android
Go Back   abi>>forums > MP3 Players By Brand > Samsung > Samsung P3

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
  #41  
Old 06-01-2009, 02:46 AM
EowynCarter EowynCarter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by a gnarly hogie View Post
very true
I found even better then drag and drop. A linux nas, and an rsync command. . Nice and easy, update only the files that need it, and i can use my pc as the nas is doing the job.
i'll make a quick thingy so synchronizing my p3 is as easy as hitting a button in the nas interface
Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

  #42  
Old 06-02-2009, 07:33 AM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

wow, if I understood what you said, then that is pretty cool!
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #43  
Old 06-02-2009, 02:48 PM
robjrock's Avatar
robjrock robjrock is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 272
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EowynCarter View Post
I found even better then drag and drop. A linux nas, and an rsync command. . Nice and easy, update only the files that need it, and i can use my pc as the nas is doing the job.
i'll make a quick thingy so synchronizing my p3 is as easy as hitting a button in the nas interface
Anyone know a Windows equivalent of this? because damn that sounds good! Emodio itself has an okay datacast update system for audio podcasts but forget about hotsync-ing video casts, it does everything wrong....

Also anyone use banshee?

I'm running Win 7 ATM but could always dual boot with Ubuntu.
Reply With Quote

  #44  
Old 06-06-2009, 12:01 PM
ananth's Avatar
ananth ananth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Default

Does anyone think Sammy can do an alphabet index for songs albums & playlists?
__________________
Samsung YP-P3 JEB Black I-*** ****** 2GB
Sennheiser CX-300 Black
Reply With Quote

  #45  
Old 06-06-2009, 06:12 PM
electron's Avatar
electron electron is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: I would like to know too.
Posts: 828
Default

well, that would be cool, but I wouldn't count on it..
__________________
The difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has its limits. - Albert Einstein
check out my P3 group here!
Thanks for making my P3 group the largest non-contest group on ABi!
Reply With Quote

  #46  
Old 06-07-2009, 02:29 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ananth View Post
Does anyone think Sammy can do an alphabet index for songs albums & playlists?
Quote:
Originally Posted by electron View Post
well, that would be cool, but I wouldn't count on it..
That's the same complaint I have about the Q2, as it takes forever to scroll through 2000+ songs. The Sony (and Creative does the same) method is perfect to locate tunes, albums, etc by the first letter.
Reply With Quote

  #47  
Old 06-08-2009, 05:22 AM
ananth's Avatar
ananth ananth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Default

I didnt know about the technical feasibility of doing it in a flash based OS, hence the question... wud be great to have something like that..
__________________
Samsung YP-P3 JEB Black I-*** ****** 2GB
Sennheiser CX-300 Black
Reply With Quote

  #48  
Old 06-08-2009, 08:54 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Flash based, or HDD, makes no difference. It's all about usability.
Reply With Quote

  #49  
Old 06-08-2009, 11:02 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
Flash based, or HDD, makes no difference. It's all about usability.
Darkside, I think he meant that it runs on a Flash UI, rather than some sort of linux UI or whatever
__________________
Player: 32gb S9 / Sansa e260 r'boxed / Motorola Defy with Cubed player
'Phones: Senn' CX250 / Senn' HD202 / Shure SRH 440
AnythingbutIre: a group for the ABI members in the UK
Reply With Quote

  #50  
Old 06-08-2009, 02:25 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gebal View Post
Darkside, I think he meant that it runs on a Flash UI, rather than some sort of linux UI or whatever
OK, but how would that tie into alphabetical selection in the music library? His response completely veered away from the question that was asked, and started up w/something that had no bearing for what was being discussed.

And as for the Zune HD having a Flash based UI, no, it won't. It's not something M$ is using in their players, or planning ATM. DaveMac will correct me if I'm mistaken, I hope.
Reply With Quote

  #51  
Old 06-08-2009, 04:41 PM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

I might be wrong in both my logic and my understanding of what he said, but I think he was trying to imply that flash UIs would run lighter than more complicated UIs. So in the same way some apps and programs wont run on WinMo or Android, more complicated coding (such as alphabetic indexing or whatever) might not be supported by flash.
__________________
Player: 32gb S9 / Sansa e260 r'boxed / Motorola Defy with Cubed player
'Phones: Senn' CX250 / Senn' HD202 / Shure SRH 440
AnythingbutIre: a group for the ABI members in the UK
Reply With Quote

  #52  
Old 06-08-2009, 07:54 PM
koralex90 koralex90 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 96
Default

now there is iPhone 3G s... wow..
Reply With Quote

  #53  
Old 06-08-2009, 09:59 PM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by koralex90 View Post
now there is iPhone 3G s... wow..
And this has no bearing on either the P3 or the Zune HD. Same as flash based UI's, they have nothing to do w/either device.
Reply With Quote

  #54  
Old 06-09-2009, 03:53 AM
ananth's Avatar
ananth ananth is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 154
Default

Umm.. sorry about triggering the line of thought! I was just wondering aloud..and yes, I was thinking along the lines of what gebal's put forth! =)
__________________
Samsung YP-P3 JEB Black I-*** ****** 2GB
Sennheiser CX-300 Black
Reply With Quote

  #55  
Old 06-09-2009, 04:25 AM
EowynCarter EowynCarter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 126
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robjrock View Post
Anyone know a Windows equivalent of this? because damn that sounds good! Emodio itself has an okay datacast update system for audio podcasts but forget about hotsync-ing video casts, it does everything wrong....

Also anyone use banshee?

I'm running Win 7 ATM but could always dual boot with Ubuntu.
There are some way to have rsync running with windows using Cygwin. Then, maybe some native windows backup apps will do do, as backup apps usually have some synchronize thingy.
Reply With Quote

  #56  
Old 06-10-2009, 01:20 AM
TomCat39's Avatar
TomCat39 TomCat39 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 406
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The DarkSide View Post
And this has no bearing on either the P3 or the Zune HD. Same as flash based UI's, they have nothing to do w/either device.
How does flash based UI have nothing to do with P3? When the P3 seems to be a flash driven system. Thus flash coding for most things, quite possibly even the playlist management.
Reply With Quote

  #57  
Old 06-10-2009, 01:28 AM
The DarkSide's Avatar
The DarkSide The DarkSide is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Qns Vlg, NYC
Posts: 16,054
Default

If the P3 is a flash based UI, same as the S9, why hasn't anyone stated so. If it is flash based, my bad. Then I apologize.

The Zune HD, on the other hand, is not flash based. But, why this is becoming a topic of discussion is starting to become confusing. It had nothing to do with the original post.

I opt out from this point on,.... L8R y'all!!!
Reply With Quote

  #58  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:09 AM
Olley Olley is offline
Ultra Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 4,894
Default

The P3 plays flash apps, but is not flash based. Users can't easily create their own replacement UI like they can with the S9.
The S9's UI also plays flash apps, and is flash based.
However, since the P3 plays flash files, it seems possible to create a flash app that acts like a replacement UI. Might be interesting to drop an S9 mainmenu.swf on a P3 to see what happens.
Reply With Quote

  #59  
Old 06-10-2009, 07:40 AM
gebal's Avatar
gebal gebal is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Near Liverpool, UK
Posts: 604
Default

Why do I feel that in my efforts to resolve the confusion, I have made the situation worse?
The point we're going for is that whatever the p3 runs is a pretty light OS/UI, so might not have the support for the the coding that its competitors use.
So lets call it quits, yeh?

Back to the original point, I reckon samsung wont be that bothered about the zune; the HD is very much a prestige model, and while the p3 may be samsung's flagship it was always going to be totally out of the zune'l league. If anything, the next big move will be from Creative, which will be a real pain for Samsung as they have a similar price and 'respect' segment.
And I can bet that Iriver will have a Spinn2 out fairly quickly, as the whole touch screen revolution this year means that the original spinn became dated very quickly
__________________
Player: 32gb S9 / Sansa e260 r'boxed / Motorola Defy with Cubed player
'Phones: Senn' CX250 / Senn' HD202 / Shure SRH 440
AnythingbutIre: a group for the ABI members in the UK

Last edited by gebal; 06-10-2009 at 07:52 AM.
Reply With Quote

  #60  
Old 06-10-2009, 08:03 AM
maderin1's Avatar
maderin1 maderin1 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 187
Default

surely the P3 main UI is flash?? -- you of course can create minimal UCI without the widgets and stuff on the default UI, the UCI are flash files, surely if the player can use SWF based UCI files then its main UI must also be flash, otherwise their main OS is running yet another OS on top when you select a custom UI - its just that samsung have not opened their system as much as cowon has which is a shame
Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:17 PM.