android
  #121  
Old 01-12-2009, 05:34 AM
SansaRulez83's Avatar
SansaRulez83 SansaRulez83 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Western Washington, USA
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dfkt View Post
Everyone can compile their own Clip bootloader and firmware from SVN. Of course without any warranties and with the notice that you may brick your Clip in doing so.
Eh... gapless playback isn't that great. I think I'll just poke around with the D2 rockbox instead. There's no risk involved. I'm not sure why though. If you don't like how rockbox works on the D2 you can just delete it and that's that but on the clip it could ruin your player. weird!
__________________
16GB Cowon D2 (16GB Transcend SD Card) > Fiio E5 > Ultrasone HFI-780
16GB ipod Touch (Just for Web, I Swear )
1GB Sansa Clip
Phonak Audeo PFE 111 (White), Sennheiser PX100 (Travel Purposes), Koss KSC-75 (Eh... Too Plingy)
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #122  
Old 01-12-2009, 06:33 AM
samueljesusfreak's Avatar
samueljesusfreak samueljesusfreak is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Ellendale, North Dakota
Posts: 758
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SansaRulez83 View Post
Eh... gapless playback isn't that great. I think I'll just poke around with the D2 rockbox instead. There's no risk involved. I'm not sure why though. If you don't like how rockbox works on the D2 you can just delete it and that's that but on the clip it could ruin your player. weird!
The D2 bootloader has been confirmed as safe and there have been a couple publicly released. If you were to try to build your own for the D2, you could brick it.

Build your own for the clip and see what happens

Also, the D2 has a recovery mode, accessed by a program called tcctool... so you can revive it if it's been bricked. The Clip, not so lucky.
__________________
Player: Generic Philips GoGear 4GB(Sounds decent though)
Headphones: Koss KSC-75 and JVC Marshmallow
Wow I'm poor..
Reply With Quote

  #123  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:45 PM
torque12 torque12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default re

Hi.

When finished the rockbox to the clip ? (sorry for my bad english )
Reply With Quote

  #124  
Old 01-15-2009, 04:56 PM
Peyotero Peyotero is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 19
Default

hopefully before 2012
Reply With Quote

  #125  
Old 01-16-2009, 12:54 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,505
Default

There is no Rockbox-Clip completion date (and, in fact, if it will be completed). There never is--it all depends on the volunteers' time, etc.
Reply With Quote

  #126  
Old 01-16-2009, 10:47 PM
pros1n's Avatar
pros1n pros1n is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 273
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Peyotero View Post
hopefully before 2012
why before 2012? lol... just a Q. The Apocalypse? (It's most likely to be fake)
__________________
MP3: Rockbox'd Clip
IEM: PL21, RE0
Reply With Quote

  #127  
Old 02-16-2009, 11:30 AM
phantom574 phantom574 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Default

i know im late but i almost had an orgasm when i saw the picture
Reply With Quote

  #128  
Old 03-02-2009, 12:50 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

funman (who did at least 90% of the clip port) sent this to the rockbox mailing list:

Quote:
Due to (not so much wanted) a high amount of free time here, I'd like to get back on track with SansaV2 development.

I have some problems however : sporadic access to internet, and worse: I fried my 3rd and last Clip while doing some electronic work on a CD player (not even rockbox hacking!).

My finances are a bit restricted now so I'm looking for funding: any SansaV2 would do (Clip is the cheapest and the one i'm used to) and if it's 4GB at least I can use it to continue the researchs on SD access (limited to 1GB on 4GB and more models).

...

If you have some spare Clips mail me to discuss if you can ship me one of them (promise, I shall put no more than 5V in it !)
I sent him my 8GB fuze so he can keep working on the port, but I don't have a >2GB clip. However, I know some people around here picked up cheap Clips as spare players recently due to various sales. If anyone has a spare V1 clip, I'm sure funman would be able to put it to good use. If anyone has a V2 clip or Fuze they're not using, he might take a look at running code on those too (or might not but it couldn't hurt).
Reply With Quote

  #129  
Old 03-02-2009, 02:00 PM
bungl bungl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
funman (who did at least 90% of the clip port) sent this to the rockbox mailing list
Where is he from?
Reply With Quote

  #130  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:09 PM
d_headshot d_headshot is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 346
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WalkGood View Post
@ Greed, all the 8gb's are v2, only v1's are 1gb & 2gb.
My mom has a 2 gb red clip that's v2.
Reply With Quote

  #131  
Old 03-02-2009, 03:33 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by d_headshot View Post
My mom has a 2 gb red clip that's v2.
Determined on page 5: Apparently, there are 4 GB v1 clips and there have been reports of 1GB and 2GB v2 clips.
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramůn

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

  #132  
Old 03-02-2009, 04:05 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bungl View Post
Where is he from?
He is in France. Fortunately, shipping is quite cheap for objects this small, even to the EU (IIRC it was about $5).
Reply With Quote

  #133  
Old 03-04-2009, 03:13 AM
bungl bungl is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 19
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
He is in France. Fortunately, shipping is quite cheap for objects this small, even to the EU (IIRC it was about $5).
I'm in EU as well, maybe I'll contribute some devices.
Reply With Quote

  #134  
Old 03-04-2009, 10:22 AM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,627
Default

PM me if you're interested.
Reply With Quote

  #135  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:11 AM
torque12 torque12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Default re

hi all.

Whats the status of the clip's rockbox firmware? thanks
Reply With Quote

  #136  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:25 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by torque12 View Post
hi all.

Whats the status of the clip's rockbox firmware? thanks
You can check the status here: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/SansaAMS and here: http://www.rockbox.org/twiki/bin/view/Main/SansaClip
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #137  
Old 04-25-2009, 06:48 AM
paulr paulr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 144
Default

Are more development clips still needed? I have some 1gb ones, I don't know how to tell if they are v1 or v2. They are refurbs from woot and I have three of them. I can donate one happily, or more than one if it will really help.
Reply With Quote

  #138  
Old 04-25-2009, 07:58 AM
skip252 skip252 is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago
Posts: 5,365
Default

How to check your version here.

Got the same deal and am waiting patiently.

My 3 were all v1 with totally discharged batteries. Leaving a Li-on battery discharged too long will cause permanent damage. If you haven't charged them you probably want to.

Not as patient about a bonus I should have gotten 2 weeks ago. Wanna buy the Rockbox team a beer. Makes my v1 e250 worth having
Reply With Quote

  #139  
Old 04-25-2009, 01:28 PM
Mikerman Mikerman is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,505
Default

Too bad that the firmware has (stalled) somewhat, as its development had been proceeding quickly--I thought it likely that it would be "completed" in a form of a release version in an April or so timeframe.
Reply With Quote

  #140  
Old 04-25-2009, 03:49 PM
WalkGood's Avatar
WalkGood WalkGood is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: FL
Posts: 12,579
Default

Iím running it on our clips all the time now, the last updates have removed all the audible glitches that were really annoying, games seem to work very nice per the kids and other than a rare song freezing up if too much tinkering with the controls, itís running stable enough that I loaded it up for our sonís 2gb clip as well
__________________
WalkGood,
Ramůn

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:14 AM.