android
  #1  
Old 04-25-2009, 03:24 PM
flubjo1 flubjo1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default Frozen on Zen Vision:M screen

So the other day my zen froze while I was trying to skip a song (pretty standard). I reset it... it started to rebuild... it got to the end of rebuilding and froze. So I reset it again. Now it's freezing on the opening Zen vision:M screen. The computer isn't detecting it when I plug it in... I've tried everything I can think of. It wont turn off.... just frozen pizza. Anything I can try??! Help is much appreciated. I have over 3k in songs and none of the m backed up... I know, I know, I'm an idiot! Thanks for any and all help.
-Jess
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #2  
Old 04-26-2009, 11:43 AM
LadyAngel's Avatar
LadyAngel LadyAngel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: somewhere in Sweden
Posts: 62
Default

Hum. Well, it sounds like a problem with the firmware. I had something similar to your problem before I upgraded the firmware. What firmware version do you have? Have you tried to stick a needle in the reset hole, and all the other tips from the manual?
__________________
My mp3 player is my baby...I love my blue ZVM
Reply With Quote

  #3  
Old 04-26-2009, 01:26 PM
flubjo1 flubjo1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Yeah I've reset it over and over... just wont get past the opening screen. It finally started charging while being plugged into the computer but the computer still didnt recognize it as being connected. And I have no idea what Firmware I have.... just whatever came with my Zen 3 years ago or so haha. Do you think downloading something like that would help?? How would I get it on my Zen if the computer doesnt see it as being connected? I don't care about the actually player as much as I do the songs. Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote

  #4  
Old 04-26-2009, 02:29 PM
Lon3Wo1f Lon3Wo1f is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 7
Default

I had that problem, and I figured out that it was a hard drive problem, but the screen I couldnt get past was the zen vision: m screen. If thats the one u cant get past, you might want to try the compact flash conversion. I did it, and except for the sync times, my player is better than ever.
Reply With Quote

  #5  
Old 04-26-2009, 04:44 PM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default

try accessing recovery mode, and running disk clean up
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #6  
Old 04-26-2009, 04:46 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flubjo1 View Post
So the other day my zen froze while I was trying to skip a song (pretty standard). I reset it... it started to rebuild... it got to the end of rebuilding and froze. So I reset it again. Now it's freezing on the opening Zen vision:M screen. The computer isn't detecting it when I plug it in... I've tried everything I can think of. It wont turn off.... just frozen pizza. Anything I can try??! Help is much appreciated. I have over 3k in songs and none of the m backed up... I know, I know, I'm an idiot! Thanks for any and all help.
-Jess
After the battery has charged boot the player to Recovery/Rescue mode & do a Cleanup >Reboot on the player. Leave the firmware as you won't be able to reload it since the computer does not recognize it. http://forums.creative.com/creativel...ap&thread.id=3
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #7  
Old 04-26-2009, 04:51 PM
FrododorF's Avatar
FrododorF FrododorF is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montgomery AL
Posts: 712
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by coachop94 View Post
After the battery has charged boot the player to Recovery/Rescue mode & do a Cleanup >Reboot on the player. Leave the firmware as you won't be able to reload it since the computer does not recognize it. http://forums.creative.com/creativel...ap&thread.id=3
i won :P
__________________
Leprechauns hide their gold in Electrical Outlets..
..Use Forks to Get em Out..
Reply With Quote

  #8  
Old 04-26-2009, 04:56 PM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,049
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FrododorF View Post
i won :P
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #9  
Old 04-27-2009, 01:04 AM
flubjo1 flubjo1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Disk scan worked! Sooo stoked! Thanks so much baby angels!
Reply With Quote

  #10  
Old 04-27-2009, 01:17 AM
LadyAngel's Avatar
LadyAngel LadyAngel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: somewhere in Sweden
Posts: 62
Default

Hold on: I had a similar problem with my ZVM when it was new, the screen turned on, froze, flickered and then turned off after a few minutes. My computer couldn't find it allthough it was plugged in for hours and hours and software was installed and everything. I emailed Creative support about it and they told me to download the new firmware, connect the ZVM to the computer AND the wall charger in order to transfer the firmware. I did all that and it worked fine.
I still say that you should update the firmware. If your ZVM has the same firmware that it came with 3 years ago: you so need to get the new one. The old one, that the ZVMs came with, is totally bugged.
__________________
My mp3 player is my baby...I love my blue ZVM
Reply With Quote

  #11  
Old 04-27-2009, 01:33 AM
coachop94's Avatar
coachop94 coachop94 is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: california
Posts: 1,049
Default

I repair Zens. I know of what I speak. I did not say they should not update it. the problem was the computer did not see it. Now that it is working they can update the firmware. AFTER they backup the files on it because it will erase the files that are on it now. They wanted to at the least keep the files. Cleanup does not erase the files it cleans up the data base & scans the disc.
__________________
Sit Down, Shut Up, Don't *!@#*^#!! With Me. I'm Drivin'
Reply With Quote

  #12  
Old 04-27-2009, 01:46 AM
LadyAngel's Avatar
LadyAngel LadyAngel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: somewhere in Sweden
Posts: 62
Default

Ah! Okay, I mustof mistaken cleanup for reformatting. Sorry...my brain won't work in the mornings (it's 8.46 am in Sweden now).
__________________
My mp3 player is my baby...I love my blue ZVM
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.