android
Old 11-23-2008, 08:55 AM

Default I got sea water in my Zen and now its dead!

I fell over and the beach and got water in my Zen. I dried it out over a few days and tried to reboot it but to no avail. I charged it but it doesnt hold the charge and its developed a clicking. From what Ive found out, the clicking indicates that the hard drive is knackered? When powered up, it gets to the Zen screen and thats it. I tried the recovery mode to no avail either. It doesnt turn off either on the switch so I have to wait for the battery to die before it shuts down.

Im not technically minded with electronics at all so fixing it myself is a no-no. I got the player on ebay 3 years ago so the warranty is out and I dont want to get charged a fourtune by Creative to fix it. Where can I get it fixed? Regular computer repair centres dont do this sort of work do they? Should I just bite the bullet and fork out for a new one?

Any help would be really appreciated

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 11-23-2008, 09:05 AM

It definitely needs a new battery and possibly a new hard drive as well. Even though the water may have all dried up, since itís sea water itíll leave a heavy salt residue behind and may always cause problems. If you canít fix it yourself, I would agree with you that itíll be too expensive to fix. You might want to resell for parts on ebay and look to replace your player. Good luck

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc

Old 11-23-2008, 09:59 AM
Ultra Senior Member

....or consider eventually selling the parts here in our Classifieds.

If you don't want to sell and decide to give it a shot yourself to repair, the links below should help with replacing the battery and hard drive. Good luck!

Here is the ABI disassembly guide.
Here is a video of a disassembly.
Here is the hard drive replacement thread.
Here is the new tested hard drive swap thread.
Here is the hard drive connector type thread.