android
  #241  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:04 PM
uggz24 uggz24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

is there something I am missing?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #242  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:05 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

Whats in the .rockbox folder?

Edit: Maybe you could just do a dir/ls of your .rockbox folder. Should be pretty easy to tell from that whats wrong.
Reply With Quote

  #243  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:07 PM
uggz24 uggz24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

there are 15 files in there
Reply With Quote

  #244  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:10 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

That doesn't help me understand what you have in the folder.
Reply With Quote

  #245  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:13 PM
uggz24 uggz24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

sorry, 10 folders, codecs, codepages, docs, eqs, fonts, icons, langs, rocks, themes, wps, and files are database.ignore, rockbox.sansa, rockbox-info, tagnavi.config, viewers.config
Reply With Quote

  #246  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:19 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

That sounds about right. Unless theres something else you're not mentioning I have no idea.
Reply With Quote

  #247  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:21 PM
uggz24 uggz24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

wait, am I supposed to extract the files from .rockbox into the root or just put the .rockbox folder in there?
Reply With Quote

  #248  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:25 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

You're supposed to extract the .rockbox folder and all its contents into the root of your player. If you post a complete directory listing using dir or ls, I can tell you if you've managed to do it, but from the above description it sounds like you have.
Reply With Quote

  #249  
Old 05-24-2009, 06:54 PM
uggz24 uggz24 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 9
Default

yea I think that I did everything correctly from what I see in the instructions, but it still seems to be a problem, I`ve tried doing this over 10 times...... its driving me nuts
Reply With Quote

  #250  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:20 PM
pros1n's Avatar
pros1n pros1n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Not sure about the quality of your build, I can say these things:
  • No issue booting either way, OF or rockbox smoothly
  • No more glitches with last 3 builds, can play music for hours
  • No issue with freezing unless I’m fiddling way too much, but I can still play games & listen to tunes without freezing
  • EQ and other features work fine
  • I’ve been a happy camper for a while now
I agree iwth you that most shouldn't try unless they're willing to brick their player, it's still possible untill they finish and officially release it.
When I play music, it randomly glitches and stops. That's basically the only problem, but since you've helped me getting back to OF (which I really appreciated ), I'm fine with the music glitching.
Quote:
Originally Posted by uggz24 View Post
yea I think that I did everything correctly from what I see in the instructions, but it still seems to be a problem, I`ve tried doing this over 10 times...... its driving me nuts
You know what? Just boot your clip back to its original fw. Download the firmware from sandisk forums, remove the .rockbox folder, and wait for a better version of rockbox for the clip. I'm not trying to be mean or anything, but I just don't want you to brick your clip. When I looked at the rockbox release that a generous guy would supply to the public, I knew that my $50 4gb clip is going to be a gamble to rockbox, but after I finally figured out, I had no problems. If you still insist to install rockbox for V1 clips, Here are the instructions:
1. Once you've downloaded the .zip file, plug your clip to the computer and extract the m300a.bin file on to the root of your player through MSC mode. (The root of the player is where you have the folders: MUSIC, AUDIBLE, VOICES and etc)

2. Once extracted, un plug the player and it should start refreshing and will proceed to upgrade your firmware automatically. Once that's over, turn-off your player and plug your clip back on to the computer.

3. In the .zip file, there should be another one name .rock.zip. Open it up and you will see a .rockbox folder. Extract that folder on to the root of the player. Un plug the clip and let it refresh. Once the player is done refreshing, you should be at sansa's original firmware. Reboot the clip and it should load rockbox.

Tip from WalkGood: To go back to OF through a rockbox'd clip, close down the player and hold the home button while turning the player back on. If you want to go back to rockbox fw, reboot your clip.

Hope this won't be a hassle for people trying to download rockbox on the clip.
__________________
MP3: Rockbox'd Clip
IEM: PL21, RE0
Reply With Quote

  #251  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:28 PM
Chop4life's Avatar
Chop4life Chop4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 211
Default

when i open my rockbox zip file, its shows all of the files, not a folder with the files inside.
__________________
Player:Sansa Clip 2GB(blue) how about a white Clip?lol
Headphone/IEMs: Sennheiser PX100(white)
Soundmagic PL21 with Sony hybrid tips /Sony ex35lp
Amp: FiiO E5(Nationite EDITION)
Reply With Quote

  #252  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:33 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chop4life View Post
when i open my rockbox zip file, its shows all of the files, not a folder with the files inside.
Then you should create 1 folder name it .rockbox, move all the files into it, except m300a.bin

These are the 2 files I use to load it. In the .rockbox there should be 10 folders and 5 files. If you need I can list them :/
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #253  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:34 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

^^^ Use a better a zip program. Yours is broken (well that or your zip file is broken but that seems unlikely).

Quote:
When I play music, it randomly glitches and stops. That's basically the only problem, but since you've helped me getting back to OF (which I really appreciated ), I'm fine with the music glitching.
What files glitch and stop? Are they by any chance mostly Ogg/AAC files? Or do MP3s do it too?
Reply With Quote

  #254  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:36 PM
pros1n's Avatar
pros1n pros1n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
^^^ Use a better a zip program. Yours is broken (well that or your zip file is broken but that seems unlikely).



What files glitch and stop? Are they by any chance mostly Ogg/AAC files? Or do MP3s do it too?
Well, I only have mp3 and wav files. Therefore it means that my mp3 files glitch.
__________________
MP3: Rockbox'd Clip
IEM: PL21, RE0

Last edited by pros1n; 05-24-2009 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #255  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:39 PM
Chop4life's Avatar
Chop4life Chop4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
Then you should create 1 folder name it .rockbox, move all the files into it, except m300a.bin

These are the 2 files I use to load it. In the .rockbox there should be 10 folders and 5 files. If you need I can list them :/
um.. i transfered the rockbox zip files into a folder.. but when i opened it, its giving me 240 files, not the 10 folders and 5 files like you said..
__________________
Player:Sansa Clip 2GB(blue) how about a white Clip?lol
Headphone/IEMs: Sennheiser PX100(white)
Soundmagic PL21 with Sony hybrid tips /Sony ex35lp
Amp: FiiO E5(Nationite EDITION)
Reply With Quote

  #256  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:42 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,546
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chop4life View Post
um.. i transfered the rockbox zip files into a folder.. but when i opened it, its giving me 240 files, not the 10 folders and 5 files like you said..
Read the replies between your most recent and second to most recent posts.
Reply With Quote

  #257  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:49 PM
Chop4life's Avatar
Chop4life Chop4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Read the replies between your most recent and second to most recent posts.
im using winzip.. its not broken.... instead of the 10 folders i get 240 files...
__________________
Player:Sansa Clip 2GB(blue) how about a white Clip?lol
Headphone/IEMs: Sennheiser PX100(white)
Soundmagic PL21 with Sony hybrid tips /Sony ex35lp
Amp: FiiO E5(Nationite EDITION)
Reply With Quote

  #258  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:50 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Read the replies between your most recent and second to most recent posts.
I think your right, Chop4life try WinRAR
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #259  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:51 PM
Chop4life's Avatar
Chop4life Chop4life is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 211
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chop4life View Post
im using winzip.. its not broken.... instead of the 10 folders i get 240 files...
ok nevermind..........forgot to set my winzip to view files by folder
__________________
Player:Sansa Clip 2GB(blue) how about a white Clip?lol
Headphone/IEMs: Sennheiser PX100(white)
Soundmagic PL21 with Sony hybrid tips /Sony ex35lp
Amp: FiiO E5(Nationite EDITION)
Reply With Quote

  #260  
Old 05-24-2009, 07:57 PM
pros1n's Avatar
pros1n pros1n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 273
Default

Noodles! Rockbox glitches my 320kpbs mp3 files half way and needs to be rebooted
__________________
MP3: Rockbox'd Clip
IEM: PL21, RE0
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:36 AM.