android
Old 04-20-2009, 03:58 PM

Default New User, Fuze questions

Hi all, this is my first post.

After 2 iPods I made the switch to Sansas. I've been using them for about 4 years now. I had my e200r for a long time and upgraded to the 4gig Fuze about this time last year.

I have a small working knowledge of audio, I know the different brands and terms, I've been playing guitar for awhile, but I wouldn't call myself an audiophile or an expert by any stretch.

Anyways on to my question. I use the 4gig Fuze like I said earlier, paired with Seinheisser PMX200s. These were my first really decent headphones. Before then i was going with $20 pairs of Sony's or whatever I could find. An interesting thing has been happening with them though. When I move around the sound can cut in an out. This is realyl bad when I am running or riding my bike to classes. I can't tell if its the Fuze or the Cans, but my last Sansa met an early demise from the headphone jack being broken due to a drop, so I'm not ruling it out. One day when the temperature was in the negative the rubber insulation on the cable cracked. i repaired ith with shrink wrap and epoxy. I don't think this has anythign to do with my sound issue, since it worked fine until I fixed it.

As far as I can tell there are 3 possible culrpits.

#1 the jack on the headphones is broken and I need to replace it
#2 the wire is damaged from where the insulation cracked
#3 the female jack on the Sansa has been broken from a drop

I'm pretty handy with a soldering Iron so if its one of the first two I can fix it pretty easily. I would much rather operate on a $40 pair of headphones than a $100 mp3 player.

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 04-20-2009, 04:43 PM

Welcome to abi, hope you enjoy

Seems to me that you asked and answered your own question have you tried other headphones to eliminate it being the female jack on the player?

abi >> | Forum Rules | Glossary | Why Rockbox | FLAC or MP3? | irc