android
  #1  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:54 AM
gtrain gtrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Default Transfer itunes songs to walkman NWZ A828

Just bought a new walkman. use to have an ipod but it was crap.
how do i get my songs accross to my new walkman!
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-15-2009, 08:55 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Use drag and drop in windows explorer, or use a program such as Media Monkey, J.River, or WinAmp. Just be certain that the AAC's aren't DRM'd, 'cause those won't transfer to the Sony.
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:29 PM
gtrain gtrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Default

Tried that but windows media player says it can't read the format. itunes songs seem to have .m4a on the end and media player a different format.... i'm not really up with the jargon.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:39 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

That's why The Darkside recommended you other apps besides WMP, which really can't handle many things right... or simple drag'n'drop.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-15-2009, 05:54 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Exactly, as Windows Media Player is horrible. Try Media Monkey, the link is below in my sig.
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:04 PM
gtrain gtrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Default

so how do i tell if the AAC's are DRM'd? and if they are DRM'd, will media monkey convert them for me automatically?
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:21 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gtrain View Post
so how do i tell if the AAC's are DRM'd? and if they are DRM'd, will media monkey convert them for me automatically?
If you bought tracks w/copyright protection on iTunes you'll need to burn them to disk, then re-rip them to your codec of choice. This is the only legal way to play the tracks on another player, and makes them compatible w/any player on the market (provided you rip to mp3, it's universal).

As for checking the licensing, I'm not really sure. I've never bought any tunes from Apple, and I never will. I rip my purchased cd's, or buy music elsewhere (non-drm tracks ONLY!!!).
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:24 PM
gtrain gtrain is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Australia
Posts: 4
Default

ok. thanks. i'll give that a go.
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-15-2009, 06:24 PM
dfkt's Avatar
dfkt dfkt is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 15,330
Default

Another way would be the Hymn Project and MyFairTunes (google for it, we can't/won't provide support for this in here). The legal situation is a bit unclear, but they say: The purpose of the Hymn Project is to allow you to exercise your fair-use rights under copyright law.
__________________
Please don't PM me with questions that can be answered in a forum thread. Don't be an idiot.
My Gear and Reviews | My RMAA Tests | IRC: #anythingbutipod on Freenode | Last.fm | Album Art Exchange | Rockbox | Replaygain
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50 PM.