android
  #61  
Old 12-23-2008, 08:25 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLMP View Post
and what does it mean about the port?
You know as much as I or anyone else does about it (i.e. nothing).

Quote:
Reading some (fragmented and not officially confirmed) info's on Sandisk official forum, it seems that this second revision is due only for supporting a larger memory chip, in the case of Clip 4GB and 8GB, but I don't understand a so larger firmware size (13MB vs. 3MB ) for indexing a different memory chip.
People say a lot of things but unless they actually know something its not very useful.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #62  
Old 12-23-2008, 09:35 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LLMP View Post
and what does it mean about the port?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Porting
Reply With Quote

  #63  
Old 12-24-2008, 06:25 AM
sansaguy's Avatar
sansaguy sansaguy is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 675
Default

just had a thought..

All the work porting Rockbox to the Clip (and Fuze). Is this work being done on Revision 1 or Revision 2 players...or does it matter?.
__________________
How I Roll:
Sansa e250v1 Rockboxed refurb
16GB microSDHC
Sansa e260v1 Rockboxed 8GB microsdhc
Sansa Fuze 8GB 16GB microSDHC
Reply With Quote

  #64  
Old 12-24-2008, 06:29 AM
advcomp2019's Avatar
advcomp2019 advcomp2019 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 4,838
Default

Most of the work has been done on the Clip v1 and Fuze v1. I could be wrong with that. I have not seen any work on the Clip v2 and Fuze v2.
Reply With Quote

  #65  
Old 12-24-2008, 01:45 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sansaguy View Post
just had a thought..

All the work porting Rockbox to the Clip (and Fuze). Is this work being done on Revision 1 or Revision 2 players...or does it matter?.
Read the posts preceding your own.
Reply With Quote

  #66  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:00 PM
Figuto Figuto is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 19
Default

I want Rockbox for my Clip! I am waiting for it.
Reply With Quote

  #67  
Old 12-26-2008, 12:57 PM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Figuto View Post
I want Rockbox for my Clip! I am waiting for it.
We all are Be patient.
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #68  
Old 12-26-2008, 04:38 PM
pros1n's Avatar
pros1n pros1n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 273
Default

Got my baby this morning. amazing sound, the sound of my t10 was bad compared to this lovely masterpeice! Luckly i got my Clip for only $40 CDN= $35 USD for a 4 Gb clip xD! Now i'm just gunna wait for this new evolution of rockbox to come on the Clip.
__________________
MP3: Rockbox'd Clip
IEM: PL21, RE0
Reply With Quote

  #69  
Old 12-29-2008, 04:39 PM
slawson slawson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 25
Default Clip V2 info

Is anyone still interested regards what's in the V2 Clip?
I've just opened my 8Gb Clip and have a few photos.
Reply With Quote

  #70  
Old 12-29-2008, 04:46 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,577
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slawson View Post
Is anyone still interested regards what's in the V2 Clip?
I've just opened my 8Gb Clip and have a few photos.
You might want to post on rockbox.org as that's where all the work is being shared and done, I'm sure they are interested. BTW, You might want to post a how to take apart & back together in a new thread under the clip forum.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramón

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #71  
Old 12-31-2008, 10:13 PM
LambdaCalculus379's Avatar
LambdaCalculus379 LambdaCalculus379 is offline
Rockbox Staff
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Lyndhurst, NJ, USA
Posts: 12
Default Current status of Rockbox on Clip

Here's the rundown of the current status of Rockbox on the Clip:

* Sound output = working.
* Codecs = mostly working. MP3 and Vorbis do playback (from my tests), but sometimes cause Rockbox to freeze and reboot, or throw up a panic. I haven't tried out any other codecs yet.
* Plugins = most are working. Still a little work to do on this front.
* Flash = mostly works. Rockbox sees the full storage capacity on 1GB and 2GB Clips. I haven't gotten word about 4GB models, but from my understanding, some 4GB models may be "v2" Clips.
* FM radio = works.
* Recording = untested... from my end, anyway.
* USB = partially working.
* Charging = uncertain; IIRC this hasn't been worked on yet.

However, this doesn't mean that Rockbox on the Clip is ready for everyday use. Do NOT ask for support for Rockbox on the Clip; it is UNSUPPORTED and NOT READY for end users!
__________________
I don't know if I am Turing dreaming that I am a machine, or a machine dreaming that I am Turing!
Reply With Quote

  #72  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:23 AM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

I don't understand what the big deal about rockbox on the clip is

It's a small OLED screen with only so much space
Reply With Quote

  #73  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:40 AM
suprman2020's Avatar
suprman2020 suprman2020 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
I don't understand what the big deal about rockbox on the clip is

It's a small OLED screen with only so much space
http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/WhyRockbox
Reply With Quote

  #74  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:44 AM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Gapless playback is a good reason yes

But how can you get album art support on the clip?
Reply With Quote

  #75  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:47 AM
suprman2020's Avatar
suprman2020 suprman2020 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 223
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
Gapless playback is a good reason yes

But how can you get album art support on the clip?
I guessing that you probably can't.
Reply With Quote

  #76  
Old 01-01-2009, 11:25 AM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,523
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LambdaCalculus379 View Post
Here's the rundown of the current status of Rockbox on the Clip:
Thanks for the update--
Reply With Quote

  #77  
Old 01-01-2009, 12:28 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
I don't understand what the big deal about rockbox on the clip is

It's a small OLED screen with only so much space
Rockbox is to MP3 players as Linux is to PCs.
Reply With Quote

  #78  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:11 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,628
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkj1962 View Post
Rockbox is to MP3 players as Linux is to PCs.
Where does that leave SansaLinux?
Reply With Quote

  #79  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:56 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LambdaCalculus379 View Post
* Codecs = mostly working. MP3 and Vorbis do playback (from my tests), but sometimes cause Rockbox to freeze and reboot, or throw up a panic. I haven't tried out any other codecs yet.
Do you get glitches and stuttering while playing MP3s? I compiled r19633 with FS#9703 (which generally behaves better than older revisions with FS#9332), but the beginnings of tracks are quite mangled. After a minute or so the glitches disappear in general, though.
Reply With Quote

  #80  
Old 01-01-2009, 06:08 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 367
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
Where does that leave SansaLinux?
Bundled in with Rockbox since it uses modified Rockbox components.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:16 PM.