATH-ES7, V-ModaVibes
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 12-22-2008, 06:28 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nujabez View Post
In the cowon a2 if you had a video playing and if you were to go back to the main menu or any other menu the video would still be playing in the background like a wallpaper. Does the cowon o2 do the same thing?
Yes.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 12-22-2008, 05:03 PM
Yosh70 Yosh70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Saskatchewan
Posts: 15
Default

Does anyone have an easy way to convert a MOV file to the O2? I took a small clip from my Pana digital camera and Gom encoder did a nice job converting it to AVI but of course, no sound. 8 bit audio seems to be the problem.
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 12-22-2008, 05:26 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Try SUPER.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 12-22-2008, 11:50 PM
cubanresourceful cubanresourceful is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 79
Default

I am wondering, how is the review coming along.
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 01-03-2009, 05:18 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

It will be finished soon. I'm having a really hard time being enthusiastic about something as flawed as the O2. My apologies for taking so long.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 01-03-2009, 07:53 PM
affainyi affainyi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 29
Default

take your time....hasty and flawed reviews do no one any good
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:55 PM
BananaQuaalude BananaQuaalude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default Compatibility with Canon

I have downloaded the O2 manual, but it seems pretty basic on information. I would like to add a few questions to the list:

1) Can I hook my Canon Rebel XSI directly to the O2 and download pics, including Canon's RAW format, right from the camera, as the Cowon Q5W can supposedly do? (I've never owned or seen a Cowon, just read online reviews)

2) Can I transfer pictures from an SD card via the card slot to the O2?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 01-04-2009, 01:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

1) No, there is no USB-on-the-go. You can't do anything with USB devices or CF cards, only SD cards. Furthermore, the Canons use the awful PTP protocol, not standard MSC.
2) Yes.

So basically no, you can't use it as an image tank for a camera that uses CF cards. (I got an EOS 40D, and I'd love that feature.)
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:45 PM
BananaQuaalude BananaQuaalude is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thanks dfkt-

The Canon XSI uses SD memory, so I could just pop it out and transfer pictures.

As soon as they release a 128 GB SSD version of the O2 I might get one!
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 01-05-2009, 03:53 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Oh, I didn't know the EOS 450D uses SD cards... good news for you then.

They certainly won't release a SSD version of the O2, and I doubt we even will see a 64GB flash version soon, if at all.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:21 PM
Tario70 Tario70 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 15
Talking Zen Vision W Replacement?

dfkt,

So if I was someone who wanted this device as a replacement for the Zen Vision W, would this be a good fit? As I've said before dfkt, my Zen Vision W hard drive failed for the umpteenth time & I'm hurting without a player.

The biggest problem is the lack of playlist support & the inability of the player to merge the file list from the SD card with internal memory. What are the chances, given Cowon's history, that these 2 wrongs will be righted through firmware updates?

Thanks again dfkt, I can't wait for the review.

~Tario70

Last edited by Tario70; 01-05-2009 at 07:22 PM. Reason: Spelling
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 01-05-2009, 07:25 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

The chances of bug fixes are there with Cowon, but nobody can tell you how fast they react. They do work out some flaws in general, that's their modus operandi, contrary to other companies. But they're very slow in general.

I hope they get their act together...
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.