android
  #1  
Old 01-14-2009, 06:43 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Help Zune Software won't import my music!

Hello I really would like to purchase a Zune 120gb, so I went ahead and downloaded the zune software. My problem is it won't import my music. I have around 730 songs and only around 600 songs get imported. If I double click the music file it self it will open and play in the zune software, but it just won't import. The files are all mp3 and they are not DRM protected. Any ideas on what is going on as I would REALLY like to purchase a zune.
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 01-14-2009, 06:52 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

ARe you sure you ahve all your folders selected to be scanned?
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 01-14-2009, 06:58 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

Yes the correct folders are selected. I am 100% sure. Any ideas Cruleworld?
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:05 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Try clicking the restore button in the Settings > Software > Collection section..
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:07 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

Still not working. I also tried reinstalling the application.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:10 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Try using the Zune media collection reset tool.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:23 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

hmm... Still doesn't work.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:30 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Is all your music inside of sub-directories inside oft he same folder?
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:35 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

Yes I have a mac, so what I did is in windows point the zune software at

F:\Users\marcham89\Music\iTunes\iTunes Music

This works in WMP and Winamp. I don't understand why it doesn't work in the zune application.

Inside this "iTunes Music" folder is a bunch of folders sorting the mp3 files by artist. The mp3 files them selves are untouched (only organized by itunes not eidted), so I dont understand why it doesnt work.

I was thinking about burning it all to a disk then using the zune software to rip it. I was wondering if that would work.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:39 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

Burning and ripping it would work, not sure if that is really worth it though. I don't see why the way you are doing it won't work either.
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 01-14-2009, 07:50 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

Its not really something I want to do, but I've been searching and I seem to be out of "solutions".
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 01-14-2009, 08:31 PM
jkj1962 jkj1962 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 369
Default

I don't know if this applies to your situation, but the Zune software will sometimes think that 2 files with similar enough names are the same song, and will only work with 1 of them.

For example, it had problems with Nena's "99 Luftballoons" and "99 Red Balloons", which ARE the same song, just 1 in English and the other in German. They should have been sufficiently different, but apparently not. It told me they were duplicates, and would only import 1 of them. Apparently the Zune software is bi-lingual.
Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 01-14-2009, 09:02 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

I got it to work!!! :-D

I had the songs on my iPhone, so I used a 3rd party software to rip them off the phone. Then it worked :-D
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 01-14-2009, 09:08 PM
Cruleworld's Avatar
Cruleworld Cruleworld is offline
Zune Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: In a secluded cave
Posts: 2,728
Default

haha, glad you got it working.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 01-14-2009, 09:11 PM
Marcham89 Marcham89 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New York, United States
Posts: 122
Default

Thanks you can't believe how crazy this was making me.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.