android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Creative > Zen

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-19-2007, 04:29 PM
Qboi Qboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 94
Default Screen Problems and the WSOD (White Screen of Death)

I received my Zen two days ago from Dell (crappy box they put it in by the way).

I put it on the charger, wait until it's done charging and power it up. The screen is white. I turn it off and turn it back on, still white.

I reset it and it finally starts up. No clue why.

Fast forward to today. I'm starting up my Zen and the screen is white again but it can still play music. I turn it off, leave it off for a minute and turn it back on, and it works.

I'm worried that I have a faulty Zen. Anyone else?

Love the player itself though.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 10-20-2007, 05:02 AM
klumsy bot's Avatar
klumsy bot klumsy bot is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 820
Default

Im worried.
__________________
Need help with Zen Vision M chargers? DVD ripping?
Useful tools: Exact Audio copy to rip your CDs and mp3tag to organise.
SUPER to convert videos and music.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 10-20-2007, 06:52 AM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

I don’t own one, so won’t be able to give specific help, but if re-installing the firmware does not cure the “white screen” issue, I’d quickly send it back for a replacement.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:30 PM
Lunarmile's Avatar
Lunarmile Lunarmile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Help

Qboi, I actually have the same thing! But I get a white screen after putting my zen in the "hold" function. And then push the button up again. This is really annoying. I can reset or just turn the player off tough. I thought it was a manufacturing error.

Wouldn't this get solved when the new firmware is out?
__________________
<3
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 10-21-2007, 12:44 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunarmile View Post
...Wouldn't this get solved when the new firmware is out?
You would hope
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 10-21-2007, 05:49 PM
foundation foundation is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 76
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lunarmile View Post
I get a white screen after putting my zen in the "hold" function. And then push the button up again.
This sounds screwy. The switch should 'click' up into the hold position, so you shouldn't be able to push it up again. If it doesn't click into place it sounds like a physical defect?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 10-22-2007, 02:12 PM
Lunarmile's Avatar
Lunarmile Lunarmile is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 17
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foundation View Post
This sounds screwy. The switch should 'click' up into the hold position, so you shouldn't be able to push it up again. If it doesn't click into place it sounds like a physical defect?
Uh, sorry what do you mean? Yes it does click when I put it in the hold function, and when I push it back to it's normal position. If this is what your on about.

I made a typing mistake tough. I ment push the button down (to the normal position). And after i've done this I would get a white screen. This does only happen when I have the player on "hold" for a longer period of time. (I think for over 1 minute).
__________________
<3
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-26-2007, 10:07 AM
wietass wietass is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 16
Default

lately i was checking this in the official creative forum and found this "
I'm sorry for those that are getting this problem with the white screen.
I can say you that it is not a firmware problem, but it happens with defective units. If it was problem with firmware, then all units will have this white screen.
The only way is to return the player back to Creative.
Ask for a RMA number to Creative and you will get a new one.
It's really a wonder of mp3 player. It's a pity to have a defective unit when you can get a replacement."
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:30 PM
ZenChick's Avatar
ZenChick ZenChick is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Right... Behind... You...
Posts: 7,427
Default

While I would agree this signals a possible hardware problem, the fact that it's inconsistent tells me it could be a firmware problem, such as firmware corruption. It's an easy thing to reload the firmware and see if the problem goes away. If it doesn't, then I'd take it back to the store where I got it and get a replacement.
__________________
ZenChick - The one them iPod-owners warned you about!
Creative Zen Vision:M 30GB * Creative MuVo N200 1GB * Philips GoGear Vibe 4GB
Resident Linux Geekette ** Got IRC? Look me up on irc.freenode.net #AnythingButiPod
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 11-26-2007, 03:33 PM
Qboi Qboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 94
Default

so far i havent encountered this problem for almost a week. i have no clue what triggers it, but if it really is a defective unit i should replace it. dammit.
__________________
Cowon D2 8GB
Microsoft Zune HD 16GB
Shure SCL4
Nuforce NE-4M
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 11-27-2007, 07:10 AM
myet01 myet01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 42
Default

I guess the question is, is anyone with an 8 GB Zen not having the problem?

Tony
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 11-27-2007, 08:15 AM
Qboi Qboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 94
Default

alright so this player is going back.


i bought it around a month ago and i've been getting sporadic white screens since then. a reset and leaving the player off for about 10 minutes would usually resolve the problem, but it was a hassle.


BUT, this morning, i go turn on my creative zen and play a song. it is frozen and cant turn it off without a reset. the library is rebuilt on startup and then goes to the same screen. i'm able to select a different song, thinking its the song that somehow became corrupt. i select a different song, same thing. reset, rebuild, and i select a video. same thing.


any tips for a first time warranty call back to creative?
__________________
Cowon D2 8GB
Microsoft Zune HD 16GB
Shure SCL4
Nuforce NE-4M
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 11-27-2007, 03:41 PM
Qboi Qboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 94
Default

hmmm, i resolved the freezing problem by downgrading the firmware. it loaded fine so i upgraded the firmware to the most recent one.

if i see another white screen within a month, it's going back right away.
__________________
Cowon D2 8GB
Microsoft Zune HD 16GB
Shure SCL4
Nuforce NE-4M
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-13-2008, 04:00 PM
creativezenlover creativezenlover is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default Screen Problems and the WSOD

Hi I'm a big fan of creative and I just bought a 8Gb creative zen today... I've charged it for over 6 hours and downloaded the latest firmware. But when I turn my ZEN on the screens just (BLANK) I don't know whats wrong with it!@!!!! I bought it from Bestbuy brand new, I installed the CD and everything, YET I STILL CANT GET IT TO WORK!!! did I just buy myself a defective player I've been waiting all this time I was soo excited to buy it and now it won't even turn on =,( I think it's just karma since I sat on my friends ZEN and broke it =(
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-13-2008, 04:23 PM
TheElite TheElite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 48
Default

Try recovery mode: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=23558
and reload the latest firmware. If not, i think this thread has a similar problem to yours: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=23706
Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 01-13-2008, 05:33 PM
Qboi Qboi is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 94
Default

since you got it from best buy, i'd just take it back.
__________________
Cowon D2 8GB
Microsoft Zune HD 16GB
Shure SCL4
Nuforce NE-4M
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:29 PM
creativezenlover creativezenlover is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default I tried but no luck D,=

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheElite View Post
Try recovery mode: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=23558
and reload the latest firmware. If not, i think this thread has a similar problem to yours: http://www.anythingbutipod.com/forum...ad.php?t=23706
I did everything it said on the first link you gave me but after all that my screen is still BLANK just flickers white exacly what the user on the second link had he had the same problem im not sure how I should deal with this. Im afraid it might not work if i tried to exchange it but i love this player a lot.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:31 PM
Almoxil's Avatar
Almoxil Almoxil is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 1,857
Default

I agree with Qboi. If you did everything right and it's acting up on you out of the box, I would try exchanging it for another. I'd also recommend that you test the main functions before updating the firmware when you get the replacement unit.
__________________
Cowon D2 4GB + 16GB A-data SDHC card • Meizu M6 SP 8GB • Zen Vision:M 30GB • Zen V Plus 4GB • iRiver SlimX 550
Sennheiser PX-100 • AKG K81 DJ • Alessandro MS-1 • FutureSonics Atrio M5 • Audio Technica ATH-CK7, ATH-AD2K • ATH-ESW9
Meier Corda Move
Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:35 PM
creativezenlover creativezenlover is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default Im gonna cry =,(

If i return my ZEN im not sure if it would be possible since I already opened the box and the sticker on the screens a bit messed lots of dust stuck onto it, anyways if i switch it for another one IM JUST AFRAID that i might encounter this problem AGAIN! basically all I did right when i got home was install the cd hooked hooked my zen to my computer and started charging for over 4 hours... what did I do wrong??!??! I'm not even sure if bestbuy would accept my reciept for exchange since i teared the hard plastic apart and ruined ths sticker WHAT SHOULD DO T_T!!!!?
Reply With Quote

  #20  
Old 01-13-2008, 06:40 PM
creativezenlover creativezenlover is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Almoxil View Post
I agree with Qboi. If you did everything right and it's acting up on you out of the box, I would try exchanging it for another. I'd also recommend that you test the main functions before updating the firmware when you get the replacement unit.
I actually tested it first but it didnt turn on, Id expected it to be charged, then i charged it and tried turning it on again and 4 hours have already passed so i turned it on and the screens blank white so here i am in confusion thinkin that the player just didnt have enough power to turn on yet so i charged it for another 4 hours and it still had a white screen the last thing i did was download the latest firmware still had no luck then i decided to come to this site for help =(
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53 PM.