android
  #1  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:30 AM
AJRobson AJRobson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peoples Republic of Maryland
Posts: 21
Default Rockbox won't play

Last night I copied some more music over to my X5 and moved some of the files (all .flac) into some other directories.

As I had also recently had some trouble creating some config files (it would sure be nice if, when changing a setting and then wanting to save it, that it would save it into the one that is currently loaded!) I went in and deleted several *.cfg files that I created by mistake.

After that I gave it a nice charging.

This morning it won't play.

I can see the music directory and files, but when I browse to one and attempt to play, the window shows: unknown artist, etc... files not found and nothing happens.

I can still access the music via USB. Before I go to the extreme of uninstalling Rockbox, I was hoping someone might have an idea? Maybe just try reinstalling Rockbox on top of the current installation?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 11-13-2006, 06:42 AM
AJRobson AJRobson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peoples Republic of Maryland
Posts: 21
Default

Not sure how I fixed it, but this is what I did.

I browsed into the .rockbox directory which basically soft rebooted it. Now it works fine.

I'm beginning to think Rockbox is more trouble than it is worth. Setting up FM presets is a total pain. Saving settings files (.cfg files) is also a pain.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 11-13-2006, 09:11 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Changed the thread title from "X5" to "Rockbox"...

BTW, I never had any troubles with Rockbox - although you're absolutely right, the onscreen keyboard for saving .cfg's is a real pain.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:46 AM
Biscuit Biscuit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Default

I've noticed some odd Rockbox stability issues here & there, but I'm not sure I could go back to the OE firmware now. Just "fade on pause" is enough to keep me with Rockbox, let alone WPS files & better SQ.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 11-13-2006, 10:54 AM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Heh, the original firmware can also fade on pause... and the SQ is the same, but you surely mean the parametric EQ, which is much better on Rockbox.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 11-13-2006, 01:47 PM
Biscuit Biscuit is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 28
Default

Hmm, I never noticed that the Cowon firmware could fade on pause - ah well!

I don't agree about the SQ though, on flat settings I feel that the OE firmware sounds processed & splashy, although both OE & Rockbox are light on bass with my earphones. Once the EQ is used, Rockbox sounds much better than the OE.
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 11-13-2006, 03:04 PM
AJRobson AJRobson is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Peoples Republic of Maryland
Posts: 21
Default

Being able to save various profiles with various settings to me is the best reason to use Rockbox. I like having different profiles for different output devices, i.e. one for one set of earphones, one for another, one when connecting into a stereo, etc.

It just takes some getting used to.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 11-13-2006, 04:43 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Yes, I do it a similar way... Original FW + BBE for my Ultimate Ears, Rockbox for line-out and other headphones.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:35 PM.