android
  #541  
Old 01-15-2010, 10:16 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,643
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by static-_-x View Post
could you please suggest me one of a rockbox firmware,
actually I 've found lost of fw on duke's web page, but I couldnot understand which one of them is appropriate for my clip v2 ? hence I would like to ask you?
Unfortunately we don't have rockbox working on the V2 clip yet, beyond a few basic drivers, so theres nothing you can run on it. If you're interested, you can follow the status here:

http://www.rockbox.org/wiki/SansaAMS#Port_Status
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #542  
Old 01-18-2010, 10:17 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

I just installed r24237 on my 2GB Clip, and it seems this one is stable. All builds after ~r23121 (Saratoga's logging build) inevitably crashed my Clip within a few seconds of playback. This one is running for over 5 minutes already, whee!

Thank you very much Funman, Saratoga, et al. for your work so far.
Reply With Quote

  #543  
Old 01-19-2010, 12:35 PM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

I love the most recent version out there Very stable. There is one minor problem i have not been able to figure out yet. Does the battery drains much faster then it does on the sansa FW or is the battery icon just not as accurate. The reason i say this is because within 3 hours the battery icon is showing it has been half drained already. This would help me out a lot if it was known if rockbox uses more power and drains the battery more heavily or it's just an inaccurate battery reading. Thanks for any help in advance.
Reply With Quote

  #544  
Old 01-21-2010, 12:04 AM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

This question is asked a lot.

Rockbox is still very much in development for the clip and I don't believe any battery optimization has really been undertaken. It's enough right now that the code is working on most features. Like the e200, I am sure the power/battery life issues will eventually be addressed to some extent, however. This doesn't mean it will ever be as good or better than the OF, but I am sure it will get better than where it's at now eventually.

Personally, I'm happy to pay the battery life cost to have the fantastic functionality and sound quality that rockbox brings to the clip.

Now I can't wait for the clip+ to eventually make some headway.
Reply With Quote

  #545  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:45 PM
ytsejam1138's Avatar
ytsejam1138 ytsejam1138 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 22
Default

Rockbox Utility 1.2.4 released. Now supports Clip V1. Just used it to update my Clip to the newest build and it works great.

Last edited by ytsejam1138; 02-04-2010 at 07:13 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #546  
Old 02-04-2010, 05:57 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Rockbox 3.5 has been released, the Utility is version 1.2.4.
Reply With Quote

  #547  
Old 02-04-2010, 07:14 PM
ytsejam1138's Avatar
ytsejam1138 ytsejam1138 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Orlando, FL
Posts: 22
Default

Thanks dfkt. I edited my post to reflect the correct version.
Reply With Quote

  #548  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:16 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,541
Default

Note: Clip v1 Rockbox still is listed as unstable; no Clip v2/Clip+ Rockbox.
Reply With Quote

  #549  
Old 02-05-2010, 11:35 PM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

YAY! Strange, this version is from the future? Todays the 5th and the release date is the 6th? Update: I just tested it and it works fine! I now have more themes and fonts as well! It seems like rockbox and the clip is getting closer and closer to a more of a stable release. If There is better battery life then i will be super happy. Wont be able to report on that for a day or so.

Last edited by jsc315; 02-06-2010 at 12:20 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #550  
Old 02-22-2010, 02:43 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,643
Default

We now have a working bootloader for the Clipv2 and Clip+.

Meanwhile, this weekend we finally got some information about the flash controller used in the Clip+. funman pulled an all nighter and now the main build compiles and theres a semi-working flash memory driver, but theres no audio.
Reply With Quote

  #551  
Old 02-22-2010, 03:07 PM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Awesome!
Reply With Quote

  #552  
Old 02-22-2010, 11:57 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

An important reminder: while Clipv2 firmware patching has been tried a lot of times with 100% success, Clip+ firmware patching already resulted in 2 bricks.

The current mkamsboot code in rockbox svn has been reported to work on at least 5 different Clip+, and all the bricks happened with different (older) code.

If you try mkamsboot on your Clip+ keep that in mind, and please tell us if it works for you or not, so we can keep statistics of the number of clip+ bricked versus non-bricked (5 versus 2 atm)
Reply With Quote

  #553  
Old 03-05-2010, 08:30 AM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Hi all, the rockbox battle for the Clipv1 continues

Starting from yesterday, you should have a bit better runtime, the FM chip is explicitely powered down when not used (perhaps not for everyone though, it might have been powered down for some people already).

My own Clipv1 now lasts 7h instead of 5h30, still not quite like the OF but it's a start.
Reply With Quote

  #554  
Old 03-05-2010, 09:46 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

1.5h more runtime is already great. Thanks for the heads up.
Reply With Quote

  #555  
Old 03-05-2010, 08:06 PM
Kenaneu Kenaneu is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 124
Default

Yeah! That's pretty huge. Definitely will try it out.
Reply With Quote

  #556  
Old 03-06-2010, 11:16 AM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

OMG yes! thanks for this amazing update!

update:

Well i finished charging up my clip and it says it still has only the 5 1/2 hour battery life. Not sure why or how i cold have done anything wrong. Anyone else get this? I'll do a test and see if it lasts longer.

Last edited by jsc315; 03-06-2010 at 01:43 PM.
Reply With Quote

  #557  
Old 03-06-2010, 06:02 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

I forgot to update the current consumption so battery estimation is wrong.

Let it play for 5 1/2 hour and it should still have some juice left
Reply With Quote

  #558  
Old 03-06-2010, 08:58 PM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by funman View Post
I forgot to update the current consumption so battery estimation is wrong.

Let it play for 5 1/2 hour and it should still have some juice left
Yea i just figured that out now. I did a battery test and it is labeled at 5:23 but last for 7:12. 2+ hours is a great improvement!

Also anyone that wants to see documentation of it by all means go ahead.
http://docs.google.com/Doc?docid=0Ac...cDludmRk&hl=en
Reply With Quote

  #559  
Old 03-06-2010, 09:44 PM
funman funman is offline
Rockbox Developer
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 161
Default

Current builds (r25049 and later) should show correct estimation now
Reply With Quote

  #560  
Old 03-22-2010, 04:46 PM
jsc315 jsc315 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Joliet,IL
Posts: 90
Default

is anyone else having problems with bookmarks not working properly in the newest versions?

UPDATE: I deleted most of my bookmarks and it seemed to fix the problem. I kept having a weird problem where anytime I would resume a bookmark it would not do anything or play the wrong file. Apparently clearing out my bookmarks seemed to fix it. Maybe I had to many old bookmarks. Since I listen to a lot of podcasts this was a big deal but it seems to not be an issue now. Not sure what happened but everything is good.

Last edited by jsc315; 03-22-2010 at 05:47 PM.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02 PM.