android
  #1  
Old 03-15-2009, 11:11 PM
Asteroid-Man Asteroid-Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Unhappy External Hard Drive Disconnects When Fuze Connects

So I'll have my hard drive plugged into my computer, and then when I plug in the Fuze, the harddrive disconnects! I need them both plugged in to transfer the files from the HD to the Fuze. (I know I could put it on the desktop and then the Fuze but I wanna fix this problem not just walk around it.) Anyone have ideas on how to fix this?
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 03-16-2009, 01:32 AM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Which OS are you in?

You probably just need to make sure it assigns a different drive letter to your Fuze and your external hard drive. It's comparatively easy, but I need to know which OS you're in to tell you where to go to fix it.
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 03-16-2009, 06:21 AM
jbc jbc is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 291
Default

I would doubt that would be the problem Chilli. I would suspect the USB port, start by switching components around on the ports and see if the problem presists. First reverse the fuze and the hard drive. The try a different USB appliance, I would suspect that you have a USB port that is in the process of going dead. You could fix this but it will require you to open the PC and install a new board.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 03-16-2009, 07:13 AM
tenzip's Avatar
tenzip tenzip is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Posts: 74
Default

Are you using a USB hub? Perhaps the hub can't supply enough power for both devices at once.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 03-16-2009, 08:45 AM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Yes, we will need some more information...
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 03-16-2009, 09:22 AM
david432111 david432111 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 87
Default

The problem is that the harddrive takes a lot of power and when you connect the fuze it tries to use some of that power and then the harddrive can't power it self. Try connecting both directly to your pc.
__________________
Mp3 Players:
Samsung T10

(N
okia 5800)
Headphones:

Sound Magic PL-30
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 03-16-2009, 12:32 PM
Asteroid-Man Asteroid-Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Default

They are both connected to separate USB ports. I'm running windows Xp. It's not a problem with assigning letters, because I've set my computer to keep going when I put in virtual drives. Let me try again, I'll be right back.

EDIT: Funny, it's working now.

EDIT: It disconnected again.
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 03-16-2009, 12:57 PM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Front USB ports or back ones? The back ones get more power, and more stable power than the front ones, that might be your issue.
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:03 PM
Asteroid-Man Asteroid-Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Either. The two front ones run at 1.0 speed but I re-routed it for one to work at 2.0. The ones in the back are all separate. No matter where I put it, they clash.
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:10 PM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Does it happen with any other USB devices, or only with these two?
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 03-16-2009, 03:35 PM
Asteroid-Man Asteroid-Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Only these two. It's weird.
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 03-16-2009, 04:02 PM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Not necessarily weird... as david43211 pointed out, external hard drives take a lot of power and so does the Fuze. You might just need a beefier powersupply
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #13  
Old 03-16-2009, 04:17 PM
Asteroid-Man Asteroid-Man is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 45
Default

Damn...
Reply With Quote

  #14  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:42 AM
nimicitor's Avatar
nimicitor nimicitor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: England
Posts: 71
Default

Try this:

Go into Device Manager and open up the USB part by clicking the +.
Right click the ones that say USB Root Hub (I think) and go into the Power Management tab.
Make sure top box is unticked in each item.
Reply With Quote

  #15  
Old 03-18-2009, 11:49 AM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nimicitor View Post
Try this:

Go into Device Manager and open up the USB part by clicking the +.
Right click the ones that say USB Root Hub (I think) and go into the Power Management tab.
Make sure top box is unticked in each item.
Yep. USB Root Hub -> Properties -> Power Management.
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #16  
Old 03-18-2009, 12:05 PM
saratoga saratoga is offline
Rockbox Developer / Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 3,625
Default

You have an external hard drive that doesn't have its own power supply?
Reply With Quote

  #17  
Old 03-18-2009, 12:11 PM
tenzip's Avatar
tenzip tenzip is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Posts: 74
Default

They do exist. I have an external laptop drive enclosure that has a 'Y' USB cable, so it can suck juice out of 2 ports. Works fine, just need 2 ports next to each other.
Reply With Quote

  #18  
Old 03-18-2009, 12:24 PM
Chili's Avatar
Chili Chili is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 486
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saratoga View Post
You have an external hard drive that doesn't have its own power supply?
So do I. It's a spiffy little SSD with a Y-split USB cable so if my wimpy laptop port can't give it enough power to run, I can it in to the other USB port right next to it, so the two ports can help each other out.
__________________
Magnatune: We are not evil
Ka dos kampi'un nindol, dos ssrig'luin natha dro.

Reply With Quote

  #19  
Old 03-18-2009, 02:09 PM
pcman pcman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 193
Default

I also do, a drive salvaged from my laptop. It's a y cable as well. None of my laptops can power it though.
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 PM.